Boston

Martha's Vineyard Daytrip from Boston with Round-Trip Ferry & Island Tour Option

Badge of ExcellenceBoston, USA
Likely to Sell Out

From $119.00

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 12 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Join Boston's only award-winning, original, Martha's Vineyard Day Trip! Leave the trouble of driving to someone else and enjoy a day trip to Martha’s Vineyard from Boston. Then, take a short cruise to Martha's Vineyard then enjoy free time to explore or upgrade to add an island tour. Complimentary snacks, bottled water, island guidebooks and a discount card with island perks are provided during the drive.
  • Hassle-free ride from Boston to Cape Cod aboard air-conditioned Mini Coach Bus
  • Panoramic ocean views on a cruise between Cape Cod and Martha's Vineyard
  • Spend hours exploring Martha's Vineyard at your leisure - beaches, shopping, and dining available.
  • Narrated Island Tour upgrade available with stops in Edgartown and Gay Head Cliffs

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Explore the island at your own pace while someone else handles bus and ferry transport—or upgrade to a guided group tour.

What's Included

  • Boston to Martha's Vineyard Day-Trip Excursion
  • Round-Trip Transportation on our Air-Conditioned 24 passenger Mini-Coach Bus
  • Hotel Pick-Up/Drop-Off included at select Boston hotels
  • 3-Hour Narrated Martha's Vineyard 44 passenger Island Bus Tour (option available at checkout)
  • 50-minute stop to explore downtown Edgartown at your leisure (Island Tour upgrade)
  • 15-minute stop to view the Gay Head Cliffs in Aquinnah (Island Tour option)
  • See all 6 Martha's Vineyard Towns during your island tour including Vineyard Haven & Aquinnah
  • Drive through charming downtown Falmouth and along the Cape Cod Canal on the way to the ferry
  • Scenic 35-45 min ferry cruise from Cape Cod to Oak Bluffs or Vineyard Haven (based on travel date)
  • Complimentary Bottled Water, Snacks and Island Guidebooks
  • Narration during Mini Coach Bus Ride
  • 5.5 to 6 hours total time on the island (depending upon time of year)
  • Gratuities
  • Lunch (dining options available on Martha's Vineyard)

Meeting and Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Boston Marriott Long Wharf
    296 State St, Boston, MA 02109, USA

    *For those who do not require hotel pick-up, please meet at the  Marriott Long Wharf Hotel main entrance (must be confirmed as your pickup location). Boston Marriott Long Wharf, 296 State St, Boston, MA 02109, USA

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

06:15 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Departure Point: Provided Boston Hotel Pick-Up Locations: AKA Back Bay Hotel, Boston Harbor Hotel, Colonnade, Dagny Hotel, DoubleTree by Hilton Boston (Washington Street), Fairmont Copley Plaza, Hilton Back Bay, Hyatt Regency Boston, Intercontinental Hotel, Marriott Copley, Marriott Long Wharf, Millennium Bostonian Hotel, Omni Parker House, Park Plaza Hotel, Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel, Revere Hotel, Seaport Hotel, Sheraton Boston Hotel, W Hotel, Westin Boston Waterfront *For those who do not require hotel pick-up, please meet at the  Marriott Long Wharf Hotel main entrance (must be confirmed as your pickup location)

What To Expect

Begin with hotel pickup followed by relaxing drive by mini-coach from Boston to Falmouth, MA. Water and a morning snack and light commentary is provided on the trip.

Upon arrival in Falmouth, it’s off to the Island Queen Dock to board the ferry (ticket included) to Martha’s Vineyard. Enjoy a brief mini-cruise across Vineyard Sound to the island destination, Martha's Vineyard. From there, each passenger has ample time to explore Martha's Vineyard at their leisure.

For an introduction to the island, an optional tour is available. Visit the Gay Head Light, an iconic island lighthouse in Aquinnah. Travel through the beautiful historic village of Edgartown and learn about the area’s history from a guide.  After the tour, you have free time to continue to explore the island on our own.

Board the ferry for an afternoon departure and leisurely cruise back to Falmouth, where a return shuttle awaits to complete this great island experience. Water and a light snack is provided on the trip back to Boston and your designated hotel.

