Las Vegas

Hoover Dam Exploration Tour from Las Vegas

Badge of ExcellenceLas Vegas, USA
Hoover Dam Exploration Tour from Las Vegas
  • 5 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Explore Hoover Dam and view the man-made wonder from the Mike O'Callaghan–Pat Tillman Memorial Bridge, which spans 900 feet (274 meters) above the Colorado River. An optional Power Plant tour with a ranger offers an insider’s view of this National Historic Landmark. Travel by air-conditioned vehicle from Las Vegas with a small group capped at 15 to keep it intimate.
  • Tour Hoover Dam with a ranger guide at the National Historical Landmark
  • See the generator room, turbines, and underground tunnels of Hoover Dam
  • Memorial Bridge lets you view the Colorado River from high above
  • Round-trip transport from select Las Vegas hotels and admission fee included

What's Included

  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Admission to Hoover Dam Visitor Center & Generator Room
  • Restroom on board
  • WiFi on board
  • Gratuities

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • Treasure Island - TI Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, a Radisson Hotel
    3300 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109, USA

    Guests will be picked up at Treasure Island Tour Bus Pickup Area just outside and to the right of the Front Desk Reception.

Start time

10:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 54 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more


201 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 201 reviews
Excellent experience
Anthony_J, May 2024
The tour guide James, the sights, the stories, the temperature, the sun and the views were all of interesting notes for me.
Response from Host, May 2024
We are pleased to hear you had a great tour!
Tour cancelled. Can’t get the refund.
Kate_D, May 2024
Tour was cancelled as the bus broke down. Fine. *Stuff* happens. But trying to get the trip refunded has been terrible. Tour company won’t refund because we booked through Viator. Viator won’t refund because they need to confirm with the tour operator. Terrible service.
Response from Host, May 2024
Rest assured. If the tour was cancelled the refund does take a little time, but you will get it. We apologize that the tour was cancelled.
Hope Louis is your Guide!
Sue_R, Apr 2024
Louis was a fabulous tour guide and bus driver! He made some modifications in what we did when to maximize our experience.
Response from Host, May 2024
I can see that you had a great time on the tour with Louis. I'm glad to hear that it was fabulous! Thank you for traveling with National Park Express.
Says wheelchair accessible but was not
Gerard_P, Apr 2024
I was unable to go on this tour as the tour operator did not have an ADA bus. Viator advised me two alternative tours but they were with the same operator. (It said wheelchair accessible but that meant being able to go up the steps on the bus. It did not allow for full time wheelchair users). I booked the tour 2 months ago but they waiting until 2 days prior before telling me I could not go.
Response from Host, Apr 2024
We are sorry for the situation. Since we have limited vehicles with ADA capabilities, we do need advance notice to know if a vehicle is available for a particular tour. We do our best to accommodate the needs of our guests and do need specific details to be able to meet these needs. It would be best to call us directly to let our team know of the details and requirements.
chad_j, Mar 2024
We had a beautiful time ,walked alot took alot of pitures . Very windy I was not expecting that. The driver / tour guide James was the best I've ever had ,funny witty ,felt like I knew him for years . The only bad thing I wanted to tip him but I don't carry cash I with I could cashapp or pay on the sit .he really deserves it
Response from Host, Apr 2024
Thank you so much for joining our tour. We are glad you had a great experience! If you contact us directly, we can make that tip happen.
Eric_B, Mar 2024
Though Ronnie was a friendly host, he did not allow enough time for us to experience the generator room tour at Hoover Dam. Compounding the frustration, all of us in this circumstance, waited for his return with the bus for a period of time, long enough to have actually enjoyed the generator room tour. On top of that, we spent another 30 minutes waiting for rafters. so, in the end, there was plenty of time for us to have taken the full tour, but we did not get it.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you for leaving a review! We do apologize that the timing did not allow enough time for the entirety of the Hoover Dam tour. If you reach out to us directly, we would be happy to assist you further. Thanks for joining our tour. Safe travels!
Expectations for timing not met
Annette_H, Feb 2024
The dam is fascinating and an amazing engineering feat. It was great to leave the strip for the day and get outside in nature. But unfortunately expectations were not met as far as timing. Left 20 minutes late waiting for someone. Guide/driver went to interstate which was closed so we had to backtrack and go down the strip. Shouldn’t he have known an interstate was closed all weekend for construction. Lost time there. Coming back already late he states he’s stopping at two hotels before getting back to the original pick up and drop off. This added another 45 minutes to a tour that was already 45 minutes long. He can’t help traffic, but the additional stops were not disclosed. And ending a 5 hour tour after 6.5 hours is unacceptable. Ultimately we literally got off the bus in the middle of the road in standstill traffic and choose to walk back.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
We are very sorry to hear that traffic delays made for a frustrating trip flow. This occasionally happens, especially during Super Bowl time, and we are sorry that it had made your day less enjoyable. Glad you could still enjoy the dam and getting away from the city for a bit.
Carlitos tour of Vegas , desert and Hoover Dam
Kevin_M, Feb 2024
Carlitos commentary. Scenery, weather, timing all good. The day was a good way to unwind from the madness of Las Vegas. Pleasant journey and made better by the insights of a wonderful and fun tour guide. Worth it just to listen to his mimicking the mafia!!!! Also excellent detail on the history of Las Vegas and route to Hoover Dam
Response from Host, Mar 2024
This is wonderful to hear! We are lucky to have Carlitos on our team and we're so glad he made your experience so great. Thank you for your review and for choosing National Park Express. Safe travels!
Bus was late 45 minutes...
Jonathan_C, Jan 2024
Bus was late 45 minutes and guide rushed us during the different spots of the tour. Did not have time enough to explore around Hoover Dam and Boulder City, as the schedule promised
