Oahu Day Trip Pearl Harbor Honolulu and Punchbowl from Maui

Day Trip from Maui to Oahu: Pearl Harbor & City

Maui, USA
  • 8 hours
  • Offered in: English


On this unforgettable Pearl Harbor day trip from Maui, journey back to December 7, 1941, when the United States was tragically thrust into fighting in World War II. Stroll the decks of the USS Missouri where the surrender agreement was signed. Coupled with a tour of downtown Honolulu, this day trip from Maui to Pearl Harbor is great for visitors of all ages with an interest in America’s history.
  • Full-day trip to Oahu's Pearl Harbor and Honolulu from Maui
  • Guided tour of the USS Missouri
  • Scenic drive through historic downtown Honolulu attractions
  • Kawaiahao Church, Iolani Palace, King Kamehameha statue
  • Diamond Head Crater (if time permits)
  • Nu'unanu Rainforest and Pali Lookout
  • Professionally narrated tour
  • Roundtrip flight from Maui to Oahu

What's Included

  • Tour narration by a professional driver/guide
  • Interisland R/T airfare (overage charges may apply)
  • Lunch
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Admission to Arizona Memorial & Battleship Missouri
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop off
  • Airfare flight overage charges

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Start time

06:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

This day trip from Maui to Pearl Harbor is easily one of the most moving and dramatic days you can spend in Hawaii. After the 30-minute flight from Maui to Oahu, tour the historic grounds of Pearl Harbor where Japanese bombers emptied their payloads on America’s Pacific fleet. Walk the decks of the USS Missouri where the Japanese armistice was signed. Peer over the side of the ship, and it’s still possible to see the dents from kamikaze bombers. This historic battleship was in active service until after Desert Storm, and dramatic details of its military service are told on the guided tour.

After the guided tour of Pearl Harbor, the tour continues with a historic journey through downtown Honolulu. Highlights include:
•    Iolani Palace—the only royal palace on American soil
•    The Mission House Museum
•    Kawaihao Church
•    The famous statue of King Kamehameha
•    Waikiki Beach
•    Honolulu Hale
•    Punchbowl Crater
•    Nu’uanu Rainforest and Pali Lookout
•    Diamond Head Crater (if time permits)

Before returning to the Honolulu airport for the return flight to Maui, you’ll take a moment to remember the fallen at the Punchbowl National Cemetery. This also includes a short stop at the dramatic Courts of the Missing.

King Kamehameha Statue (Pass By)

Iolani Palace (Pass By)

Hawaiian Mission Houses Historic Site and Archives (Pass By)

Kawaiahaʻo Church (Pass By)

National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific (Pass By)

Battleship Missouri Memorial

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

USS Arizona Memorial

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Pearl Harbor Historic Sites Visitor Center

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please contact the tour provider at minimum of 7 days prior to the tour date for ADA and all special requests.
  • The name you enter at the time of booking must be exactly as appears on your photo I.D. Interisland Air Carriers will deny boarding if the passenger name, as shown on valid government-issued I.D. does not match the name on their voucher. This is a Transportation Security Administration (TSA) and FAA requirement. Air Carriers proven to be non-compliant are subject to severe penalties; thus there is no flexibility with this policy.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • PEARL HARBOR NO BAG POLICY: The US Department of the Interior has declared a “no bags” policy at Pearl Harbor. Passengers may not carry any concealing items including purses, handbags, backpacks, diaper bags, etc. Small cameras are permitted but must not be in a bag. No items are allowed to be left on your tour vehicle. When going over to Ford Island to visit the Pearl Harbor Aviation Museum and/or the Battleship Missouri, guests are required to carry government issued photo identification and NO BAGS are allowed on the vehicle. Ford Island is an active military base and guests may be asked by security personnel at any time for their identification to ensure a safe environment for all. Bag storage is available at the entrance of the Pearl Harbor Visitor Center for a fee per bag. It is recommended to bring on tour only vital items like your identification and wallet as long as these items fit in your pockets.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • This tour does not operate on Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Day and December 7th.
  • On occasion and due to external factors outside of our control (including inclement weather, closure of the Memorial by the National Park Service and/or shortages of boat launch tickets), there is the possibility of not being able to visit the Arizona Memorial during your visit. You will still be able to visit the many exhibits at the Pearl Harbor Visitors Center and view the Arizona Memorial from the shoreline.
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Shirt and shoes are required to board the Arizona Memorial, swimsuits are not permitted. Strollers are not permitted in the theater or shuttle boats
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 52 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Fantastic and highly recommend you request Gar. Everything went as planned, stayed right on schedule. Made us interact with him and the others. One of the best tours we have been on in years. Was very skeptical but that was all squelched as soon as we met him at the airport. Only thing I could recommend would be for the tour company to stock their coaches with water.


