Famous Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfalls, Black Sand Beach & Lunch

Badge of ExcellenceMaui, USA
Small Group Road to Hana Luxury Mercedes with Lunch
  • 9 to 10 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Discover the best of Maui on a Road to Hana road trip alongside a small group. Climb aboard your Mercedes van and stop at several points of interest including black sand beaches, refreshing waterfalls, and old lava flows. Your tour is also inclusive of a delicious homemade breakfast as well as a catered lunch in the beautiful Wainapanapa State Park.
  • Travel along one of the most famous roads in the US
  • A small group means more attention from your guide
  • Hassle-free transfers from several Maui locations
  • Let someone else navigate the winding road

What's Included

  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Live commentary on board
  • Pick-up/drop-off at majority of resorts in Lahaina or pick-up at the Kahului or Kihei Park’n ride
  • Lunch
  • Driver's Gratuity (15-20% of Ticket price recommended)
  • No pickups in Napili-Honokowai, Kapalua, Kahana. You must meet us at Cannery mall 6:00am
  • No special diet available (raw, vegan, food allergies). You must bring your own food.

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 6/13/2019 - 3/12/2025

    Monday - Saturday : 05:45 AM - 06:30 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

IF YOUR RESORT, HOTEL, OR CONDO ISN'T LISTED YOU MAY CONTACT OUR OFFICE DIRECTLY FOR FASTER RESPONSE ON PICKUP ARRANGEMENTS. If you are staying in Napili-Honokowai, Kahana, Kapalua, the meeting point is Lahaina Cannery Mall main entrance by Starbucks (6:00am). If you are staying in Kihei, Wailea, Wailuku, the meeting point is Maalaea Park n’ride (6:30am) If you are staying in Paia, Kahului, Makawao, Kula, the meeting point is Kahului Park n’ride (6:40am). Aina Nalu Lahaina Resort (6:00am) - Honua Kai Resort & Spa (5:45am) - Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa (5:55am) - Hyatt Residences Club (5:55am) - Ka'anapali Alii (Classic Resorts) (5:45am) - Ka'anapali Beach Club (5:45am) - Ka'anapali Beach Hotel (5:50am) - Ka'anapali Royal (5:45am) – Aston Ka'anapali Shores (5:45am) - Ka'anapali Villas (Aston) (5:45am) - Lahaina Shores Beach Resort (6:00am) – Meet us at Maalaea Park n’ride (6:30am) - Marriott Courtyard (6:40am) - Marriott Resort & Ocean Club (5:50am) - Maui Eldorado Resort (5:45am) - Norwegian Cruise Lines - Pride of America(Meet us at Maui Mall Village at Center Tower which is Across Street from Ship) Not Listed (Please add Hotel name in the comment area) (6:40am) - Papakea Resort (Aston) (5:45am) - Pioneer Inn (6:00am) - Plantation Inn (6:00am) - Royal Lahaina Resort (5:45am) - Sheraton Maui Hotel (5:50am) - - Sugar Beach Resort (6:35am) - Westin Maui (5:50am) - Westin Nanea Ocean Villas (5:45am) - Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas (South Tower) (5:45am) – Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas (North Tower) (5:45am) - Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach (5:50am)

What To Expect

Hana Highway - Road to Hana

7 hours Admission Ticket Free

Paia (Pass By)

Ho'okipa Beach Park

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Twin Falls (Pass By)

Haipua'ena Falls (Pass By)

Ke‘anae Point

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Aunty Sandy's Banana Bread

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Ching's Pond (Pass By)

Keanae Lookout (Pass By)

Upper Waikani Falls (Pass By)

Wailua Falls

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Hana Lava Tubes (Pass By)

Hana Bay (Pass By)

Waiʻānapanapa State Park

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Pua'a Ka'a State Park

40 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Wailua Valley State Wayside Park

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Keanae Lookout (Pass By)

Honomanu (Pass By)

Kaumahina State Wayside Park (Pass By)

Eucalyptus Rainbow Trees

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please indicate your hotel in 'Hotel Pickup' at time of booking in the "special requirement" section
  • Write your lunch preference under special requirements - HAM or TURKEY or VEGGIE SANDWICHES. We DON'T offer any food alternatives. If you are on a special diet (raw, vegan, or have food allergies), you must bring your own food.
  • Provide your EMAIL address under special requirements
  • This tour is not confirmed until the operator calls you to confirm it and setup a pickup.
  • Please provide a proper contact phone number to confirm food orders and pickup arrangements. If resort phone is provided please provide room number in the "special requirement" section
  • Due to circumstances out of our control (closures, traffic, inclement weather, etc.), routing and times are subject to change.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Our guide Tom was amazing he had a lot of knowledge about th history and places he showed us. The stops were wonderful. Enjoyed black sand beach and the waterfall very beautiful. The banana bread was amazing wish I would of got more! The stop at the fruit stand was a plus too. Lunch was good. Overall this tour was great definitely would recommend!!