Downtown

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Cape Cod Canal (Pass By)

Falmouth (Pass By)

Island Queen

35 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Nantucket Sound

35 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Oak Bluffs

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Martha's Vineyard Camp meeting Association (MVCMA)

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Flying Horses Carousel

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Edgartown

50 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Gay Head Light (Aquinnah Light)

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Nobska Point Lighthouse

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Steamship Authority Ferry Docks, Woods Hole

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Provided Boston Hotel Pick-Up Locations: AKA Back Bay Hotel, Boston Harbor Hotel (MUST BE A HOTEL GUEST), Colonnade, Dagny Hotel, DoubleTree by Hilton Boston (Washington Street), Fairmont Copley Plaza, Hilton Back Bay, Hyatt Regency Avenue de Lafayette, Intercontinental Boston, Marriott Copley, Marriott Long Wharf, Millennium Bostonian Hotel, Omni Parker House, Park Plaza Hotel, Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel, Revere Hotel, Seaport Hotel, Sheraton Boston Hotel, W Hotel, Westin Boston Waterfront
  • Please note: PICKUPS ARE ONLY PROVIDED AT HOTELS THAT ARE ON THE LIST.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Malikah_D
Our tour guide Laurent was outstanding. He was very knowledgeable about Boston and Cape Cod. We learned a lot about the area. Martha's Vineyard was beautiful. The people were amazing, the food was delicious. We all had a wonderful time and are even discussing when we will go again.

