New York City

The Best of the Metropolitan Museum 2 Hour Guided Tour

Badge of ExcellenceNew York, United States
Twisted Met Scandals and Secrets of the Metropolitan Museum Masterpieces

From $62.00

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 2 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Explore the Metropolitan Museum on a 2.5-hour tour with a guide who puts a tongue-in-cheek spin on this celebrated destination in New York City. You'll hear vital facts and humorous commentary about both famous masterpieces and more unusual works in the museum’s collection, including pieces that are often overlooked, and get an entertaining look at one of the Big Apple's premier museums.
  • Museum admission ticket included
  • Funny and informative museum tour
  • See artwork in the Met that many visitors miss
  • Small group limited to 15 people for a more personalized experience

What's Included

  • Local Expert Guide
  • Pre-arranged Met Museum tickets
  • Hotel Pick-Up / Drop-Off
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • The Metropolitan Museum of Art
    1000 5th Ave, New York, NY 10028, USA

    This tour will meet in the main lobby of the Metropolitan Museum, at the statue of the Pharaoh, on your right upon entering. Your guide will be holding a Walks sign.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

The Metropolitan Museum of Art

2 hours 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

New York City

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • The Met is fully wheelchair accessible. However, if you cannot climb the stairs of the central entrance to reach the meeting point, there is a ground level entrance one block south, near the intersection of 81st street and 5th avenue. Tell the desk you need to use the elevator to meet a group in the main lobby (at the pharaoh statue), which will then secure your entrance ticket. They will provide you with a temporary pass and help direct you upstairs.
  • The Temple of Dendur is occasionally rented out for private events with no advance notice provided. While usually this occurs in the evening times, closures may impact this tour. In such cases, other works from the Egyptian collection will be substituted. Even more rarely, the Met may rent out select rooms for private events in which the same rule of substitution applies.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Walks complies with all local government regulations. You may need to wear a mask or provide proof of vaccination to enter certain venues. Please refer to New York government guidelines for the most up to date information.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

She also customises the tour to your liking, so if there is a specific movement in art that you're interested in, she will make sure to take you to that section in the MET.