155 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 155 reviews
1) Eric - was excellent....
Curt_W, Feb 2024
1) Eric - was excellent. He is very well versed, as a guide, a driver, and extremely knowledgeable about the area and its history. 2) The Mercedes van - very comfortable with big windows to see the views. Good sandwiches too. 3) The Road to Hana - there were plenty of stops to rest(room), get snacks/souvenirs, and see the sites. I highly recommend this driver, the company itself, and the experience itself.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
MAHALO NUI LOA Curt for your positive feedback. Without your input and reviews, we wouldn’t have been able to deliver a great experience. We certainly hope you can visit again! A hui hou.
Our tour to Hana
Bradley_N, Jan 2024
My husband and I loved, loved this tour with Eric, our tour guide for several reasons. He was an excellent driver, was very polite to other drivers by letting them pass instead of being stuck behind a tour bus, went slow or stopped when there was a picture worthy site, was so nice to everyone, even when they were late to the bus. Eric talked about the history of so many things - people, the island of Maui, places, plants and trees and how they got here. I could go on and on but will conclude with saying I recommend Eric to everyone wanting a tour on Maui. He’s the best! *Thank you, Eric.*
Response from Host, Jan 2024
We always enjoy hearing what our customers have to say, Bradley! We’re glad we could be of service and appreciate the kind words! Please see us again if there is anything else you need!
Eric was awesome. He was...
Julie_B, Jan 2024
Eric was awesome. He was on time, professional and very knowledgable. The trip was organized efficiently but with enough time at all stops. Highly recommend doing the road to Hana this way. And especially with Eric!
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Julie, Eric will love to read the kind words you left about his service! Thank you for the feedback and we hope you visit us again!
Top excursion in a two week vacation
WILLIAM_R, Oct 2023
We took the Road to Hana excursion and it was a great experience. Eric, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable of the historical and cultural aspects of Maui. In addition, he was very entertaining. We highly recommend this tour as it's one of the best tours we have ever taken. Mahalo!
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Hearing how much you loved our tour has brightened up our day at Stardust Hawaii! Big mahalo for the great review you left us William and for choosing to ride with us!
Our driver Quinn was very...
Jesse_R, Aug 2023
Our driver Quinn was very knowledgeable and very friendly. Had a great time and would recommend to anyone
Response from Host, Aug 2023
We always enjoy hearing what our visitors have to say, Jesse! We’re glad we could be of service and appreciate the kind words! Safe travels!
Buyer beware if you are staying at Wailea
Rita_M, Jul 2023
The tour guide is 5 stars and excellent. However, we, two female tourists, were told to wait at some parking lot in the middle of the highway while the driver picked up passengers at their hotels because they didn’t want to go to Wailea. This was not clear to me when I booked because my hotel was not on the list of places they did not go to, also I was able to select my hotel in Wailea as a pick up option. Seems it was random and dependant on the other people in the group were in wailea. Also, the tour company never answered the phone. Only emailed curt short emails. Our Uber driver was kind enough to wait with us while the tour guide showed up with the other passengers. There were some weird men at the parking lot chasing after chickens with sticks. This is not how I wanted to spend my vacation. This made the tour not as pleasant as I wanted. As for the tour, it was good. I’m glad we went. The tour guide was interesting and entertaining. The lunch was terrible, some flavorless turkey even though I requested ham. I would have preferred to stop at the Huli Huli chicken stand that we passed by. Or gotten something at Aunt Sandy’s, where we did stop.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Aloha Rita, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We’re sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with waiting for our van. We take customer feedback very seriously and are working hard to make sure that this doesn’t happen again in the future. However in your situation, we cannot change the fact that you didn't read in our listing under "WHAT'S INCLUDED" where we very clearly state NO PICKUPS IN WAILEA, KIHEI. We repeat the same information again under PICKUP DETAILS. Lastly, we sent you a written confirmation with the pickup directions prior your tour. If you were not happy with the pickup arrangements, you could simply cancel your booking..... Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. Mahalo
AVOID! Not enough room for all passengers to sit in van!
Tara_K, Jul 2023
This agency overbooked the van in a way that resulted in my husband (and other passengers) being crammed uncomfortably into the back seat. He was barely able to sit on the bench, for a 10 hour tour. It was unsafe, uncomfortable and painful for his back. Eric, the driver, was AWESOME! Unfortunately the tour booking was out of his control. If we were able to comfortably sit on the seat like the other 10 passengers in the van, I would have given a 4 or 5 star review, however not being able to properly sit down for 10 hours in a tight van, on windy roads, at the price for this tour, is simply not acceptable. Both Viator and the tour company did not provide any support regarding these ckncerns. I would avoid this company at all costs given the lack of customer service and unfairness in seating provided.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Aloha Tara, Thank you for your feedback! We apologize that you didn't feel comfortable in the van. We understand that it can be frustrating. The tour was not overbooked. It is a 14-seater van and there were 14 passengers. The seats inside the van are all the same sizes. From your earlier comments you sent us, we were telling us that some of the travelers were large adults. Please make a note, we are unable to know ahead of time who is booking the tour and also we would never reject or discriminate a person based on their body weight. If you like to have an extra room, a private tour is always a good idea to make yourself more comfortable. We offer private tours and we’d like to invite you to give us another chance to demonstrate the quality of our service. Please get in touch with us directly. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and your feedback is valuable to us. Thank you again for your time.
