Santorini Volcanic Islands Cruise: Volcano, Hot Springs and Thirassia

Santorini, Greece
Santorini Volcanic Islands Cruise Volcano Hot Springs and Thirassia

From $54.60

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 6 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Offered in: English


This daytime cruise provides a stress-free overview of Santorini’s natural and historic beauty, making it ideal for first-time visitors and travelers with limited time. Hop on the bus at the meeting point in your village, then join your traditional Greek caïque boat for a caldera cruise. You’ll scale Santorini Volcano (entrance at your own expense), swim in the Santorini Hot Springs, and enjoy free time on charismatic Thirasia island.
  • Stress-free Santorini caldera cruise with bus transfers from most villages
  • Visit Santorini Volcano, Santorini Hot Springs, and Thirasia
  • Enjoy live commentary from your guide—tour operates in five languages
  • Affordable choice by classic Greek caïque wooden ship

What's Included

  • Roundtrip bus transfer from a pickup point nearest to your hotel (if option selected)
  • Local guide
  • Audio commentary on the boat
  • Foam pool noodles
  • Stop at volcano, hot springs, and Thirassia island
  • Volcano entrance fees (€5 cash only)
  • Gratuities
  • Lunch
  • Cable car ticket €6€ per way

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Thira Santorini Port
    Órmos Athiniós 847 00, Greece

    Derarture from Athinios Port{New Port of Santorini} at 09:45 am {You must be at port at 09:30am}

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

09:45 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

There are pre-defined pick-up/drop-off locations, at convenient central spots in most villages. After the booking, you will be advised of a pick-up location that is closest to your hotel or most convenient for you!You are kindly requested to be on time at the designated point, as several pick locations must be covered and bus driver will not wait. Pickup times: NST Travel Agency Oia: 8:25 am, Imerovigli Bus Stop: 8:50 am,, Firostefani Central Square: 8:55 am, NST Experiences (Fira Departure point): 09:00 am, Kamari Erotokritos Cretan Bakery: 8:45 am, Perissa Meltemi Village: 8:45 am, Akrotiri Mathios Village: 9:00 am , Megalochori The Family Bakery : 09:10 am Pyrgos Restaurant :09:10 am Please make sure to be at the meeting point on time,and find your NST Bus.

What To Expect

Santorini Volcano

1 hour 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Nea Kameni

1 hour 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Palea Kameni

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free


1 hour 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved.
  • Due to uneven surfaces, this tour is not recommended for those with walking disabilities or using a wheelchair.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Irum A
The tour is excellent value for money. The tour guide spoke really good English and the tour was prompt and right on time. It was probably one of my highlights of my trip to Santorini as you get to see the other islands too whilst having a really relaxing tour ride on the boat. If there is one thing for improvement is the instructions for the changes over the course of the tour, so between the coach and the boats but otherwise it really is an excellent tour :)


