Big Island of Hawaii

Kona's Deluxe Snorkel - Beat the Crowds to Captain Cook and Place of Refuge

Badge of ExcellenceBig Island of Hawaii, USA
Captain Cook Deluxe AM Snorkel
  • 5 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Discover two of the best snorkel spots in Kona on this early morning tour departing from Keauhou Bay. Explore the coral gardens alongside many different fish species, and on your return to the shore your guide will provide a history of the Captain Cook Monument and Place of Refuge.
  • Snacks, fresh fruit and beverages are served
  • View sea caves and lava tubes along the Kona coast
  • Search for spinner dolphins, resident and seasonal whales

What's Included

  • Friendly knowledgeable guides
  • Snacks, fruit, juice and bottled water
  • Mask, Fins, Snorkel, Flotation Aids included
  • Gratuities for your crew always appreciated
  • Please bring towel and cover-up
  • Use reef safe sunscreen (zinc based is recommended- no oxybenzone and octinoxate. lotion, no spray)

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 78-6831 Ali‘i Dr, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, USA

    WE HAVE MOVED To Check in: Keauhou Shopping Center, 78-6831 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Hawai`i 96740, Space F-146. Located in courtyard behind Tropics, KTA & Bianelli's. From there, you will drive to Keauhou Bay where the crew will greet you for the tour.

Start time

07:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Minors must be accompanied by an adult at all times
  • Not recommended for child under 6
  • Must be under 285lbs
  • Must be comfortable swimming in the ocean
  • Electronic Waiver required to be signed prior to tour
  • Must be able to climb up a metal ladder to get back in the boat
  • Our vessels are RHIBS (zodiac style boats & seating is on a pontoon).
  • We have full discretion to refuse service to guests based on attire, behavior, physical fitness & condition
  • Restroom facilities not available on boat
  • Not recommended for travelers with neck problems
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 28 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
The snorkeling was great at both locations. Very friendly and knowledgeable crew as well. Would recommend!


