Athens

Cape Sounion & Temple of Poseidon afternoon English tour

Athens, Greece
  • 4 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Marvel over one of Greece’s most photographed monuments on this half-day tour to the Temple of Poseidon from Athens. Wind your way along the coastal cliffs and beaches on the scenic drive to Cape Sounion, then grab your camera as you spot the magnificent remains of the Temple of Poseidon, perched high on the sea cliffs. You have a chance to get up close to the ancient monument, explore ruins dating back to 444 BC, and soak up the impressive coastal views.
  • Half-day tour to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon from Athens
  • Enjoy stunning coastal views as you drive to Cape Sounion
  • Explore the famous ruins of the Temple of Poseidon
  • Great-value tour includes pick-up and drop-off from selected Athens hotels

What's Included

  • Hotel pickup and drop off (selected hotels only)
  • Professional guide
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Entrance ticket to Temple of Poseidon (Sounio)
  • French speaking only on Monday and on Friday
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Gratuities
  • Pick up from Piraeus port, airport, airbnb and apartments

Meeting and Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Amalia Hotel Athens
    Leof. Vasilisis Amalias 10, Athina 105 57, Greece

    One corner away from central metro station Syntagma, opposite the National Garden entrance.

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

We are not providing pick up service from air bnb or private apartments but upon confirmation we will pick you up from the closest hotel.

What To Expect

Your Cape Sounion and Temple of Apollo tour begins with pickup at your Athens hotel or the meeting point on Syntagma Square and transport on board an air-conditioned vehicle to the ancient ruins. Take in views along the Athenian Riviera as you pass Glyfada Beach and Lake Vouliagmeni along the way.

Once you arrive at Cape Sounion, meet your guide for a one-hour tour of the Temple of Poseidon, with admission tickets included. Learn about its history and significance as you snap photos of the ruins and the Aegean Sea before boarding the bus for the return trip and drop-off at the departure point in Athens.

Glyfada Beach (Pass By)

Lake Vouliagmeni (Pass By)

Temple of Poseidon

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • French speaking available ONLY on Mon-Fri
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Very important: Children , students aged 5 to 18 years old must hold passport or ID in order to get the discounted price. Otherwise they will pay entrance ticket to the Archaelogical sites or Museums
  • Port or private apartment or airbnb pickup are not available
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 49 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Reviews

