Florence

From Florence: San Gimignano, Siena, and Chianti wine Tour

Badge of ExcellenceFlorence, Italy
Full Day Tuscan Countryside Tour from Florence

From $65.07

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 11 hours 15 minutes
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Enjoy a full-day tour into the heart of the beautiful Tuscan countryside. Visit the town of San Gimignano, the wine territory of Chianti, the medieval town of Siena, and the Colle Alta in Colle di Val d'Elsa. If you choose the option with lunch, you'll have the chance to spend your lunchtime in Piazza del Campo, where every year the Palio Horse Race takes place.
  • Full-day tour of the beautiful Tuscan countryside from Florence
  • Wander the World Heritage-listed medieval town of San Gimignano
  • Discover the history of Colle Alta in Colle di Val d'Elsa.
  • Savor a picnic lunch of Tuscan specialties
  • Taste Chianti wines and olive oil at a local winery
  • See Siena's famous cathedral and Piazza del Campo, home of the Palio de Siena horse race

What's Included

  • Expert tour leader
  • Free time in Siena
  • Free time in San Gimignano
  • Free time in Colle Alta
  • Wine tasting in a typical winery
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Gratuities
  • Lunch

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Florence (Villa Costanza)
    50018 Scandicci, Metropolitan City of Florence, Italy

    Meet us at Villa Costanza, in front of 'The Florence Gate' Café. Reach the meeting point by T1 Leonardo tramway to Villa Costanza (get off at Villa Costanza stop which is the end of the line). The ride is 20 min from center and you can choose the nearest stop. Our staff will wear a green shirt.

Start time

08:45 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Historic Centre of San Gimignano

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Porta San Giovanni (Pass By)

Collegiata di Santa Maria Assunta - Duomo di San Gimignano

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Palazzo Pubblico e Torre Grossa

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Piazza della Cisterna

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Colle di Val d'Elsa

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Fortezza Medicea (Pass By)

Centro Storico di Siena

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Piazza Salimbeni

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Palazzo Tolomei (Pass By)

Via di Citta (Pass By)

Piazza del Campo

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Fonte Gaia (Pass By)

Palazzo Pubblico and Museo Civico

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Duomo di Siena

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Facciatone (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Entrance to the Siena Cathedral is not included, clients can enter at their own expenses and depending on Cathedral opening times. Please note that will not available on Sundays or Bank Holidays and during special event opening times can change
  • Please note that Portuguese option requires a minimum of 4 pax. Otherwise, the tour will be guaranteed in English.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 60 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Reviews