217 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 217 reviews
Fun snorkeling adventure!
Vonnie_S, Apr 2024
Our tour with Seth and Rahj on the snorkeling tour was amazing!! We saw many different types of fish, including puffers and trumpet fish. Also saw a sea turtle. The boat we rode on was nice and new! The tour was well organized to get our gear at one location and a short drive to the dock. The captains were knowledgeable and fun. Recommend bringing a towel for sure and possibly warm coverup as it was chilly on the way back from being in the water so long. Would recommend!
You do not want to miss this experience
Stanislava_T, Apr 2024
Lovely sea life, the reef was full of colors and the crew ere helpful in providing directions to ensure we make the best of our time snorkeling. A must do experience for the sea life enthusiasts of all ages.
Capt Cook (mis)adventure
Lynn_H, Mar 2024
It is to be noted that dolphin discovery sign in for the tour is in a different place (and a different time from when i booked the trip) Captain cook was amazing place to snorkel in, lots of fish and even saw a reef shack!!. The Capt of the boat on our ride back from Place of Refuge gave an indepth description of the history of the coast and we even saw dolphins come up to the boot which was amazing. I was a little concern that on both snorkels know one from the boat came into the water not only from a safety point of view, but also to let us know what fish we were swimming in the sea it would have made the experience better
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Aloha Lynn, Sorry there was confusion about our location. The county of Hawaii Island has prevented street vending effective December 2023, so all snorkel tour operators have had to move off site. We did call you, emailed you, and texted you that our times and location had changed. We're not sure how else we could of notified you, but we will look for ways to improve our communication. It's against Coast Guard regulations for our crew to leave the boat to snorkel with guests, but I'm sure the crew would love it if they could. Safe Travels.
A trip we’ll never forget.
Gail_B, Mar 2024
What an outstanding adventure. I loved being out early and getting to go to two locations. On the way back we stopped and learned about some Hawaiian history. And we saw dolphins up close. Absolutely amazing!
Bad customer service
Michael_H, Mar 2024
The captains were knowledgeable and friendly. I enjoyed the first site quite a bit but the second site had almost no marine life. I recognize that’s not their fault but it was a let down. What made it so bad was that I rented a GoPro from them and it was broken. The camera wouldn’t stay in a fixed position and once it started recording the screen went black so I couldn’t see what I was recording. And then the sd card filled up before the first site was even done. And no replacement sd card was available once we were on the boat. The captain said to call the office when we were done and that they would work something out for me. So I called and a rude woman answered and refused to give me any refund or discount. She said when it’s first turned on it says it can only hold an hour’s worth. But I didn’t turn it on. An employee did and handed it to me. No one told me I only had one hour. She refused to offer anything and said it was my fault and that i should’ve known it had limited storage capacity. This was very frustrating and it tainted the whole experience. I will certainly not book anything with them, nor will I recommend them to anyone. But the crew on board were great.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Aloha Michael, We are sorry that you had a bad experience with your GoPro. All action cameras have limited storage capacity and battery life. We estimate about an hour of video before your run out of one or the other. The screen goes black to save battery life. GoPros are fisheye lenses, so you don't need to be pointing directly at the image, because the way the lens is designed everything is captured. We'll be reaching out to you to hear more about your experience.
Amy_P, Mar 2024
Wonderful staff, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about their work. Although the water was cold, we saw amazing fish and coral. don’t miss out!
Great way to spend half day on the water in Kona!
Jo_M, Feb 2024
We had a wonderful time snorkeling! Very professional and knowledgeable crew made for a ln excellent experience for the kids and I! Highly recommend!!!!!
Worth every penny.
Sarah_C, Feb 2024
Was so worth booking 2 spots and early arrival. Beat the other boats! Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Josh was a great captain. Snacks and drinks were nice.
Had a great snorkeling...
Kathryn_G, Feb 2024
Had a great snorkeling tour with Josh and Seth. Both were extremely knowledgeable and professional. We had some great viewings of whale and our time at Kealakekua Bay was amazing. Highly recommend!
Great snorkeling at Captain Cook!
Kevin_M, Feb 2024
We chose this tour because of the early arrival at Captain Cook to beat the crowds. We had a great time there and saw many fish. Definitely the best snorkeling we did on the big Island in the 10 days we were there. We could have passed on going to the Place of Refuge (aka Two Step which we did from shore earlier in our trip). After snorkeling at Captain Cook there was no comparison.
Great Excursion.
James_S, Jan 2024
Brent was a great Captain/Guide. Cooks Bay is like swimming in an aquarium. On time to locations, and plenty of bonuses along the way. Highly recommended.
Great Snorkeling
Jacob_B, Jan 2024
The snorkeling was great at both locations. Very friendly and knowledgeable crew as well. Would recommend!
Phoebe_M, Jan 2024
Our captain was knowledgeable and dedicated to drive that boat to all the good spots! We enjoyed snorkeling with fog free masks and top quality fins. The fish on the reefs were amazing and awesome!
The staff and crew were...
Kelly_K, Jan 2024
The staff and crew were welcoming and organized. The snorkeling itself was marvelous - along with an amazing variety of fish, we saw an octopus, wray and turtles.
Great snorkel trip
Mike_O, Jan 2024
This was a great snorkel trip to two locations that are not that easy to get to on your own. Both sites had abundant numbers of fish and coral and the water was very clear. We saw a wide variety of fish species and a couple of eels. The guides were good and provided us with some history of the area, a view of a lava tube and some snacks and drinks. We were the first tour boat to Captain Cook. One private boat and a couple of canoes were there when we arrived. It was a busy place by the time we left though. There were not too many other snorkelers at the second site. We were a bit further down the coast than most of the snorkelers who get in at two step would swim.
Kona snorkeling tour
Michael_P, Dec 2023
My family of 5 had a great experience, the coral was amazing and the fish were beautiful. Easy 3-4 on the water, two separate snorkeling sites. Snacks and water provided. We all had a good time.
Definitely worth the early rise and small boat tour
Rebecca_W, Dec 2023
Amazing morning out on the water. Our guide was chilled and we were lucky to just have four of us on the boat. Both spots were amazing snorkelling and definitely worth heading out early in the morning to beat the crowds. Snacks and water served was a nice way to finish up on our way back in.
Relaxing experience
Alie_B, Dec 2023
We had a great time! We loved the small group as well as the time, kindness and attention given to us by our crew. We made it to Captain Cook long before any other boat which gave us a peaceful experience. We also stopped to see lava tubes and learned a bit about the culture and history of the island. Over all, we had an excellent and relaxing time.
Great trip with a super...
Michael_F, Dec 2023
Great trip with a super cool crew. Saw spinner dolphins right after leaving the harbor. Two great snorkel spot. Lots of fish, coral and highlight was a big eel!
It was like swimming in a...
Brad_M, Nov 2023
It was like swimming in a giant aquarium many varieties of fish and coral, overall a great experience would definitely do it again booking with dolphin you got more time in the water and avoid a long rough boat ride from Kona

From $139.95

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Kona's Deluxe Snorkel - Beat the Crowds to Captain Cook and Place of Refuge


5 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Deluxe Sail & Snorkel to the Captain Cook Monument


4 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do