A Maui … Must see and experience!
Kimberly_S, Jul 2023
Awesome tour ! Breathtaking views. Quinn was very knowledgeable, friendly, great energy, and very entertaining with his fact telling during the tour. He truly made the experience fun and we felt safe with his road handling.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Mahalo for the positive review Kimberly! We are delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. A hui hou!
The best scenery!
Velina_M, Jul 2023
Our tour guide Eric was amazing! We went for our honeymoon and there was nothing but beautiful scenery! Would definitely do this tour again!
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Aloha Velina, mahalos for your kind words! We really appreciate your positive review and it was great to have you as a guest. We look forward to serving you again soon. Aloha
Wonderful picture opportunities!
LeeAnn_M, Jun 2023
Quinn was an amazing guide! He is so knowledgeable about Hawaii’s history, folklore and vegetation. We learned so much, and his stories helped the drive go by quicker. Hana is a beautiful and very remote place! We took amazing pictures and have once-in-a-lifetime memories.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
We are happy to hear that our team provided you with excellent service LeeAnn. We will make sure that Quinn receives your feedback. It will make his day! Mahalo for your time and a hui hou!
Perlita_R, Jun 2023
The Road to Hana tour was incredible! Our guide, Eric, was so informative and great at pointing out as well as giving context and history to everything we were seeing. From the depth of history to jumping off waterfalls, Eric helped make this tour amazing for our family!
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Aloha Perlita, big mahalo for the kind words about Eric. Our drivers are passionate about what they do and it’s great to see that it translates into results for our guests. We’re glad to hear that you’ve been happy with our service and we look forward to continuing to deliver value and results in the future.
Unique, Memorable, Historic
Robert_C, May 2023
Eric was the a class act of a tour guide. Very well paced, knowledgeable, planned and fun!! The best was the waterfalls and blacks and beach
Response from Host, May 2023
Aloha Robert, We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us your 5-star review. It means a lot to the whole team, and we’d love to have you back very soon. A hui hou!
Alana_H, May 2023
Fantastic day! Eric was the best tour driver we have ever encountered. Scenery and stops were wonderful. A must do!
Response from Host, May 2023
Mahalo for the awesome review about our Famous Road to Hana, Alana. We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it so much! We’ll passed your kind words to Eric. He will be thrilled to hear that. A hui hou.
It was a wonderful trip!...
Marian_M, May 2023
It was a wonderful trip! Quinn was great! Very knowledgeable, a skilled driver and most of all, an epitome of excellent customer service. He made sure we are comfortable at all times. Till next tour!
Response from Host, May 2023
Aloha Marian, we appreciate the fantastic review and are glad we could be of service. We will let Quinn know, he will be thrilled to hear that! A hui hou!
Road to Hana was a great...
Frosty_S, May 2023
Road to Hana was a great trip Tour guide Eric was a great host Very enjoyable and had alot of great information Black sand beach and all the water falls were beautiful We would do it again
Response from Host, May 2023
We always enjoy hearing what our guests have to say, Frosty! We’re glad we could be of service and appreciate the kind words! A hui hou!
Loved our driver Eric, he...
Cassie_S, May 2023
Loved our driver Eric, he has a wealth of knowledge. I never realized how many steps were for the black sand beaches. I would’ve chosen the half way to Hana if I do it again.
Response from Host, May 2023
Aloha Cassie, we are so grateful for your review. Mahalo for sharing your rating with us and the future travelers.
Road to Hana
Thomas_H, May 2023
Scenery was amazing. Eric our driver was great. He was informative and entertaining. This excursion was an efficient way to see many sights in one day.
Response from Host, May 2023
Aloha Thomas, mahalo nui loa for this great 5-star review. We really appreciate you riding with us and helping to share the word about our Road to Hana adventure.
Do IT!
Samantha_C, Apr 2023
Quinn was an amazing guide. He has so much knowledge of the island and the culture. Never felt rushed at the stops.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Samantha, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your awesome experience! If there’s anything else we can help you with, please let us know.
Birthday 2023
Marlon_D, Mar 2023
Quinn was the best. He was very knowledgeable informative and a safe driver. My wife and I had a great time We'll definitely do it again
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Marlon, we are glad to hear we provided you with top-notch service! We appreciate the feedback and would love to have you ride with us again.
Waterfalls and the black...
Sharon_W, Mar 2023
Waterfalls and the black sand beach! The beautiful breathtaking views! Quinn was our driver and so much history and information was great! His knowledge of Maui was incredible!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Aloha Sharon, we are so thrilled to hear that you had such a smooth experience with us and one of our brilliant drivers! It was an absolute pleasure to assist you and we thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

From $229.99

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Famous Road to Hana Mercedes van with Waterfalls, Black Sand Beach & Lunch


10 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Famous Road to Hana Waterfalls & Lunch by Mercedes Van


9 to 10 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Road to Hana, Black Sand Beach, Waterfalls & Turtles Tour


6 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Road to Hana Tour


8 to 10 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do