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you for your feedback! This is something we will look into and better plan for in the future. We hope your time seeing the Hoover Dam was still enjoyed. Thank you for choosing National Park Express, and if you have any further comments or questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.
Must see!
nlb20012002, Nov 2023
Very knowledgeable tour guy and great tour! I enjoyed every bit of the tour! This tour allowed me to do and see just enough and just what I wanted to see.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
So glad you could join us! Thank you.
Fun and punctual
Geneva_S, Nov 2023
Tony was humorous and entertaining to tour with. Great personality on that guy. Loved that the tour included mini stops to the lake view and the overlook bridge. Everything was on time and there were no deviations from schedule which was greatly appreciated.
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Thank you so much!
Relaxed trip with good stops and great value.
Owen_W, Oct 2023
Nice relaxed trip, good guide, nice clean and comfortable bus, good value. The Hoover Dam tour itself was excellent, stop for photos at the new bridge and also at a Lake Mead viewpoint, then a quick lunch/ice cream stop in Boulder, and a quick drive back to Vegas. If I had to change anything I'd like an extra 20-30 minutes free time at the Dam to perhaps walk across it, but that's only minor. I would definitely recommend this trip and the company itself were professional and polite, with update the night before by Whatsapp and email.
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Thank you so much for joining us!
Hoover dam
Laila, Mar 2020
Our driver Ronnie was great. Good tour. Nice highlights. Just long enough didn’t take up pour entire day
Response from Host, Mar 2020
Thank you so much for your 5-Star review of the Hoover Dam Tour. We will pass along your excellent comments to Ronnie as well. We hope to have you travel with National Park Express to another destination in the future.
Transportation and Tickets
Brynn_B, Mar 2020
Maybe if I hadn’t been on so many incredible Viator tours I’d give a higher rating. Having someone drive and provide tickets made the Hoover Dam tip more convenient however there is No ‘tour’ part, our driver was pleasant and efficient but gave up no interesting information along the way or explained the dam Historically, you find that out for yourself at the Information Center. I usually walk away from Viator tours so happy from all the info shared from passionate historians that lead the tours but this one is a bus ride there and a ticket to the Information Center, the rest is up to you
Response from Host, Mar 2020
Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are glad it was convenient, but we are surprised about the lack of information from our guide. Our guides as well as supplemental video presentations give very good history and current details. Please contact us directly to give us more details to look into and make sure that you actually traveled with our company, as there are other tour options as well. Thank you.
Tour description is not accurate
James_H, Mar 2020
The tour description doesn’t make it clear that a trip inside the dam is NOT included. That is also not explained by the guide. Be careful. We made the mistake of taking a look around outside, and then we were told that we only had access to the visitor center. By this time there was not enough time left before the bus was scheduled to leave to take the one hour tour upgrade and go inside. That was very disappointing, especially when we then spent another hour+ stopping at a lookout point behind the dam, then again at the bridge and then again at the Hoover dam lodge (where there is nothing to say except a gift shop). Don’t make our mistake. Go straight to the visitor center and upgrade to go inside. The tour description is not clear, and may cost you a valuable experience.
Response from Host, Mar 2020
Thank you for your review. We are sorry for the confusion about the tour inside the dam. We have just changed our Hoover Dam Exploration to include the interior tour for all of our guests, providing that the Bureau of Reclamation is running the tours on the day--some days the elevators are not operating. We strive to make the best tours possible, and continue to adjust and improve however we can.
Joseg_P, Mar 2020
Great service guys and view amazing all I like it Great place Nice views for pictures I did enjoy Thanks
Response from Host, Mar 2020
Thank you for your review of the Hoover Dam Tour. We are very happy that you could enjoy this amazing experience. Glad you could get some good pictures. We appreciate your booking our Hoover Dam Exploration Tour and hope to have you travel with us again to another destination such as Zion, Bryce or Antelope Canyon.
Jonathan was a great tour guide, funny, polite and on time.
Mary_S, Feb 2020
Great tour and tour guide. Good Cafe for a sandwich, burger, etc...water and snacks provided and just the right amount of time at each stop. The videos during the trip were informative and helped pass the travel time
Response from Host, Mar 2020
We are so happy that you could enjoy your Hoover Dam Tour with us. Thank you for your feedback and excellent comments. We hope you can visit another destination with National Park Express soon.
Bus driver!!! AAA+!!!!
Ronald_P, Feb 2020
Great tour. Seen lots and learned a lot from the bus driver!!!! Would definitely recommend the Power Station tour also.
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Thank you so much for your great review of our Hoover Dam Tour, and our driver. We appreciate your business and hope to serve you again to another destination.
Definitely recommend
Megan_G, Feb 2020
Our tour guide Jonathan was amazing! The tour gave you time to explore on your own too which we really liked.
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Thank you very much for your 5-Star review of Hoover Dam with National Park Express. We are glad you enjoyed your trip. We would love to have you travel to another destination with us in the future. Best Wishes.
Interesting and Informative
Astrid_R, Feb 2020
Comfortable bus, very nice tour guide/driver. Tours were not available that day at the site so that was disappointing
Response from Host, Feb 2020
We are so pleased you would travel with us on your Hoover Dam Tour. We have no control over the operations of The Bureau of Reclamation at Hoover Dam, and are sorry they had part of the inside tour unavailable. We hope to have you travel with us again.

From $60.00

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Hoover Dam Exploration Tour from Las Vegas


5 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Hoover Dam Highlights Tour from Las Vegas


4 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Ultimate Hoover Dam Tour from Las Vegas with Lunch


5 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do