Maui

Road to Hana, Black Sand Beach, Waterfalls & Turtles Tour

Maui, USA
Hana Waterfalls Black Beach and Turtles
Likely to Sell Out

From $180.00

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 6 hours 30 minutes
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Experience the twists, turns, and attractions along the Hana Highway without the stress of navigating on this full-day tour that departs from Kahului. Going with a guide means you can relax and take views en route to each stop on the day’s itinerary, including a rainforest waterfall, black sand beach, and the Haiku lava tubes. Don’t forget your camera: The highway is known for its sweeping views and wildlife, including sea turtles.
  • Experience the Hana Highway without the stress of driving
  • Guide brings you to the route’s best landmarks and hidden gems
  • Explore secluded natural landscapes often missed by visitors
  • A small group means more attention from your guide

What's Included

  • Bottled water
  • Vehicles with Air Conditioning, USB Charging Spots, Stereophonic Music.
  • All Day Long Beverages, Fresh Cold Water, Juice.
  • Entry admissions for Black Sand Beach, Ke'anae Peninsula & Pua'a Ka'a State Park
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 200 E Kamehameha Ave, Kahului, HI 96732, USA

    "Ross Dress for Less" Located On 200 E, Kamehameha Ave, Kahului. HI 96732

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Pua'a Ka'a State Park

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

210 Keanae Rd

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Wai'anapanapa State Park

1 hour 25 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Wailua Valley State Wayside Park

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Ho'okipa Beach Park

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 11 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Peter_R
The black sand beach was amazing. Our guide, Oscar, was very informative and a great driver. He made sure we made the most of each stop and he didn't rush us. I recommend this tour for seniors as there are a good amount of stops.... if you know what I mean.