4.5
746 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 746 reviews
Great tour
Melissa_D, Dec 2023
Great tour. Long but worth it. Very efficient and comfy buses. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the locations
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing the feedback of your experience with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the tour and liked our guide's job. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future, in order to give you more experiences like this one. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Toscana
Lydia_C, Dec 2023
It’s a long day but excellent experience!! Beautiful cities and well distributed time. The guide and bus driver were the best!!
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to know that you had an excellent experince with our team. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future, in order to provide you more enjoyable experiences like this one. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Private review for Viator only
Joseph_l, Oct 2023
Our guides were tentative & excellent. The bus accommodations comfortable. Great tour. Our package included lunch & I do not recommend that. The food was fine along w/location however the service was below average. Finally we left without paying for our one glass of wine because no one came to our table, they brought the wrong wine & regardless of being told we wanted a different o wine from our first (included) glass. Two different waiters were not concerned w/ good service, we were ignored. We attempted to have other staff attend to us but w/ no response. We finally left because we were going to miss our bus. I feel time was wasted at that restaurant. Via toe has a good reputation, if you want to continue that reputation I suggest seriously talking w/ that restaurant. Other than this, we enjoyed our day. Thank you.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing the feedback of your experience with us. We are glad to know that you had a good tour, thanks to our guides and their hard work. We are sincerely sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during the lunch, regarding the service you received at the restaurant. Furthermore, we always do our best in finding the best place for our customers, in order for them to enjoy their time there. Thank you for sharing with us all the issues disturbing you, we will take note of your recommendation and do our best in improving our service. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in order to give you a better experience and make you enjoy the tour more, hoping we will get a full star rate next time. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Skip the wine tour and Monteriggioni and go straight to Siena and San Gimignano
Angela_M, Oct 2023
The wine tour wasn’t great with 3 wine tastings and the snack was a small cube of stale bread dipped in olive oil. Siena and San Gimignano are great and the tour guide in Siena was lovely and knowledgeable. My description said we get a picnic lunch but the tour operator said they’ve never offered this so some disconnect between viator and go Italy. I raised it with viator and was told we didn’t book the picnic lunch yet in my full description of activities it states the lunch. Everything else on the activity schedule was provided aside from that. Be prepared to hear everything on the bus repeated in 4 languages.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to know that you aren't satisfied from this tour. We regret the disappointment you felt regarding the wine tour portion. Furthermore, we understand that the wine tastings and the provided snack did not meet your expectations. We also apologize for the confusion concerning the picnic lunch. The activity includes only the lunch and the wine tasting, no picnic is included in it. Regarding the multilingual commentary on the bus, we understand that it can be boring for you or some other customers, but is a must, as the tour is multilingual and there are customers from many different countries. We truly appreciate your feedback as it helps us enhance our services. Hope to have you again in the near future in our other tours, in order to show you our service improvement and give you a more enjoyable experience, hoping we will get a full star rate next time. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Excellent tour, highly recommend!
Angela_P, Oct 2023
I highly recommend this full day, especially with our two wonderful guides Marco and Julia. They were lots of fun, patient and super knowledgeable. You could tell they are genuinely proud of these locations. The pace was perfect and it didn't feel rush at all but be ready to walk up and down a lot (blame it on the Etruscans, like Marco explained to us). Keep in mind that getting to the pickup place does involve using public transportation. Very clear instructions though. Highly recommended tour! Angela and David
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to know that you had a good time and enjoyed the tour. Thank you for recommending the tour to other customers, too. It is also written on the description in our site that this tour includes a big amount of walking in difficult level. Glad that you liked our guides and that every detail of the tour seemed perfect to you. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future, in order to give you more good experiences like this one. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Great Value!
Vincent_B, Oct 2023
The value is amazing. You get a lot of time in the cities and the wine tasting was great along with Marco!
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Glad to know that you had an amazing experience and had a good time with our guide, Marco. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Tuscany Wine Tour with my Love
Andy_R, Oct 2023
This tour was fabulous and beautiful. Marco, our tour guide was very informative, hilarious and kind. He even guided us on our Tram ride back to Florence. Highly recommend!
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing the feedback with us. Glad to know that you enjoyed the tour. Thank you for the good words for our guide, Marco. He is really one of the best employees on our staff. Appreciate you recommending this tour to other customers too. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Tuscany Day
Ronna_E, Oct 2023
Great trip! Staff was very helpful and kind and knowledgeable. Wine tasting was the only slightly disappointing part - same glass provided for 3 different wines. Countryside was stunning and we loved Sienna ( would have liked another hour there ) and San Gimignano ( another hour as well ). Be prepared for a lot of walking and a loooong day but well worth it all.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad that you had a great trip and enjoyed every part of it. As per the walking it is also written on the tour's description on our site, that a big amount of walk is included on this tour, so the customers. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future in order to give you more experiences like this one. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Beautiful views touching the best Tuscany has to offer
Christie_F, Aug 2023
Wonderful day. Siena tour guide was pleasant. I would suggest skipping the pre fixed lunch, food was just ok and took too much time from the visit. Also Lorenzo winery was beautiful with stunning views but the tasting was just ok.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Happy to know that you had a good experience and liked the tour. We will take note of your suggestion, thank you for that. Hope to see you again in our tours in the future, to show you our service improvements, hoping we will get a full star rate by making our customers happy. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Very good day tour
Helen_E, Aug 2023
Some other reviews mentioned there was a lot of walking, but I didnt think it was too bad - it isnt always possible to be dropped at the door, and then you walk around the town anyway, so the walking is ok. We spent the right amount of time at each location. It would have been nice to be able to take a pic of Monteriggioni from the outside where it is possible to see all of the towers. The tour guide was excellent, running the tour in English and Spanish. A full day but the bus ride between locations, and the ice cream, gives you a chance to rest and recharge.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your feedback. We appreciate all the good words,and the explanation of your experience; very happy to know that our customers enjoy the tour. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the future, in order to give you more experiences like this. Our customers are our priority and it is our pleasure to make them happy, and give them an exellent experience. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