4.0
548 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 548 reviews
Not a very interesting tour
JacquiandPhil_D, Apr 2024
Long drive on a windy day. Takes about 5 minutes to see the temple. The group was nice and small. Great views - but that’s not uncommon in Greece. At least there is a cafe.
Response from Host, Apr 2024
Dear Jacqui, Thank you for your kind review. Unfortunately the winds are out of our control... we are sorry that this day was windy. Cape Sounio is 73 km out of Athens and the driving of Athenian riviera is one hour and 15 minutes to reach the Cape Sounio. As you said great views and thank you for your kind words. Best regards Hara
Cape Sounion
Sally_N, Oct 2023
This tour was so informative. The guide share so much rich history of the area. Beautiful sight and great cultural lesson. Beautiful ride to the destination.
Just acceptable, disappointing tour guide
strednyepixnet, Oct 2023
Nice trip along the coast to cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon. However the tour guide was not very engaged with the patrons while in transit to the site.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Stendy, Thank you for your review! Our guides on the way give a lot of information and also free time to admire the beautiful views.This driving time is approx 1,5 hours so due to limit of time half day tour)the guide can't be very engaged with the group. Kind regards Hara
Would not do it again
Suzanne_M, Sep 2023
Long drive for very little to see - have done much better value tours … I’d like to see more included for the price
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Suzanne, The driving is one hour and half and all the way you have the view of Athenian riviera , the sea side of Athens and your guide telling stories for and myths... We are surpised as this is a 4 hours afternnon tour with a scenic drining and entrance to Temple of Posedon with 52 Euros per person as during these hours you see a lot of small towns , beach, marinas and the remarkable Cape Sounio. We are sorry that our tour didn't met your expectetions. Kind regards Hara Kritikidou
Very glad I visited this site
Veronica_S, Aug 2023
Beautiful endless miles of Riviera...n awesome Temple of Posiedon. A definite must visit from Athens
Trips
Carol_G, Aug 2023
Lovely view. However I resent your requiring 100 characters for me to give them a good review. This is discouraging when you want to review
Accurate description of...
Kelly_A, Jul 2023
Accurate description of the trip and the total cost, most similar tour trips wrongfully advertise lower costs e.g. by omitting the entrance fee. The bus and the driver were nice, the guide was also very good. They also arranged to pick up several people from locations different from the meet-up point without any delays or inconveniences to the rest of us.
Highly recommended and not to be missed
Keith_A, Jul 2023
The skillful driver, the very comfortable air-conditioned coach and the very knowledgeable guide whose commentary was very educative Highly recommended
Good
Pierce_B, Jul 2023
Had its ups and downs. The positives is that the temple looked awesome, the area was quiet and so far it’s the only temple I’ve seen that doesn’t have scaffolding so great for photos. The negatives it’s a long journey there and the tour wasn’t fantastic. But would still highly recommend
A nice experience!
Petra_W, Jun 2023
Unfortunately we were unlucky with the weather with some drizzle of rain. With blue sky it would have been more magical. The bus driver was good, the tour guide very friendly and all went according to plan. It was nice to get out of the city and experience a little bit of the surrounding.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Dear Petra, Thank you for your kind words for tour, driver and guide. As for the rain happens but we can't do anything for this and its pity to rate the tour with 3 stars because of the rain. Kind regards Hara
Hospitality and Professionalism
Carlos_L, Jun 2023
Thorough tour conducted by Joy. She is very knowledgeable. Bobieus, the bus driver, was great as well. Impressive views of the Athens Riviera!!! Thanks for the hospitality and professionalism. My wife and I really enjoyed the tour.
Temple of Poseidon Tour
Daryl_C, Jun 2023
I speciifally was interested in the Temple of Poseidon because I love the ocean so this was particularly interesting to me. I enjoyed the drive down, it was relaxing and I loved seeing the little shore towns along the way. While I understand some reviews were negative about the long drive for small ruins, I understood the nature of the tour, and I enjoyed it very much. Personally, after all the walking and the hills, I was happy to just enjoy the scenery on the bus ride. The guide and bus driver were very friendly and professional. It was easy to book the tour and luckily they had a pick up for my relatively moderately sized hotel.
Wonderful trip and temple
jjannett, Jun 2023
Friends recommended Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon. We are soo happy that we went and heard the excellent narration. The area and temple were amazing. The next night we saw the Temple from our ship at sea. It meant a lot more to know what we were looking at. Great job!
Poor customer service
Cindy_A, Jun 2023
The tour guide and tour company used is very very racist. My opinion being the only black woman on the tour when I first got on the bus with my brother we were the first pick up the bus driver made me feel uncomfortable. I sat on the first row and we went to pick up the other tourist, waited 10 minutes then they finally entered the bus to all the tourist and the bus driver got up skip the first role and show everyone else how to turn on and off the AC vents. Maybe they were upset because the company called and asked if I can meet them across that big street on the other side of the hotel and I refused to because I paid to be picked up at the Hyatt not across the street so maybe they wasn’t happy about that and the tour guide is the same one I had for my first tour which was on Saturday and she gave me information to where to meet at the end of the tour and she wasn’t there and I corrected her and put it in her place because if you tell the Terrace where to meet you at the end of the tour and you’re not there and my brother had to go look for her and then she says oh we met each other. No, we didn’t meet each other my brother found you, so I guess she did remember me when I told her that, but she was not welcoming to me, and I felt uncomfortable.
Great outing
Michael_A, Jun 2023
Enjoyed the Temple of Poseidon as well as the drive to/back where we could enjoy the lovely beaches and oceans. Our tour guide was excellent
Do NOT waste your time
Marc_C, Jun 2023
I cannot stress enough how much this tour is not worth doing. The amount of time it takes to get from Athens to Sounion and back again is just not worth it for the amount of time on site. Not that you need more time on site, it is literally a few columns. If you’ve stayed in Athens then you’ve already seen things far more impressive than this site. Honestly, it is not worth sitting in the Athens traffic. This is no reflection on the tour company at all, it’s just not somewhere worth going.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Dear Marc, You visit the temple of Poseidon on the rocks with full view of Aegean sea. We are not understanding that are few columns but we respect your opinion. Kind regards Hara
Enjoyable english
DrDebabrata_B, Jun 2023
Well organised with informative tour guide Dora. The drive was beautiful and picturesque. There wasn’t much to see in the temple area however we enjoyed the afternoon.
Wonderful tour!
Joseph_F, May 2023
I enjoyed this tour! An excursion to Sounion was recommended to me, and I think researching my tour options paid off with this particular selection. There was a lot to see and never enough time, but I enjoyed every moment of it!
Go to Poseidon!
Robin_R, May 2023
This was a perfect afternoon! So glad we went. It's hard to see everything Athens has to offer, so it isn't easy to know whether to choose to fit in trips around the area. We found we could fit in a few hours and are so happy we took this excellent tour of the Temple of Poseidon. The bus ride is seaside and gorgeous and the views are stunning. Our guide was informative and fun. We wish there had been a sunset option for us but recommend people take this tour regardless!
Informative
Douglas_K, May 2023
It was an informative experience. It could have been better if our guide had a microphone and we all had headphones if some sort as there we times while walking we were unable to hear what she was describing.
...

From $56.47

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Cape Sounion & Temple of Poseidon afternoon English tour

547

4 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$56.47
No Photo
Cape Sounion & Temple Of Poseidon Private Trip

98

3 to 4 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$134.66

Explore Similar Things to Do