Reviews

4.0
464 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 464 reviews
Good
Frances_M, Mar 2024
The switch back turns. We were only given a few chances to get off the tour bus to take pictures. Our group did have a good time and what we were able to get close to was beautiful.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Dear guest, We're delighted to hear that your group had a good time and enjoyed the beautiful sights during the tour. Thank you for choosing Maui Fantastic Tours, and we hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable experience! Warm regards, Maui Fantastic Tours
Waste of money- Tour was rushed & ended 45 mins early
Yvonne_G, Mar 2024
Guide rushes everything. 1st stop to see turtles was 5 minutes or less and he only gave us 1 hour at Black Sand Beach including loading, unloading, and walking to and from the beach. The package said it was supposed to 1 hour 30 minutes at Black Sand Beach. We were back at the drop off site 45 minutes early. Others have said the same and the company denies it.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Hello there, Thank you very much for your review. We red it carefully and we need to let you know we totally agree if it's our fault. But when it comes to this matter we can't agree with you. Because we never do something like this. From starting day of our company until today we have never completed the tour early. We work on time. As we promised we start at the right time and as we promised we finished at the right time. We have never completed a tour 45 minutes before. Thank you very much.
Fantastic day
SUSAN_R, Mar 2024
The entire trip was memorable. We saw turtles, the black sand beach was beautiful and the quirky roadside stands were a treat
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Dear traveler, We're delighted to hear that your trip was memorable and that you enjoyed the sights, including the turtles, the beautiful black sand beach, and the quirky roadside stands. Thank you for choosing Maui Fantastic Tours! Best regards, Maui Fantastic Tours
Great Experience!
LEANA_C, Feb 2024
Overall great tour! Our driver was great and very accommodating! The drive was long and our driver kept us talking and it the tour flew by.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Dear guest, We're delighted to hear you had a great tour and enjoyed the company of our driver. Keeping our guests engaged and comfortable throughout the journey is our priority. Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Maui Fantastic Tours! Warm regards, Maui Fantastic Tours
Boring!
John_S, Feb 2024
The guide was late. You could not hear him. He was boring. The trip was boring. Highlight sights were not described. We could not wait to het back. The only reason he got a tip was because instead of dropping us off at the mall he took us to the port.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Dear guest, First of all we need to clarify something. We were not late. We were collection one of our guests. It was 2 to 3 minutes. However we started the tour at the right time and at the right place. On the same day other travelers have commented about the tour and they enjoyed it. People are different and we know people has different intentions. However we tried to fulfill everything. As well as we did it. We are sorry for any inconvenience. We will try to deliver even more great service in the future. Thank you very much. Come again. Aloha.
Never again!
jerry_b, Feb 2024
Our experience was awful. The driver spoke English but had an accent we could not understand. He drove past numerous waterfalls without slowing down to give us a chance to take pictures. We had a passenger who needed a snack for health reasons and the driver refused to stop until we reached the black sand beach. He said there was food there but there wasn’t. After a time at the beach he finally stopped on the return trip for food and sulked and was basically mute the whole way back. Never again!
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Regarding the stops during the tour, we want to clarify that we operate on a strict schedule to ensure punctuality for all travelers. We have clearly outlined the itinerary, including the stops, on our website, TripAdvisor page, and Viator page. Additionally, we provide detailed information in our FAQ page, which was sent directly to you prior to your tour. As such, it is not feasible for us to deviate from the planned stops or spend extra time at unplanned locations. Also our drivers are proficient in both English and Spanish, which are the primary languages spoken by the majority of our customers as evidenced by the positive reviews provided by other travelers on the same day as your excursion.
Quick trip to 1/2 way to Hana
Joseph_D, Feb 2024
Not what we expected.....got picked up 15 minutes late & got dropped off 30 minutes eraly....stopped only 3 of the 6 locations that were stated/included in the itinerary.....guide was more concerned on getting us back then explaining what we were seeing. Black sand beach area was nice - itinerary said we would be there for 1 hr. 30 mins. - we were here for 45-50 minutes....and the guides only remarks were if we wanted to leave sooner, just let him know. Not what we expected and not what we expereinced on other tours we took
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Firstly, we pride ourselves on maintaining strict punctuality standards, with all our tours commencing promptly at 7:00 AM. Therefore, it is highly improbable that there could have been a 15-minute delay in your pick-up time, as you mentioned. Additionally, our itineraries are meticulously outlined on our website, TripAdvisor page, and Viator page, with clear indications of the included locations and their respective durations. Our tour guides adhere strictly to these timings, ensuring a seamless and comprehensive experience for all our guests. Furthermore, your assertion that only three out of the six stated locations were visited conflicts with our operational procedures. We can confidently state that all stops listed in the itinerary are covered during our tours, as evidenced by the positive reviews provided by other travelers on the same day as your excursion. Considering these factors, we are led to believe that there may have been a misunderstanding or misrepresentation of facts in your review. We take great pride in our commitment to customer satisfaction and transparency, and it is disheartening to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. However, based on the information provided, we suspect that there may be ulterior motives behind your review.
