Costa Maya

Bacalar – 7 Colors Lagoon Excursión Costa Maya

Badge of ExcellenceCosta Maya, Mexico
BACALAR 7 Colors Lagoon with transportation from Costa Maya
  • 5 hours 30 minutes
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

The Bacalar Lagoon was once a haven for Caribbean pirates but has become one of the Yucatan's most beautiful places to visit. Join a small group and take a guided tour from Costa Maya to the 7-colored lagoon for a day of swimming and exploring. Visit the Cocalitos and Black cenotes as well as the Pirate Channel, where precious wood was once smuggled.
  • Spend the day swimming and soaking up the sun
  • Lunch, snacks, and beverages are included
  • Hassle-free transfers from the cruise ship terminal
  • A small group means more attention from your guide

What's Included

  • Lunch
  • Bottled water
  • Soda/Pop
  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Snacks
  • Transportation round trip: Costa Maya – Bacalar
  • Insurance
  • Gratuities

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • Av. P.º del Puerto 1300, Nuevo, 77976 Mahahual, Q.R., Mexico

    There will be a guide outside the port waiting for you with a Chac Ek sign and a white board with your name on it.

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 7/18/2019 - 2/27/2025

    Monday - Sunday : 08:00 AM - 07:00 PM

    Wednesday : 06:00 AM - 08:00 PM

    Thursday : 08:00 AM - 07:00 PM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Join this small-group adventure that takes you to the Bacalar Lagoon, where you can swim and relax in the 7-colored water, explore two cenotes, and learn about the pirate and smuggling history of the area.

Your hassle-free tour starts with meeting your guide and group at the port terminal in Costa Maya. Hop on your minibus, and relax as your driver takes you over to both “Cenote Esmeralda,” another name for Bacalar Lagoon. Later you’ll visit “Cenote Cocalitos” and the “Black Cenote,” and see the distinguishing features of each with your guide.

You’ll also be able to spend time at Cocalitos Beach Club where you’ll have refreshments provided, like snacks, lunch, beer, and other fun drinks.

Laguna Bacalar

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Bacalar

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
Operated by Chac Ek Costa Maya

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Tara_W
Selena was an amazing guide and took great care of my family. Bacalar is incredibly beautiful and a sight to see! We will be back!