No flexibility, high risk for covid
Leila_E, Aug 2023
The night before the trip, I started to feel sick, I called Viator to try to cancel this activity and get a refund. They kept repeating the 24 hour cancellation policy over and over again. They didn’t really care if a person with Covid goes to that activity and make 50 people sick. I did not get a refund and on top of that they offered to cancel the trip without a refund for us to be able probably to book others ! I had also booked another activity through Viator that I couldn’t go due to a storm and no ferry availability. Same thing repeating the 24 hour policy and no accommodation. It is very disappointing. I won’t use Viator for my tours again.
Disappointing Day Trip to Tuscany
Marie_A, Jul 2023
We enjoyed our time in Siena and Gimignano. The tour guide in Siena was knowledgeable. The Monteriggioni Castle was a waste of time. It was late in the afternoon when we arrived there and it was really hot. There was not much to see or do there at all. The wine tour was good. We saw the cellar, learned how to properly sample wine, and we sampled three out of seven their wines. Our tour guide was not good at all. She acted like a facilitator who just accompanied us from place to place. She did not make an effort to engage with the tour guests at all. She spent more time chatting with the bus driver and the lady she was training to be a tour guide. She expressed no passion in being a tour guide nor in the places we visited. She did the bare minimum and it felt like she was just going through the motions with no excitement at all. We finished our day feeling disappointed in this tour company.
Excellent lunch and bus narrative
Don_C, Jul 2023
Although this tour was cancelled, we were offered a “like” tour. All needed transfer communication was proper and supportive, to make this tour equivalent. The rendezvous point would have been clearer if you would have published the bus would be parked behind the T1 tram ending point and that there was a restaurant and rest rooms available, both being important for an early morning tour. The winery was an excellent highlight for this new tour, both tasting and lunch. Cutting people loose was inconceivable without knowing how to return to the rendezvous point. The tour guide in Siena disappointingly limited the converging historical forces to feuding families and horse racing. The bus air conditioning was inadequate.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that you were not as much satisfied from this trip. Sorry for the innconvience, but since this tour was cancelled, we wanted to give you another option to take part in " Siena, San Gimignano & Monteriggioni Wine Tour ". We do not publish where the bus is parked, as our customers have to meet up with the guide first at the meeting point and then , the guide wil lead them to the bus. Happy to hear that you have liked the winery and the lunch. Winery is the result of searching for the best place, for our customers, in order so they can have an enjoyable time there. As per the part that you have said we cutted people loose, that was just the free time that we give our customers to have to each destination, in order so they can have a self-guided tour there. After that the customers always meet up with the guide in the same meeting point as before. We are sorry for the air conditioning on the bus, but that day we had proble,s with that and that's why all this occured. We assure to our customers improving our service, in order so we can give them a better experience for the next time. Thank you for your understanding. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Fabulous trip, highly recommend. Well organised and some really great places to see and enjoy.
Vanessa_J, Jul 2023
This trip was one of the best things/most memorable we did, it was so enjoyable. We were only a small group of 8 which was lovely. Very well organised with the meeting point/arrival etc. Jonny, our driver was fairly new at the job but he was great and really friendly. First stop at Monteriggioni was lovely, so picturesque and quaint. We had a chance to grab a coffee and wander. Siena was gorgeous and our favourite stop. We had plenty of time to ourselves to explore, have some lunch and an aperol sprtitz or two, and we opted (of our own accord) to go up the main tower in the piazza for the most amazing views!! It was a challenge to get up there but was so worth it. Onto the Chianti wine tasting after. Another picture postcard location. The tour was really informative and it was fab to see and learn all the various wine making stages. Wine was lovely and we bought a couple of bottles (under no pressure or obligation at all). Then our last stop was San Gimignano. Sadly it had started to rain, heavily, and we had to dash between shops to keep dry. But it was another beautiful part of Tuscany to see and explore. A shame it was so wet as we would have loved to explore more like we did in Siena, but we chose to not stay for too long here as it was hammering down. Some people on our minibus weren't happy we didn't stay longer but we had almost an hour there and the weather wasn't improving so we voted to give in and head back. There was no real benefit to staying as you couldn't even sit and relax with a coffee or ice-cream outdoors with the heavy rain. No one's fault at all. But overall, a really great trip, with lots of photo opportunities to capture memories of a fabulous day!
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear customer, Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us. We are glad to know that you are appreciating the time you had during the tour. and the guide's hardworking. Our customer's satisfaction is our goal and priority and we look forward to having you back on our tours everywhere in Italy so we can have the possibility to leave another good impression on you. We are sorry for the weather condition, as you said that was something we could not predict. Thank you for your understanding. Best regards, My Tour In Italy team.
Great Day Out
Robert_K, Jun 2023
The well informed and happy staff. "Manni" was a great help at all times for all questions. The tour was not drawn out and we had enough free time to look around.
A day in Tuscany.
Ken_R, Jun 2023
Extremely well organised and enjoyed it all. The tour leader was great as was the destinations. Wine tasting was great and seeing the sights was excellent.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour. It's one of our priorities to make customers happy. As for the wine tasting, we always try the best in choosing the wineries, in order that our customers can have a good wine tasting. We see forward to looking you in another tour of ours. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Great trip with too much crammed into a day
Maribel_R, Jun 2023
We loved Siena and enjoyed our guide’s superb description of the different communities in Siena. The stop at Monteriggione was too short to enjoy much (45 min.). The visit to San Gimignano was an on-your-own stop not involving our guide. Likewise was the stop at the winery. Our guide was excellent as far as it went but she really wasn’t called upon to do much more than herd cats, with the exception of Siena, where she was an excellent tour guide.
A dream come true!
Alessandra_K, Jun 2023
The countryside is beautiful, as well as the cities that we wisited. The guides provided good information and were very kind and helpful.
History and Panorama were excellent
Kathleen_H, Jun 2023
The day was long but the guide and driver gave excellent service. The hostess at the winery spoke so fast that you couldn’t understand her. More time at San Gimignano would of been welcomed
Outstanding Trip
Ann_O, Jun 2023
What an outstanding day out, the coach trip was very comfortable, the scenery was amazing and every location we visited was packed with interesting and historic features. We especially loved San Gimignano. Gloria was our guide and I couldn't recommend her highly enough. Thank you for making our day out one of the highlights of our trip to Europe.
...

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
From Florence: San Gimignano, Siena, and Chianti wine Tour

746

11 hours 15 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$65.07

Explore Similar Things to Do