Wonderful experience worth the $$
Sherri_W, Feb 2024
Spectacular views and amazing tour guide. This drive is CRAZY so best to have a guide drive for you while you enjoy the scenery.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Dear traveler, We're glad you enjoyed the spectacular views and had a great experience with our tour guide. Indeed, the drive can be challenging, so having a guide to navigate while you soak in the scenery is a wise choice. Thank you for choosing us! Best regards, Maui Fantastic Tours
A MUST EXPERIENCE!
Mary_H, Feb 2024
The most memorable parts of the trip were a combination of the experience itself and also our guide Oscar. We were a small group and Oscar made it a perfect trip for each person in the group. He gave us wonderful information that brought it all to life and made sure that we were all having a wonderful time. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this excursion to anyone!
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Dear traveler, Thank you for your kind words about your experience with us and our guide, Oscar. We're thrilled to hear that he made your trip perfect and brought the experience to life with his wonderful information. We appreciate your recommendation! Best regards, Maui Fantastic Tours
This tour made our day!
Ron_A, Feb 2024
First of all, we appreciated that the tour company kept its commitment to us despite other passengers having to cancel due to a cruise ship not making it into port. Secondly, we totally appreciated our time with Oscar, our tour guide. He was knowledgeable, engaging, fun and funny. He made our whole experience memorable. Thank you, Oscar from Ron and Sally!!
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Dear Ron and Sally, We're delighted to hear that you appreciated our commitment and enjoyed your time with Oscar despite the unforeseen circumstances. Thank you for choosing Maui Fantastic Tours and for sharing your memorable experience with us! Warm regards, Maui Fantastic Tours
James Bond and Our Superman
Krista_b, Feb 2024
Today we had an amazing experience. Our tour driver Oscar(James Bond) helped make this experience. He had my son join in with him helping to give facts and ask questions. He gave us information about the island and made us laugh throughout the trip. The black sand was such an amazing thing to see. This tour was well worth it. Thank you Oscar!!!
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Dear traveler, Thrilled to hear you had an amazing experience with our tour driver, James Bond! We're delighted he added laughter and insights to your journey. Thank you for choosing Maui Fantastic Tours! Best regards, Maui Fantastic Tours
Short Road to Hana
Gayle_G, Jan 2024
Our guide Oscar was wonderful. But we made very few stops. The sights we saw were beautiful but maybe we should have taken the longer trip.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Dear traveler, We appreciate your kind words about our guide, Oscar, and are delighted you found the sights beautiful. We have covered every single place that we promised to discover. Best regards, Maui Fantastic Tours
Not worth the cost
Mary_W, Jan 2024
The black sand beach was great. The turtles tour was a bust as they were so far away that you could not see them. The waterfalls were pretty. A few people in our van got sick from the winding road. The van was subpar at best. Our guide was very hard to understand and obviously did not understand us when we asked questions.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Hello there, Thank you for the time you take to write this review. According to the letter we sent you before attend the tour we have mentioned all the details you want to know. The places are not located at the same small area. We have to cover all the places. As we promised we covered every place. Our tour guides are well educated and knowledgeable about what the do. Thank you very much again.
Road to Hana a fun choice
Wendy_O, Jan 2024
Oscar was wonderful and funny!!! I wish we had tipped him more! The scenery at Black Sand Beach was amazing but there was not enough time to stay and swim or walk around to see it all to enjoy. Oscar was smart to take us right to the beach to beat the croud that showed up when we were leaving. However, our crew would have liked more stops at scenic spots or to shop at the little town or area that was open....The stop we did make for Banana bread was a gem!! Best Banana bread ever!!! And tastey pineapple too!! Thanks Oscar. I am prone to car sickness and had a bit of a hard time on the curvey, crazy road so if you are too, take your meds prior to the drive. Overall, it was a fun, beautiful, interesting and a great day!
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Dear traveler, Thank you for your kind words! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your tour with Oscar and appreciated his humor and expertise. It's wonderful that you found the scenery at Black Sand Beach amazing. We're glad that Oscar's strategic timing allowed you to beat the crowds, and we appreciate your feedback about the desire for more stops at scenic spots or shopping opportunities. We're thrilled to hear that the stop for banana bread was a gem and that you found it to be the best ever! We understand the challenges of the winding road, and we appreciate your advice for those prone to car sickness. We're pleased that, overall, you had a fun, beautiful, interesting, and great day with us. Thank you for choosing Maui Fantastic Tours, and we look forward to welcoming you back for more memorable experiences in the future. Warm regards, The Maui Fantastic Tours Team
Choose a different one
douglas_b, Jan 2024