Reviews

5.0
261 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 261 reviews
7 colors is great!
Mark_B, Apr 2024
The Lagoon was like a scene from a movie. Just unbelievable. Soft white sand. Turquoise water. Dreamy. Our guide was Leo. Can’t say enough about his passion for teaching and informing his guests. He was the best!
Response from Host, Apr 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
If you have a short port day, skip it!
Courtney_B, Mar 2024
We were a party of 7 and were traveling on Royal Caribbean with an extremely short port day in Costa Maya. The Costa Maya port requires a long walk from the boat in general, but we had to walk an additional mile-ish to get in the vans the begin the tour. The description was not super clear, and we didn’t realize that this excursion started with an hour+ in a van. Our group of 7 was packed in with another group of 7. There was also a miscommunication from the cruise ship because the tour expected us an hour earlier. Once we arrived, our time in the water was minimal. We rode a boat to one cenote, stopped at another part of the lagoon and swam for about 20 minutes then returned for lunch. The lunch at the restaurant on the beach was excellent. All tacos and fajitas we ordered were very good. We then got back in the van for an hour+ ride back. The other group with us “had” to change their clothes in the limited bathrooms available which delayed our departure. We had to then make the looong trek back to our boat and barely made it back on our cruise. The purpose of my review is not to besmirch the tour company. They did provide a smooth ride, beautiful views of the lagoon, informative blurbs along the way, and a delicious meal. They also did whatever they could to ensure we made it back to port on time. Since the description was lacking some key details, I wanted to be clear about what to expect if you have a contracted amount of time in port. We all agreed, that if we ever took a cruise into Costa Maya again, we might stay on the boat or just go into port to use the pool there and visit the shops.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Hi, good morning. We are sorry for your experience. Many times, the change in schedule from one moment to another by the cruise ship upon arrival in Costa Maya is a problem for being able to enjoy the destination. We appreciate your review.
Beautiful waters!
Tara_W, Mar 2024
Selena was an amazing guide and took great care of my family. Bacalar is incredibly beautiful and a sight to see! We will be back!
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Fantastic tour!
Joann_M, Mar 2024
Salina was a fantastic guide. This tour was the highlight of our vacation. So much fun! The water is beautiful!
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Private tour with Tino perfect for young kids
Monisha_M, Mar 2024
Tino provided us with a memorable private tour and made sure we got back to the pier in time for all aboard. The Costa Maya cruise port is a little challenging to navigate but once we exited the port, it was easy to find the meeting place. We were met by Julio our driver who took us to meet with the owner Baudelio and Tino who was our guide. We booked this through viator as a group tour but they were able to upgrade us to a private tour with an upcharge which was so worth it. We didn't have to wait for the rest of the group and got on our way. Tino stopped on the way to pick up some fruit for us. The lagoon was amazing. The water was the perfect temperature and fresh water. Very shallow, almost ankle depth in some parts which was perfect for my 2 young kids and baby. Since it was fresh water, no stinging eyes or sticky skin after. We got to spend an hour at the lagoon as we wanted to be back at least an hour prior to all aboard. On the way back, Tino stopped at a taco place where he pre-ordered our meals and that was quick and delicious. We even bought 2 bottles of a delicious tamarind salsa to take home. And then the kids napped for the 1 hour ride back to the cruise terminal.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Would book again
Wiley_H, Mar 2024
Easy to find the tour on following directions out of costa maya port. Had a whiteboard up with traveler names. Plenty of bottled water and drinks available. Guide seemed to have a cold through trip, we figure these folks probably can’t afford to miss work. Got back to port area in plenty of time for ship with time to spare to shop a little. Lagoon was as beautiful as expected. Swimming on trip in waist deep water so no need to get head wet if you didn’t want to. Very soft sand bottom so didn’t need water shoes we had brought. No towel provided so bring your own.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Amazing 100 Star Tour of the 7 Colored Sea!
Katherine_C, Feb 2024
This experience was absolutely amazing! We are a family of 11, all of different ages and we enjoyed it to the MAX! Our tour guides name was Judith (Judy) and she was very good about giving us the FULL tour in both English and Spanish. We sunbathed, had a blast on the boat, dipped in the 7 colors sea, and then had some tacos before finishing our day! The tacos were great, however, if you do have a big appetite, I suggest ordering another portion or something else on the side! Overall such a great experience, it came highly recommended and now we know why!
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
A little stressful.
Mara_V, Jan 2024
