Costa Maya

Chacchoben & Bacalar Combo Excursion Costa Maya

Badge of ExcellenceCosta Maya, Mexico
CHACCHOBEN and BACALAR COMBO with transportation from Costa Maya
  • 7 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Combine two top attractions while on shore at Costa Maya. Get picked up at the cruise port and travel by air-conditioned vehicle to the historic Mayan ruins at Cacchoben, which date to 200BC. Afterwards, head to Bacalar Lagoon, also know as the Seven Colors Lagoon, with stops at Cenote Emeralda, Black Cenote and the infamous Pirates Channel. Also included are lunch, snacks, water and alcoholic beverages.
  • Explore both Chacchoben Mayan Ruins and Bacalar Lagoon in one day
  • Travel in an air-conditioned vehicle with a professional guide
  • Includes round-trip transfers from the Costa Maya Cruise Port
  • Maximum group size of 14 means more personal attention from your guide

What's Included

  • Snacks
  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Soda/Pop
  • Bottled water
  • Lunch
  • Insurance
  • Round trip transportation
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Av. P.º del Puerto 1300, Nuevo, 77976 Mahahual, Q.R., Mexico

    There will be a guide outside the port waiting for you with a Chac Ek sign and a white board with your name on it.

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 10/3/2019 - 2/27/2025

    Monday - Sunday : 08:00 AM - 07:00 PM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Zona Arqueologica De Chaachoben

1 hour 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Lake Bacalar

2 hours 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
Operated by Chac Ek Costa Maya

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
nancy_g
It was a nice day of going to the ruins and then going to the lagoon. They made sure they picked us up (my bad trying to get out of the port) and got us to the tour at the ruins. Victor was a good driver. It was very interesting. The guide was super informative. We learned a lot and things were a good pace. Then, we drove to the Bacalar Lagoon. I wasn't sure I'd like it.. until I went in the water. The beautiful water and time to just enjoy- was perfect time in our family vacation. The staff were good at making sure everyone was safe. Then, we went to lunch. My only thing was that it would have been nice to eat earlier. I highly recommend this excursion. When they send you a map to find them.. use it.. (I pulled out the summary info and forgot to bring the map)