Reviews

4.5
2,152 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 2,152 reviews
Outstanding Tour
Robert_S, Apr 2024
Outstanding tour guide. Born , raised, and lived on the island. Knows all the history and scuttle butt.
Wonderful day trip from Boston.
Stephanie_O, Apr 2024
BART was wonderful! He drove the bus and was very punctual, knowledgeable and friendly. Wishing we had done the tour as well but we’ll do it next time!
Our driver Jennifer was fun lively and entertaining.
LuisR_O, Apr 2024
Being there for the first time and experiencing the history was fun. All the landscape shops along with the restaurants were a treat.
Wonderful
Asdis_S, Nov 2023
We had the most enjoyable guide, Matt, a hometown boy....knew every inch of this island, extremely interesting and enjoyable in every way.
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Thank you for this WONDERFUL 5 Star review of our Martha's Vineyard Day trip from Boston. I'm very happy to hear how much that you enjoyed Matt's tour and your day on the island. Thanks for sharing your experience. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
So glad we went!
Angela_T, Nov 2023
Our driver was awesome! Beautiful ! I want to go back!! The ferry ride was good as well! Would love to go back in the summer!
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Thank you for this AWESOME 5 Star review of our Martha's Vineyard Day trip from Boston. I am glad that you enjoyed your day and your driver. I love the ferry ride myself. Martha's Vineyard can be fun during any season, but there's nothing like the summer on the island! You'll just need to come back! Thanks for sharing your experience. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
Poor organization
Hon_C, Oct 2023
It was a fiasco ! They dropped us off at the pier. Then, a small ferry came and we could not get onto the ferry. We had to wait for another 1 hour 15 min before another ferry came. Luckily, the weather was good. Otherwise, we had to stand in the rain or snow waiting ! No one reached us to help us immediately. I had to scramble to “chat” on website for a long time before finally some one called us. There was a lot of anxiety and uncertainty. The ferry trip back is the same. Despite the last experience, no one warned us to start lining up early and some tour companions missed the ferry again. Then, on arrival, they have to scramble on a plan to deliver guests back to their hotel.
Response from Host, Nov 2023
First of all Hon, let it be known that you threatened me with a bad review if I did not refund your money, which I declined to do. That being said, of course you have to try to make us look as bad as possible. Here's what really happened: For the first time in 13 years the ferry service replaced the large boat that they always use for a much smaller one that could not accommodate nearly the same amount of guests. This was done with zero notice, so of course it took us alittle time to figure out the solution for our 80+ guests. The only thing we could do was have our guests wait the hour and 15 minutes for the next ferry. In the meantime we arranged for our island tour partners to wait until the next ferry arrived to begin the 3 hour tour. (Of course our chat wasn't instantaneous because there were alot of guests calling, texting and emailing. You weren't the only one.) The 345 pm return ferry was again replaced with smaller boats. Some guests came back on the 230pm ferry, while most arrived on the 345. Only 3 guests failed to arrive on time. As guests returned we filled buses and sent them on their way. Guests weren't all necessarily on the same buses that they drove to the ferry in because that was the best way to accommodate everyone. About your refund, it clearly states on our website that we do not refund for circumstances that are beyond our control.. If no one made it to the island at all, of course we would refund the trip. That wasn't the case. 1. EVERYONE MADE IT TO THE ISLAND 2.EVERYONE THAT PURCHASED THE 3 HOUR TOUR RECEIVED IT. 3. EVERYONE RECEIVED THEIR RETURN BUS TRIP BACK TO BOSTON. I'm sorry that the day did not go as planned for any of us. Things sometimes happen unexpectedly and you just have to make the most of it. I feel that's what the majority of our guests did. ( I've spoken to a few and their sentiment was not the same as yours). The way that we handled this very difficult situation should be commended and not criticized. Like I stated in our text back and forth, I hope writing this bad review made you feel better about the situation and it didn't change my mind about your refund or lack thereof. Sincerely, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
Fun little trip
William_H, Oct 2023
I really enjoyed the drivers we had (Elaine and Jovian), as well as the locations we got to visit on foot when stopped.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thank you for your 5 Star review of Boston's ORIGINAL Martha's Vineyard Day trip. I am very happy to hear how much that you enjoyed your time with both Elaine and Jovian. I appreciate you sharing your island experience. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
We enjoyed every minute of our trip. I will recommend this to my friends.
Nellie_C, Oct 2023
We really enjoyed Martha's Vineyard , including the Island Tour. I will recommend this to my friends.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thank you for this wonderful 5 Star review of our Martha's Vineyard Day trip from Boston. I am glad that you enjoyed your day along with your island tour. Your RECOMMENDATION is sincerely appreciated. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
Long but nice day
Barbara_Q, Oct 2023
The cliffs were beautiful. And although the town had a lot of things closed we enjoyed that it wasn't packed with people. Tom was also very knowledgable.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thank you for your 4 Star review of our Martha's Vineyard Day trip from Boston. The Cliffs are a sight to behold and one of the things that make the island such a special place. I'm glad that you enjoyed your day and Tom's tour. Thanks for sharing. Sincerely, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
Martha's Vineyard Favorites
Arlette_G, Oct 2023
The Gingerbread cottages were a very unique experience and the owners who were around in late October were very friendly
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thank you for your 4 Star review of our Martha's Vineyard Day trip from Boston. I am glad that you enjoyed your day and appreciate you sharing your experience. It's hard not to love those cottages! Thanks for joining us. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
Not enough to enjoy or see at the end of the season
Teresa_J, Oct 2023
It was really too late in the season for this tour. The whole town was closed, which forced me to have to add another $120 to my cost just to have something to do for the day. Anthony spoke too much about obscure things. Not enough substance while driving around. You can't see anything from the road. It was a bit disappointing, and now that I've been to Martha's Vineyard, I don't understand all the hoopla.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thank you for your review. Martha's Vineyard is a New England summer vacation destination. This doesn't deter the vast majority of our guests from taking our trip and having a wonderful day. (Just read the recent reviews) You certainly weren't forced to take Anthony's tour which is a tour that most people thoroughly enjoy. Perhaps a bit of research on your part would have proven beneficial in finding a way to spend your day. I appreciate your feedback. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
Highly Recommended Excursion
Ross_S, Oct 2023