The guide selina was nice and very knowledgeable of the island. However, we didn’t get to see all that was promised, and the guy driving was speeding, we barely made it back to the boat, we were the last ones there. We should not have to stress, but we were. They need to understand that the time they have is not the time we need to be there. We need to be there one hour before .
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Hello, thank you very much for your comment, your opinion is important to us, we will take action on this issue to prevent it from happening.
Authentic
patrice_s, Dec 2023
Celina is the best. Funny, caring - authentic, personal attention. If you want the native experience with lots of fun. Everything as promised. Food, fun.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
We want to thank you for taking the time to choose our company and we are very happy. That you guys had an incredible time. Thank you so much.
One of the best was to see Bacalar!
Murray_C, Dec 2023
Too much fun on this excursion. Made even better with a small group (we had only 9 people on our very personalized tour) and two great tour guides: Selena and Flores.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
We want to thank you for taking the time to choose our company and we are very happy. That you guys had an incredible time. Thank you so much.
Wonderful adventure!
Suni_S, Dec 2023
Excellent adventure! We were on a cruise at Costa Maya and decided to do this tour. Judith (tour guide) was amazing and so much fun. We had a blast and totally recommend it to anyone. I was nervous about the drive at first,but it went by fast and I felt safe the entire time.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
We want to thank you for taking the time to choose our company and we are very happy. That you guys had an incredible time. Thank you so much.
Waste of money…
Kelci_M, Dec 2023
Lagoon was beautiful other than that very rushed, marginal bathrooms there was no lock on the women’s restroom, and they asked us not to stop at the restroom after the lagoon because of time gave us cold food , tacos on ride back. Maybe in a different situation if there was more time to spend at the lagoon and eat lunch on site, but for the money that was spent and we were in a van for about three hours Probably got to enjoy the lagoon for an hour again very rushed
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Hello Kelci_M, thank you very much for your comment. At the time of booking, all clients are sent a welcome message that includes the map and the company logo with instructions to get to our meeting point with an estimated time. When arriving later than the mentioned time, the tour was with insufficient time to provide you with the service with more extra time and to be able to stop to offer you more space for activities, this in order to comply with the boarding schedule of your boat. I reiterate my gratitude for your comment and we will work to improve the aspects mentioned.
Waste of money!!!
Teresa_B, Dec 2023
Worst experience of all excursions! No signs to identify themselves! Not near the port! Never made the Excursions because of lack of directions and identification! No refund! The excursion company lies to not lose money & Viator doesn't guarantee their Excursions! Not recommended ever! Will never use Viator again! Waste of time & money!!
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Hello Teresa, the reservations arrive to us a month in advance or more and all clients are sent a welcome message which includes the map and the company logo with directions to get to our meeting point and through the conversations are always sent back to you and if you were not given the tour it was because you arrived THREE HOURS LATE and there was no longer enough time to provide you with the service because our tours had already started two hours, and our last transportation had two hours that you left with people from the cruise you were boarding on, so here I answer your review so that future clients can judge who is right.
Favorite part of our trip!
Krisha_B, Dec 2023
We were very pleasantly surprised! First, the port of Costa Maya is beautiful, but it is like a maze to get through. Give yourself plenty of time to get off the ship as it was a bit difficult to find our group. Once we found Tino (our guide) we were thrilled to hear we were the only 3 on the excursion...lucky us! The van was new, clean and spacious. It's good to know that the max number of people they will take is 10 which is less than the van can accommodate (12). Tino had snacks and cold waters. The drive to the lagoon is about an hour and 10 minutes. However, the time went by so fast as Tino gave us an awesome and informative history lesson. Once we arrived, we had a large pontoon boat (again to ourselves), we spent time cruising around the lagoon learning about the history (which was fascinating). After some time, we anchored at 2 different spots and spent time swimming and relaxing in the stunning lagoon. It truly is 7 colors. Tino provided coconut rum and fresh pineapple for us to enjoy while hanging out in the lagoon. After the lagoon, we got to to check out the Fort, grab some pictures and then headed to a roadside, authentic Mexican restaurant (Loco Taco) where we had pre-ordered our meals so we didn't have to wait long. Yes, we got to pick exactly what we wanted. We had the beef tacos, chicken fajitas and pork tacos - all delicious! We had the most wonderful time. I highly recommend this excursion and if you can request Tino, you will not be disappointed!!