Pack snacks and talk about the plan prior to leaving. Waterfalls are from the van. No stopping. Lunch 2pm. Turtles ask about. The Turtles mainly come out at 1pm so stopping at 0830 isnt wise. And guide didn't say this was the Turtle stop. Driver dleepy on way back.. sketchy. Driver's communication is lacking in whatever language he was speaking.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Hello there, Thank you very much for your review here. But unfortunately we want to let you know that the tour will be held according to the tour map. From the start of our company until today we worked according to the tour map. We have scheduled proper time period for every stop. As well as we go to every place that we promised for sure. Time management and everything well planed. Out past travelers has proved it. We're sorry about your feel unhappy. But according to the other travelers who joined on the same day all are happy. Thank you very much.
Absolutely Fantastic
Ryan_W, Jan 2024
The tour was fantastic! Our group wasn’t looking to do a full 12 hour tour, so this six hour tour was absolutely perfect. Oscar is a great tour guide! He is very knowledgeable of the Road to Hana, for which he was able to provide wonderful insight in to several stops along the way. One thing I enjoyed is that, if time willing, Oscar will show you a couple of his favorite local gems outside of the tour stops, which for me, provided a more authentic experience.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Dear traveler, We're thrilled to hear that you found our six-hour tour to be fantastic and perfectly suited for your group's preferences. It's great to know that Oscar, our guide, was able to provide wonderful insights into the Road to Hana, making your journey more informative and enjoyable. We're pleased that Oscar shared some of his favorite local gems, adding an authentic touch to your experience. Thank you for choosing Maui Fantastic Tours, and we look forward to providing you with more authentic and enjoyable experiences in the future. Warm regards, The Maui Fantastic Tours Team
Great excursion
Peter_R, Jan 2024
The black sand beach was amazing. Our guide, Oscar, was very informative and a great driver. He made sure we made the most of each stop and he didn't rush us. I recommend this tour for seniors as there are a good amount of stops.... if you know what I mean.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Dear traveler, We're thrilled to hear that you found the black sand beach amazing and that Oscar, your guide, provided a great experience. It's wonderful that he ensured you made the most of each stop without feeling rushed. Thank you for your recommendation, especially for seniors who can appreciate a well-paced tour with meaningful stops. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back for more enjoyable experiences with Maui Fantastic Tours in the future. Warm regards, The Maui Fantastic Tours Team
Great excursion for a small group.
Lynn_B, Jan 2024
This was a great way to see parts of Maui, especially the scenery. If you can get the front seat, go for it because you will get the best pictures. Be prepared for a very winding road.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Dear traveler, We're thrilled to hear that our tour provided you with a great way to explore parts of Maui, especially its scenic beauty. Your tip about grabbing the front seat for the best pictures is fantastic advice! The winding road to Hana can indeed be an adventure, and we appreciate your readiness for it. Thank you for choosing Maui Fantastic Tours, and we hope to welcome you back for more scenic explorations in the future. Warm regards, The Maui Fantastic Tours Team
Our tour guide was just...
Holly_M, Jan 2024
Our tour guide was just wonderful, and we enjoyed this trip. Very scenic, and a great introduction to the island. I would never make the drive myself, so it was great to kick back and let someone else do it for me.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Dear traveler, We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience on our tour and enjoyed the scenic beauty of the island. It's fantastic that our tour guide made the journey memorable for you. We completely understand the desire to kick back and let someone else handle the driving, allowing you to fully absorb the beauty of the surroundings. Thank you for choosing Maui Fantastic Tours, and we hope to welcome you back for more introductions to the island's wonders in the future! Warm regards, The Maui Fantastic Tours Team
A great Maui experience
Tricia_R, Jan 2024
We looked at a few different Road to Hana tours, but decided on this one as we were travelling with our kids, and they would not have lasted the 10-12 hours that other tours lasted. We had a wonderful experience!!! We booked as a family of 4, with 2 kids aged 6 and 8. Oscar picked us up right on time, and informed us that the other party booked for the tour was sick, so it would become a private tour for the 4 of us. Oscar was fabulous, he engaged with our kids right away, and gave us a history of Maui on the way out. He answered our questions, and pointed out all the awesome sights along the Hana highway. We made all the stops, and he also let us stop at a local roadside fruit stand. Would highly recommend this tour. Oscar drove us safely all the way to and from, and was a wonderful tour guide.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Dear travelers, We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience on our Road to Hana tour! It's fantastic that you chose our tour for its family-friendly duration, allowing your kids to enjoy the adventure. We're delighted that Oscar provided a private tour, engaging with your family and offering a history of Maui along the way. It sounds like he went above and beyond to make your experience special, answering questions, pointing out sights, and even allowing a stop at a local fruit stand. Thank you for your high recommendation! We look forward to welcoming your family back for more memorable adventures with Maui Fantastic Tours. Warm regards, The Maui Fantastic Tours Team
...

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Road to Hana, Black Sand Beach, Waterfalls & Turtles Tour

464

6 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$180.00

Explore Similar Things to Do