The bus ride from Boston to the ferry was enjoyable. Coach was a great driver and informative/entertaining, so we were glad to be on his bus. We really enjoyed all of Tom's knowledge on the island bus tour and all of the stops. Highly recommend this excursion, especially if in Boston without a car.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thank you for your GREAT 5 Star review of our Martha's Vineyard Day trip from Boston. I am glad that you enjoyed both your time with Coach and Tom's island tour. Your HIGH RECOMMENDATION is sincerely appreciated. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
Giant group enjoyed their trip!
Stephanie_B, Oct 2023
Jenny and Anthony were both amazing tour guides! It was a very smooth, well planned experience. We absolutely recommend it!
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thank you for your AMAZING 5 Star review of our Martha's Vineyard Day trip from Boston. I am happy that your group enjoyed their time with both Jenny and Anthony. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Thanks for the RECOMMENDATION! Sincerely, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
Very long, but enjoyable day.
Ileen_S, Oct 2023
The bus tour through Martha’s Vineyard with Tom was very informative and interesting. As we were at the end of the season, many businesses were already closed. Elaine did a great job getting us to the dock for our short boat ride to the island, and back again to our hotel.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thank you for this GREAT 5 Star review of our Martha's Vineyard Day trip from Boston. I'm glad that you enjoyed your day on the island and your time with both Tom and Elaine. Thank you for sharing your experience. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
Excellent day tour
Anny_R, Oct 2023
Wonderful day tour. Jennifer and Tom were excellent. My only suggestion is for the rest stop to stop at a local coffee shop/bakery instead of McDonald's or dunking donuts. It would be so much nicer
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thank you this EXCELLENT 5 Star review of our Martha's Vineyard Day trip from Boston. I am glad that you had a wonderful day and enjoyed your time with both Jennifer and Tom. Unfortunately, we need to stop at a public rest area as it is a coffee/restroom break. We can't just pull up to a local bakery with 24 guests and ask to use the restroom. Thanks for sharing your experience. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
Unfortunately, what...
Sergio_P, Oct 2023
Unfortunately, what sticks in our minds is the speed in which the tour was given, leaving us very little time to enjoy it. Everything was rushed. Not what I was expecting.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
I'm sorry if you did not enjoy the tour nearly as much as most of our guests do. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
Un organized. Ferry schedule issues and then bus unorganized. Our original driver left our group abd we had to pack in
Ashley_B, Oct 2023
Pretty views. We didn't have time to enjoy the enture island. Anything that could go wrong did. Very disappointing
Response from Host, Oct 2023
The ferry service cancelled the large ferry without any notice to us and most in our group were forced to take the next one. We certainly ARE NOT UNORGANIZED AND I TAKE OFFENSE TO THAT COMMENT. This is the first time that we've had a problem like this in 13 years and we were able to make the best of a bad situation. We were actually very organized for being put in that position and handling over 80 guests. You received your bus transfer back to Boston. Your comments seem to imply that you didn't. Who said you had a specific driver? You had a different driver on the way back because that was the best way to get our 80+ guests back to Boston. Sorry if it wasn't all about what was best for you. Here are important facts that you chose not to mention because it doesn't fit your complaint. 1. EVERY GUEST MADE IT TO THE ISLAND. 2. EVERY GUEST THAT PURCHASED THE 3 HOUR TOUR HAD THEIR 3 HOUR TOUR. 3. EVERY GUEST WAS RETURNED TO BOSTON BY A NEW ENGLAND TRIPS BUS 4. THINGS AREN'T ALWAYS PERFECT! The way in which we handled this very difficult situation should be commended and NOT criticized. Sincerely, Stephen. M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
Absolutely wonderful experience!
Sheena_A, Oct 2023
This Martha’s Vineyard experience was amazing!! And it wasn’t just the beautiful island! From the coach driven by Jenny, the one of the funniest women alive, who entertained us all the way to the ferry (and back) and had the entire bus in stitches from laughter while giving us a tour along the way, to the coolest and most informative tour I think I’ve ever had, we could not have asked for a better experience. Tom who led the tour on the island gave us so many details and unknown tidbits about the island that you wouldn’t even believe it if I told you, but he had images all around the bus to prove it and with every stop he showed us in-depth this miraculously beautiful island. I have traveled the world and I have never had such detail in a tour and with such a level of diversity in the plethora of information. Oh and Tom was funny too! The ferry ride over was fabulous and the locals are very friendly! We couldn’t have had a better experience for my mom’s 71st birthday! Thank you!
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thank you for this ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL 5 Star review of Boston's ORIGINAL Martha's Vineyard Day trip. I am so happy to hear that you had such an amazing experience with us. Not enough can be said about the great work that Jenny and Tom do. We are in the business of trying to give our guests a wonderful day outside of the city, and it always feels good when that comes to fruition and our guests acknowledge it. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. WISHING YOUR MOM A VERY HAPPY 71ST BIRTHDAY FROM NEW ENGLAND TRIPS!! Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
Worth the trip!
sharpeta6, Oct 2023
We had so much fun learning about the island! We came just a week or two after season was over which we liked-no crowds, all shops had major discounts. If the traffic would be as bad as they said it can get, I think it really wouldve put a damper on our experience. Doing the whole island tour made it so we were on a bus the majority of the day, so just keep that in mind. There were about 2-3 hours to explore Tisbury before heading back on the ferry. Jennifer and Tom were absolutely amazing guides and really made it a memorable experience!
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thank you for this AMAZING 5 Star review of our Martha's Vineyard Day trip from Boston. I am very happy to hear what a fun day that you had and how much that you enjoyed both Jennifer and Tom. They are both great at what they do! Coming late in the season does have it's benefits. Thank you for sharing your memorable experience! Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
Learned a lot
Jane_N, Oct 2023
I learned so much about Cape Cod on our tour—Tom, the guide, is a treasure. He’s a native of the island, steeped in its history since the area was acquired from the Indians. He has the accent and a curmudgeonly humor I really appreciated. We had wonderful weather and thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Props also to our driver, who negotiated harrowing traffic with aplomb and competence. ! Strongly recommend
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thank you for your WONDERFUL 5 Star review of our Martha's Vineyard Day trip from Boston. I am very happy to hear how much that you enjoyed Tom's tour and your day on the island. Our drivers are all true professionals and if there's a shortcut to be had they'll find it! Your STRONG RECOMMENDATION is sincerely appreciated. Kind Regards, Stephen M. Belcastro President New England Trips Inc.
...

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Martha's Vineyard Daytrip from Boston with Round-Trip Ferry & Island Tour Option

2,151

12 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$119.00
No Photo
Full Day Guided Tour of Martha's Vineyard from Boston

0

9 to 12 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$173.00

Explore Similar Things to Do