Response from Host, Dec 2023
We really do not have the words to thank you for this beautiful comment that you have left us, we will always try to make your well-being our priority, and above all that you have the best experience of your lives.
The Caribbean Bora Bora
Jesus_O, Nov 2023
This was an amazing and unforgettable experience with my family, guided by a friendly, professional, and connoisseur of the 7 Colors Lagoon. We arrived in a cruiseship to Costa Maya and Baudelio made sure we have the best of the best experience while procuring to take us back on time to the ship. The captain of the boat (Leo) was also very friendly and knowledgeable of the Lagoon, the stop for food was delicious and the best of all is that my wife, kids and myself want to come back for more leisure time at Bacalar.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
We really do not have the words to thank you for this beautiful comment that you have left us, we will always try to make your well-being our priority, and above all that you have the best experience of your lives.
Just okay and got food poisoning
Cathryn_W, Nov 2023
I think they were encouraging everyone to do Tequila shots all day so they wouldn’t get sick from the place we stopped and ate. We had no Tequila shots or any alcohol and I got so sick from food poisoning and ended up on 2 antibiotics when I got back to the states. Just not our idea of a good time but the lagoon was very pretty with crystal clear water and the Mayan ruins were very cool to see as well.
We got lost and they got greedy
tammy_n, Nov 2023
Our big trip highlight turned into a total nightmare. We missed the tour, and getting even a bit of our money back was like pulling teeth. Save yourself the trouble and skip booking this thing if you're: - New to cruises and don't know your way around the port, terminal, or where to meet. - Disabled phone/GPS service - Traveling with little kids who might throw tantrums during the longer-than-expected walk to the meetup point. Apparently, we weren't the only ones late and lost that day. If you can't find the meetup spot in time, don't expect a refund. Maybe it's easier to just grab a ride to Bacalar 7 Colors Lagoon from one of the booths or taxis at the cruise terminal.
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Hello Tammy, regarding your comment, each and every one of our clients is sent all the appropriate information to reach our meeting point, which is sent the same day they make their reservation (map, company logo and Telephone numbers). Contact for any questions or clarifications, - calls -WhatsApp -Telegram -Email. I would have liked you to add in your comment that you arrived an hour and a half late to take your excursion and for that reason the attention was no longer provided. We all deserve respect since our excursions are carried out with people from the same cruise and the excursion began 20 minutes after the first family arrived at our meeting point, which came on the same ship VOYAGER OF THE SEAS 12:45 THE FIRST FAMILY ARRIVED The excursion START 1:15pm, you arrived at 2:00pm at our meeting point, I, the owner of the Baudelio Rodriguez company, assisted you and I personally stressed to you that your excursion could no longer be because you arrived an hour and fifteen minutes late, even so we considered a 50 % of your refund and yet you threatened us if we didn't give you 100% you were going to give us a bad comment. On future occasions, speak the truth, since you missed the excursion due to arriving late. Sincerely: Baudelio Rodriguez CEO of chac ek Costa Maya
Had a great time!! Our...
Mike_M, Oct 2023
Had a great time!! Our tour guide and driver were great. Thank you Ed and Franklin. Very knowledgable about the Mayan culture. Lagoon was beautiful and the water was fresh water, never had that experience. Only thing we did not like was the drive, it takes a bit to get there and back. Would recommend this trip. Thanks
Response from Host, Oct 2023
We are very glad that you liked everything, it is a pleasure for us to always serve you!!
Beautiful Lagoon
Shannon_T, Sep 2023
It was worth the drive! About 1 1/2 hrs. Our guides were fabulous, freshly cut pineapples and plenty of drinks. The lagoon is beautiful, we loved swimming and the views! We had tacos freshly made on the way home, yum!
Response from Host, Sep 2023
We are very glad that you liked everything, it is a pleasure for us to always serve you!!!!!
Tino was an excellent...
Tova_D, Aug 2023
Tino was an excellent tour guide. He made this experience one that I will never forget! Although we were expecting a different tour, he clarified why our tour was amended and it ended up working out great! My only negative feedback would be for the tour company to be more specific about which activity you're going to get on what day (example:book on Wednesdays and you only get the beach club and not a tour of the lagoon). Due to the description of the tour, we were expecting both for our Tuesday trip.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you a lot for the review and for the comment also will keep review on the wednesday tours definitely to clarify it much better thanks a whole lot
...

From $135.00

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Bacalar – 7 Colors Lagoon Excursión Costa Maya

258

5 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$135.00
No Photo
BACALAR Seven Color Lagoon Boat Excursion from Costa Maya

77

5 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$139.99

Explore Similar Things to Do