311 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 311 reviews
Bad experience
Marvin_C, Oct 2023
I didn’t get to attend my tour. When I booked I paid for the tour with pick up option. I selected to be picked up at my hotel. A day before they send me a pick location which was 30 minutes away from my hotel. I tried to contact the tour company but they didn’t respond back until the day of the tour with “I’m sorry you missed you pick up time” I explain to them that I didn’t had transportation and I needed to be picked up but all they responded back was we can reschedule. I agreed to reschedule for next day and I never heard back from them.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While we appreciate your feedback, according to the description of your tour '' There are pre-defined pick-up/drop-off locations, at convenient central spots in most villages. After the booking, you will be advised of a pick-up location that is closest to your hotel or most convenient for you!''. Moreover your hotel was outside of our meeting specifications, so we had sent you the closest meeting point in prior of your tour date. Our call center works from 08:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.7 days a week, at the same time we also have an emergency whatsapp telephone number and our team is always available for your assistance. We would love to see you again in one of our experiences under better circumstances. Regards, Victor Karagiannis Tour Coordinator, Nst travel agency
Well worth it!
Russell_M, Oct 2023
Spiros our guide was the best! Funny and knowledgeable. Great way to see the volcano and hot springs.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for the amazing review! Such comments are really encouraging for all of us and help us to improve in daily basis. We hope to see you again in the near future. Regards, Victor Karagiannis Tour Coordinator, Nst travel agency
Value for money !!
Natascha_A, Oct 2023
Really good value for money - and so convenient to be collected and dropped off - only thing I can say is, they were a bit disorganised when we disembarked - we had no idea what bus to get on, and ended getting quite lost, we eventually had to get off in Kamara, instead of Vlychada, because the driver didn't tell us we were on the wrong bus! Cost us 35Euros to find our way back - but the trip was wonderful - was great to swim in the Hot Springs - wine was flowing - and the weather was great - onboard staff were lovely too!
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We put in work to keep you and all of our clients happy. We hope to see you soon ! Have a nice day ahead. Regards, Victor Karagiannis Tour coordinator, Nst travel agency
Poor experience
Adonis_M, Oct 2023
My family and I were unable to participate because the bus departed before the initially scheduled pickup time. We missed the opportunity to participate in the excursion due to the lack of transparency regarding the pickup time. We were under the impression that the pickup time was at 9:30, as advertised, but it turned out to be at 8:55, causing us to miss the initial bus pickup. Be advised they will not refund you.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We always strive to provide superior clients service and for that reason we send a few days in prior of your tour date an automated email with pick-up details. According to the tour description, 09:30 is the starting time for the tour, the collection process is being operated earlier in shared basis and with a big bus. We always investigate the refund requests and we approve the requests accordingly. Our whole team is continuously working hard to create good customer experiences & for that reason we would like to use your review for us to improve daily. Regards, Victor Karagiannis Tour Coordinator, Nst travel agency
KARL_L, Oct 2023
The hike up the volcano was a workout but worth it. Very nice views of the area. I really enjoyed the group of people that I met on this excursion.
Not worth the Time
Richard_M, Sep 2023
Agents for Viator , Santos Star were unorganized and could not find our reservation. I would suggest that you print out your confirmation as Santos has no public Wi-Fi. After looking at our information and calling someone they found that we were registered for the tour . I would not recommend this tour to the volcano and hot spring as getting to the top of the volcano was a difficult climb and while the view of Santorini surrounding islands was spectacular the volcano itself was just a rock creator. The swim at the hot spring required jumping off a boat and a swim of over 30 yards before you got to the hot springs. There are no changing rooms on the boat! The best part of the tour was having lunch at an overpriced restaurant on a small island. There are better tours of Santorini or you can just make your way to the island and take the cable car to the village . Also due to the length of the tour I would not recommend the tour for cruise ship passengers.
Good value for money.
Philip_M, Aug 2023
Good way to see Santorini and the neighbouring island, enjoyed the hike to the volcano (although not advisable on a hot day!), 2 hours free time on the nearby island is more than enough as there's not that much to do apart from have a meal and look around the couple of shops. Overall good value for money, make sure you take bottled water with you.
Take a private tour, don't take this one.
Mary_M, Aug 2023
The actual volcano part was fine but way too short. The bus trip was really long-over an hour both ways due to all the stops for other guests. We didn't get much actual time on the volcano. Guide spoke such rapid English he was hard to understand. We got put on a combination French and English tour so he was talking alot. The boat was packed so full you couldn't hardly sit down. The swimming area was brief and there was supposed to be hot springs but we didn't see them. The area for lunch was only for tourists and it was really crowded. If I had been able to understand the guide it would have been much more enjoyable.
Not the best tour for me!
Lynn_L, Jul 2023
Being out on a boat was great. That was just about it for me. There was too much chaos as to where we should be when we arrived at the port. Everyone was confused. The walk up to the volcano from the boat was very far so I didn’t go. Didn’t see that information in the description. Also, with no flotation device such as a flotation belt or life jacket, couldn’t swim out to the hot spring even though it was very close. There was nothing in Thirassia at the boat dock but a couple of souvenir shops and restaurants. Not an inviting swim spot. This tour didn’t work for me. I would have preferred to go to an actual beach to swim than go to Thirassia. Also, the staff on the boat was not as friendly as other tours I’ve been on.
Good value
Rebecca_C, Jul 2023
Great tour, just as described and value for money. Good information provided on history of Santorini.
It was wonderful. We went...
Andranne_B, Jul 2023
It was wonderful. We went to the top of Thirassia. The restaurants there served Of fish. If you want gyros/burger, stay at the port.
Sun, sea and views
Lynna_M, Jul 2023
A great day out on the water seeing Santorini from a different angle. Lots of exercise, walking and plenty to see. Relaxing cruise back.
Too many passengers made trip unsafe
Kimberly_S, Jun 2023
There were too many passengers on the boat. I think it would’ve been a wonderful experience with half the number of passengers. The vast amount of passengers made the boat unsafe & if something had happened, many passengers would have drowned. I would not go again.
loved it
Lois_K, Jun 2023
what a fun experience! the Volcano hike was interesting and invigorating. The swim in hot springs was a unique experience. The village was interesting but maybe a little too long, and I hiked to top and back. Our guide was great, very knowledgeable and helpful. The boat ride was marvelous! Definitely recommend!
Volcano and hot springs
Virginia_P, May 2023
Wonderful tour! Would highly recommend. The climb to volcano is not easy but very doable and so worth the experience and views. I didn’t expect the hot springs swimming to be as good based on the reviews but it was wonderful! Not super hot but warm and the swim to the hot spring was in cold water but refreshing. I am glad we did it!
Transportation very poor it spoilt the trip.
Martin_H, May 2023
The actual boat trip was good but the pick up and drop off was very poor. The pick up was 30mins late and then on the return journey we sat on the coach for 1 hour before we left the harbour. The organisation at the port was diabolical, people were being moved from coach to coach.
Fraudulent tour operator
Deepak_K, May 2023
While booking the experience , hotel pickup are provided and then tour operator sends an email and changes the pickup points to bus stops which are 20-25 minutes away from the hotels. In morning time, no taxi is available to reach the venue place.
Volcano Experience
TeckLock_L, May 2023
Seeing the craters and the top of hill feeling was great The cruising round Santorini was very interesting
Bus was late for pick up....
Joyce_H, May 2023
Bus was late for pick up. There really isn’t much that the tour guide did except announce time we need to get ourselves back onto the boat.
It was a very long walk...
joseph_r, May 2023
It was a very long walk with uneven surfaces. Moderately challenging but worth the view from the top.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Santorini Volcanic Islands Cruise: Volcano, Hot Springs and Thirassia


6 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Santorini Half-Day Cruise to Volcanic Islands and Hot Springs


4 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do