Reviews

5.0
193 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 193 reviews
Unforgettable memories
Cristina_R, Apr 2024
We had the best time on this adventure! Juan is sooo knowledgeable about the Mayan culture and villages, he guided us through so many cool things and kept us on time to make it back to our ship. The lunch was amazing and the beverages were even better! Andre’s our driver was extremely safe and efficient when driving to our destinations. We felt very safe and laughed along the way!
Response from Host, Apr 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Ruin cut short
Neicha_R, Apr 2024
My husband and I were in a group of another 10 people that were all friends. We went to the ruins and saw the big pyramid but that was it because the route the tour guide usually took was blocked off due to new renovation efforts. The group of 10 chose to skip the rest of the ruins tour to spend more time at the lagoon and drink beer. The lagoon was wonderful but we were disappointed that the ruins part was cut short due the unexpected closing of the route
Response from Host, Apr 2024
Hello, thank you very much for your comment. We are sorry to hear that your experience was affected by the renovations. We hope to welcome your visit again to offer you a better experience. Greetings.
Excellent Family Experience
Chantelle_C, Apr 2024
We had a fabulous experience from start to finish. The tour team was excellent and very accommodating. Our tour guide Leo was very knowledgeable and so friendly. We felt like we were all friends by the end! We had older folks (70+) and kids (11-19) in our group and everyone enjoyed the experience. Highly recommend!
Response from Host, Apr 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Amazing experience!
Taylor_D, Mar 2024
10/10 recommend this excursion! Felt absolutely spoiled on this excursion. Our tour was just our family, and this was one of the few excursions that included ruins and the Bacalar Lagoon. Leon knew how to beat the crowds to the ruins, and our experience was secluded from the large tour groups. I am still thinking about the tacos we had for lunch. I am from TX where Mexican food is apart of our daily diet, and these tacos were amazing. I immediately tried to find the creamed spinach taco recipe (no luck yet!). Leon and his team also supplied snacks and beverages (adult options too!) for both the bus and boat ride as well.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Choose these guys!
Christopher_A, Mar 2024
We had a great experience on this tour. The weather was not great but we made the best of it. The guides were amazing and they made the experience enjoyable. Easy to find and they made sure we were back to the ship in plenty of time. Everyone one else cancelled so had the van to ourselves. Clean vehicle and drinks provided.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Refunded due to missed port.
Wing_C, Mar 2024
Our ship didn't dock at Costa May due to weather, and they refunded us the tour. A responsible tour operator.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your trust.
Awesome customer service in costa Maya!!
Lara_H, Mar 2024
This isn’t a typical review because we weren’t actually able to go on this tour because our cruise ship chose not to dock in costa Maya due to safety reasons. We were so sad to miss it and were a little nervous about whether or not Viator and the chachoban/baccular venues would give us a full refund since they have a 24 hour cancellation policy. However, I submitted a refund request and it was answered within the hour in the affirmative for a full refund. Woohoo!! This was not the first time I have used Viator and I have been very happy with the service and ease of scheduling/communication. When I was deciding if we should book though the cruise ship or Viator I was discouraged to do so by a few friends who said that it would be harder to get a refund or if they didn’t get us back in time then we would miss our cruise ship but none of those were an issue at all! The Viator trip we took in roatan was awesome and getting a refund for our costa Maya excursion was simple. PLUS, reserving through Viator was significantly cheaper than through the cruise line and we got almost double the time at the destination than the cruise ship was offering. So thank you and kudos to Viator!
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your trust.
Awesome don’t miss
Salene_S, Mar 2024
Awesome tour ask for Juan Corona and Andreas. Juan was very knowledgeable and made the day stress free and fun! The tour was well worth the money.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Amazing experience
Michalyn_M, Mar 2024
Leo and Chuckie were amazing. We had a great tour and appreciate the support we received having two elderly in our party! We spent an appropriate amount of time at the ruins and the lagoon. The lagoon is absolutely stunning. The food we had for lunch was phenomenal. This excursion is 10/10 worth it in my opinion (and cheaper than what is offered on ship). Highly recommend if you are porting at Costa Maya. My only complaint is that the initial meeting spot is about a mile away from the ship, which can be long for older folks, but that’s not the company’s fault.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Wonderful
Nadene_S, Mar 2024
Absolutely fantastic, Francisco and crew were outstanding. Book this excursion as I promise you will not be disappointed. The cenote was spectacular and the waters where crystal clear.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Great time
Mark_R, Mar 2024
The boat ride around the lagoon was beautiful. The water was crystal clear. We had a good amount of time at every stop. The guide was very knowledgeable about the ruins. The amount of ruins was impressive.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
a good blend of activities
nancy_g, Feb 2024
It was a nice day of going to the ruins and then going to the lagoon. They made sure they picked us up (my bad trying to get out of the port) and got us to the tour at the ruins. Victor was a good driver. It was very interesting. The guide was super informative. We learned a lot and things were a good pace. Then, we drove to the Bacalar Lagoon. I wasn't sure I'd like it.. until I went in the water. The beautiful water and time to just enjoy- was perfect time in our family vacation. The staff were good at making sure everyone was safe. Then, we went to lunch. My only thing was that it would have been nice to eat earlier. I highly recommend this excursion. When they send you a map to find them.. use it.. (I pulled out the summary info and forgot to bring the map)
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
10/10!
Stacey_J, Feb 2024
We had such a great time with Joseph and Flores. Joseph was so personable and a wealth of knowledge. We got to Chacchoben before the crowds and had the ruins to ourselves, which was amazing! Highly recommend!
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Great view and good food
Junbiao_T, Feb 2024
Celina is great tour guide, she took good care of us. The ride was comfortable and picking up, dropping off are very smooth. There are good variety of drink and snacks after the first part, fed up for the swim in the beautiful lagoon. We are all amazed by the beauty of the lagoon and the delicious lunch afterwards!
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Amazing excursion
Ismael_R, Feb 2024
Chacchoben is a very well maintained place of one of the biggest archeological site in the Yucatán peninsula. Bacalar is a must-go place when stopping by Costo Maya. Francisco, the tour guide was professional and respectful.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Perfect Day!
Amy_M, Feb 2024
Leo was a wealth of Mayan knowledge. Both he and Erick were so polite and gracious! Both were aware of time and made the most of our day at the ruins and the beautiful lagoon! Highly recommend!!
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Best experience
Shelly_M, Feb 2024
Everything was wonderful! Tito was the best! Made sure we had the best time and that we were back in time to get back on our ship! The his exertion was our favorite part of the trip!!
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Very good tour, excellent guide
David_W, Feb 2024
Very good tour, excellent guide. All was good, need to remember that there are several guides to tip and need to take enough cash
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip.
Would do again
lindsclement, Feb 2024
Would 100% recommend. Much better than going on an excursion through the cruise line. We only had six people total in our group. Guide and driver got us to the ruins before any of the tour busses so we got some sweet pics. They made sure at the start of the tour to assure us they would get us back in time for ship departure. The authentic Mexican restaurant was delicious. Blue lagoon was beautiful. Leo our guide did a great job.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you very much for your comments, it is a great reward for us to know that you really liked the excursion. We hope to see you on a next trip. Greetings.
Great Communication and Flexibility
Carol_R, Jan 2024
Unfortunately, we did not take this trip. We were on a cruise and at the last minute our ship could not enter the port due to high winds and waves. However, this tour company had fantastic communication and was extremely flexible with a refund for us because our cancellation was no fault of our own. They were excellent communicators and I would highly recommend this group and will rebook with them the next time we are here.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Thank you very much for your comment and although unfortunately the excursion could not be made, we will wait for you with open arms to make your visit to the Costa Maya a memorable experience.
...

From $160.00

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Chacchoben & Bacalar Combo Excursion Costa Maya

186

7 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$160.00
No Photo
CHACCHOBEN Mayan Ruins Excursion Costa Maya

85

3 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$80.00

Explore Similar Things to Do