100 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 100 reviews
Just do Art with Katie!!
Bridget_Y, Sep 2023
Katie was a fantastic tour guide. The express tour was exactly the informative overview and fun adventure in art that we were looking for. She is obviously knowledgeable and anectodable. Her stories help us appreciate art!!
Great highlight tour of the Met!
Steve_F, Sep 2023
Kevin was an amazing and knowledgeable guide. Really made the exhibits come alive with historical and sometimes humorous stories and context
Even My Husband Enjoyed It
Patricia_M, Sep 2023
Katie our tour guide was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and conscientious of us and others. Thoroughly enjoyed the time.
background story
Dianne_T, Sep 2023
learning details I would not have known without tour. Tour guide Kevin was very knowledgeable and interesting.
Humor and art.
Susanne_S, Aug 2023
It was the best decission to book this extraordinary funny and emotional tour. I can highly recomend!
The rest of the story
Jane_S, Aug 2023
All the juicy stories about the art. How acquired, etc how Jackie Kennedy picked some Egyptian pieces. What’s wrong in Washington crossing the Delaware
Wonderful to experience!
Tara_C, Aug 2023
Ryan was a great tour guide. Would recommend taking a guided tour, I couldn’t imagine going there for the first time and not having a guided tour. The MET is so beautiful and so BIG I wouldn’t know where to start.
Awesome Experience
Rex_R, Aug 2023
Awesome experience! Our tour guide was so knowledgeable! There is so much to see and learn about. I would go back!
Katie was amazing
Arlene_M, Aug 2023
Katie was one of the best tour guides we have ever had in our travels. Her passion for what she does came through and made the art come alive for me and the kids. She went the extra mile even providing coins for everyone in the group to make a wish at the wishing fountain. She made herself available even after the tour was available to answer questions and show additional works of art.
Our guide Kevin was great! Very knowledgeable and informative!
Carolina_V, Jul 2023
I liked that the guide asked the group what we were interested in seeing and he was warm and welcoming!
Not to be missed!!
CAROLYN_C, Jul 2023
It was the best way to see the Met for a first timer! The guide was amazing. So interesting and did a fabulous tour. Would absolutely recommend it.
Great tour guide but poor meeting location info
Jackie_O, Jul 2023
The tour guide was excellent. The information on where to meet was nonexistent and the lack of information from museum staff was terrible. I had to call the toll free number to get help after waiting in the wrong dot for 15 minutes.
Guided tour is an waste of time and money
aida_y, Jul 2023
The guid was terrible. The tour was for 2 hours and she wasted first 20 min to talk about columns and arch at the entry. When we told her that we will not see anything else if she just talks about a column for 20 min she told us go get a headset and do it on your own if you don’t like it. Very rude and not a likable person. Overall nothing was professional about her. She did not have a sign as a guid. For 14 min we’ve been looking for her and thought maybe No one is going to be there when we finally saw a pass hanging on her neck. Besides, no headsets , no sign to find her. Wasted money on tour guides. We left the group after 30 min because if we followed her we would’ve seen only a few things comparing everything we saw on our own. I don’t recall her name correctly but it was Rubina or Rebeca not sure but if you want to get upset, annoyed and angry instead of enjoying your trip hire her. There is no need to pay more for the guid. When I read about MET everyone dead there is a very long line and the main reason for us was skip the line option. But in reality the line was very short and we could’ve done it $30 p/person instead of $62.p/person with a brainwasher.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear Aida_y, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience on our "Best of the Metropolitan Museum 2 Hour Guided Tour." We appreciate your perspective and apologize for any miscommunication that may have occurred. We understand that you were eager to enter the venue and start exploring the exhibits immediately. However, it is our aim to provide a comprehensive tour that includes valuable information about the museum's architecture and historical context. We apologize if the initial 20 minutes dedicated to discussing the columns and arch at the entry felt excessive to you. We acknowledge that everyone has different preferences and expectations when it comes to guided tours. Regarding the guide's response to your feedback, we regret any perceived rudeness. Our guides are trained to address customer concerns with empathy and understanding. We apologize if you felt her suggestion to use headsets and explore independently came across as dismissive. We understand that this may have contributed to your dissatisfaction with the overall experience. We apologize for any confusion caused by the guide's lack of visible identification. Our guides typically wear prominent signs or badges for easy recognition by our customers. We regret that this was not the case during your tour, and we apologize for any inconvenience it caused. Rest assured, we have reinforced our guidelines to ensure that all our guides clearly display their identification during future tours. We regret that you felt the tour did not meet your expectations and that you chose to leave the group early. We understand that you had the desire to explore the museum at your own pace and discovered that the line was shorter than anticipated. We apologize if this led you to feel that your investment in the guided tour was not fully utilized. We value your feedback and take it seriously in our ongoing efforts to enhance the tour experience for our customers. Your comments will be carefully reviewed and taken into consideration to improve our services and avoid similar situations in the future. We apologize for any disappointment and inconvenience you experienced during your visit to the Metropolitan Museum. We hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity in the future to provide you with a more satisfying tour experience. Warm regards, Jhonas.
A great visit to a great museum of art
Myrna_B, Jul 2023
Kevin was a magnificent and experienced guide. The depths of his discussions and sides and his answers to many questions were thought provoking. We got a new appreciation for art pieces that we would have never had without him. He was a great teacher and master of the arts. We could have spent many more hours with him. This was one of many visits to this museum, but his insights gave it a new light. Thank you, Kevin
donrafter, Jun 2023
Tour guide took off with group while I was checking our bags. Never saw him again. Had no tour! Never again.
We could not take part.
Christopher_C, Jun 2023
We arrived in what we thought was good time, however we were unable to participate, as the line to get in was right around the block. It might be better if you state that customers need to arrive 45 minutes before the tour time, in order to get in. There are no queue jump doors for pre-arranged tours here.
A once in a lifetime...
Muchael_M, Jun 2023
A once in a lifetime theater trip to New York was made even better by taking this tour of the Met. Great way to get the highlights of the collection. Tour guide was very very good
Book tour… so worth it!
Rosanne_A, Jun 2023
Our tour guide was John who was very knowledgeable, attentive and interesting. Definitely recommend this tour!
Great tour!
Sarah_W, Jun 2023
Very much recommend this tour! The Met is huge so having someone go over the highlights was great. Our guide was very knowledgeable! He did an awesome job. Will definitely do this again when friends come in.
Judith_W, May 2023
Excellent guide. Learned many parts of museum. Otherwise would not have known what I was seeing . Learning experience

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
The Best of the Metropolitan Museum 2 Hour Guided Tour


2 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Highlights of the Metropolitan Museum Guided Tour


3 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
1 Hour Private Guided Pedicab Tour in New York City


1 hour
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do