146 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 146 reviews
Great experience
Darrell_E, Apr 2024
The movie explaining how things transpired into war also going to the Arizona and paying our respects to all the men who died
Two thumbs down
Chad_H, Aug 2023
It was extremely disappointing to pay $1700 to see this and get there only to Be told it was closed to see due to high winds. We were told this happens often and the wind and waves were marginal at best.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
We are sorry to hear that the National Park was closed due to high winds from the impending storm. Hope you are able to return in the future. Mahalo.
Great tour.
Mark_L, Jul 2023
Loved it. Our guide was great. Very knowledgeable. Worth your time and money. I would have regretted not doing this.
Great time. Book your own flight.
Heather_W, Jun 2023
We had an incredible time. This was a big deal for my husband and he was so happy. If I had it to do over again, I might opt to book our own flights and just get the tour part. It was very expensive to include the flights.
Too much money for what was given. Would never use Viator again.
Charles_H, Mar 2023
Only two hours to inspect the Missouri including two ten minutes walks to and from the buss and time to eat. Way too short. 1-1/2 hours dropping people off at motels. Not what I paid for. Agreed to a price and paid that price only to receive a phone call from Polynesian Adventure tours stating that we had to pay an additional $228.00 additional as an overage fee. No explanation of what the overage fee was. Would have cancelled at that time but there is a no cancellation policy. The driver (Mike)was very good and knowledgeable. Other passengers paid more than us and we're VERY disappointed as well. Doing rough math I calculated that Viator and Polynesian Adventure Tours shared around $45,000 qfor our three hour tour. I feel that I was extremely taken advantage of and will not be back to Hawaii. I had several other events that I was going to schedule but found that they all had to be booked through Viator. I will not be cheated twice!!!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
We are very sorry to hear that the experience didn't meet your expectations. We've shared your feedback with our management team for appropriate follow up. Mahalo.
pearl harbor tour
Kathryn_K, Jan 2023
the whole trip was a great experience the guide was very knowledgeable loved the day Everyone need to see that at least once.
This could be a great experience with a few modifications. For the cost & flying over we needed more.
MarjorieS_T, Nov 2022
Chris & Chris tried very hard to make it an interesting & memorable trip. More time at Pearl Harbor to read everything & watch the movie. Stop at Waikiki Beach for an hour to get our feet wet in the ocean. Traffic was terrible & Chris did a great job!
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Great feedback! Thank you very much.
Absolutely amazing and...
Tammie_H, Apr 2022
Absolutely amazing and beautiful. It makes a difference when you have a fun and hilarious tour guide. Ernie. Hands down the best.
Wonderful trip to Oahu.
Patricia_W, Mar 2020
We had a wonderful time. Booking the trip was easy. Everyone involved were great. We arrived at the airport and were greeted by George, who explained the whole process, gave us our tickets and took us were we needed to go to catch our flight. When we arrived on Oahu we were met by a young lady who took us to our bus and we were on our way. Ty was our driver and we couldn’t have had a better one. He greeted everyone, remembered our names (quite impressive) and did an excellent job during the tour. Explained where we were, gave a history of what we were seeing and how the day would go when we were off the bus. We couldn’t be happier. Everyone was very professional and friendly. We had a great time because of how great they were. Thank you to everyone for making it a wonderful day!
Could’ve used better time management on the tour.
larringd, Dec 2019
For the money, we were a little disappointed. Spent a lot of time sitting and listening to history, a lot of it was not Hawaiian history. Could’ve seen more of the island if the time was better managed.
Awesome tour. Great information. Tommy was fabulous!!
Dawn L, Jun 2019
Awesome tour. Great information. Tommy was fabulous!! Loved Pearl Harbor. It was very educational. I would recommend to everyone.
Tried to Recover
Daniel_H, Apr 2019
Let me start by saying Viator owns a bit of this one. The description and confirm states hotel pick up. To find out that when we got there that is not the case and a car was over $200 to the airport. Goes down hill from there because the Arizona is still closed a fact not disclosed on the site or on the confirmation call. Next our tour guide called out sick on Oahu and we were merged with a 1/2 day on island giant bus tour with lots of wasted down time. Normally Viator is great but this one is a skip and a big miss. Only redeeming factors are Pearl Harbor was worth it either way and our tour guide Keow wow (spelling?) really worked hard to keep everyone smiling.
Our guide, Garfield, was amazing! His knowledge of his tour is beyond great...
Kevin_W, Nov 2018
Fantastic and highly recommend you request Gar. Everything went as planned, stayed right on schedule. Made us interact with him and the others. One of the best tours we have been on in years. Was very skeptical but that was all squelched as soon as we met him at the airport. Only thing I could recommend would be for the tour company to stock their coaches with water.
Great sites to see
Megan_M, Nov 2018
One thing you should know prior to this trip is that they ask you to meet very early at the airport, but the flight does not leave for an additional 2 hours. This makes for a long morning if you have to travel to get to the airport in the first place. The tour itself is great. You also do not have any stops for food or planned lunch breaks. From arrival at 6:15am, we didn't get to Waikiki where we could eat until 3pm.
Good Visit.
Daniel P, Sep 2018
Good visit to Pearl Harbor and the Missouri. Driver was on time and very knowledgeable. Also enjoyed visit to Waikiki Beach. Flights were scheduled with plenty of time and we were met at airports by agents exactly as described. Would certainly recommend this day trip to Honolulu if visiting Maui.
Good trip!
Michael_T, Jul 2018
Saw pretty much everything we wanted to see! Tommy was great guide and nice guy. Small group so didn’t have to wait on others!
We saw the sites we wanted, had a nice...
Bradley P, Apr 2018
We saw the sites we wanted, had a nice lunch and our guide was informative.
Tour guide was exceptional!! We were...
Mirna M, Mar 2018
Tour guide was exceptional!! We were extremely fortunate to spend the day with Ernie!
Our tour guide, Kaleo, was great...
Lyndon H, Sep 2017
Our tour guide, Kaleo, was great! Very knowledgeable, friendly, and accommodating. Highly recommend! The tour of Pearl Harbor was even more moving than I even imagined. It was absolutely amazing and incredibly moving. Do not miss this tour.
We had a great guide.,,, I was just...
Lisa S, Sep 2017
We had a great guide.,,, I was just unhappy with the rushed pace... there was no time to eat or get to the gift shops. We saw the Arizona Memorial and the Missouri. Nothing else. I would have loved to get into some of the museums and onto the submarine, the Bowfish. We did a downtown tour, which wasn't necessary. I would have preferred to focus on Pearl Harbor. The day just felt like we were rushing from one thing to another without really getting to see or enjoy anything. Our tour guide, Tommy, was great and full of knowledge. I wasn't disappointed with him, I was disappointed with the tour itself. More time is needed in Pearl Harbor to see everything it has to offer. It was too rushed for only having the opportunity to see two memorials. Too much was squeezed into this tour, which made it impossible to enjoy any of the stops. Less would have been best. I would have happily forgone the town trip. Not knowing Pearl Harbor, I trusted that when they said we could do both, there would be plenty of time. There is not time to do both and be able to enjoy everything.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Day Trip from Maui to Oahu: Pearl Harbor & City


8 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Day Trip from Maui to Oahu: Pearl Harbor Uncovered


14 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Maui Tour : Road to Hana Day Trip from Kahului


7 to 8 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Full Day Private Maui Tour


8 to 9 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do