Maui

Ultimate Self-Driving Audio Tour of Road to Hana, Maui

Badge of ExcellenceMaui, USA
Ultimate Self Driving Audio Tour of Road to Hana Maui
  • 3 to 4 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Save money and explore at your own pace with this self-guided audio tour of Maui’s famous Road to Hana, also known as the Hana Highway, and the crown-jewel of Hawaii’s scenic roads. Make your booking and download the app to access the tour—then, follow the roughly 65-mile (105 kilometers) road whenever you wish, and learn about each stop as you travel.
  • A self-guided audio tour of Maui’s Road to Hana
  • Flexible schedule: Use at any time over one or multiple days
  • No cell signal or Wi-Fi required: Offline GPS map with directions
  • Save money when compared to similar full-day bus tours

What's Included

  • Engaging storytelling: Uncover unique tales and thrilling history for a memorable journey!
  • Perfect narrator: nothing can beat listening to a great voice. Proven with tons of rave reviews!
  • Comprehensive route and stops: See it all, miss nothing, leave no stone unturned!
  • Offline maps: no signal, no problem! Works perfectly without cellular or wifi.
  • Hands-free: audio stories play on their own based on your location. Easy to use!
  • Go at your own pace: Start anytime, pause anywhere, enjoy breaks for snacks and photos freely!
  • Great value: purchase per car, not per person. More affordable than bus or guided tours!
  • Easy-to-use app: download Action’s Tour Guide App onto your phone
  • Attraction passes, entry tickets, or reservations

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 7/30/2020 - 5/5/2025

    Monday - Sunday : 06:00 AM - 09:00 PM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Paia

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Ho'okipa Beach Park

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Road To Hana Mile Marker Zero (Route 360)

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Twin Falls Maui

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Waikamoi Ridge Trail

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Kaumahina State Wayside Park

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Honomanu

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Nuaailua Bay

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Ke'anae Arboretum

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Ching's Pond

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Wailua Valley State Wayside Park

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Upper Waikani Falls

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Pua'a Ka'a State Park

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Nahiku Viewpoint

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Nahiku Marketplace

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Kahanu Garden, National Tropical Botanical Garden

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Wai'anapanapa State Park

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Hana Bay Beach Park

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Koki Beach Park

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Hamoa Beach

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Venus Pool (Waioka Pond)

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Wailua Falls

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Haleakalā National Park

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Pipiwai Trail

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Kīpahulu Visitor Center

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • How to access: Once you book a tour, you’ll get a confirmation email and an instructions email. Follow the instructions right away: • Download the app • Enter the password • Download the tour • MUST DO while in strong wifi/cellular
  • How to start the tour: Once onsite, open the Action's Tour Guide App: • If there is just one tour, launch it. • If there are multiple tour versions, launch the one with your planned starting point and direction. • Go to the starting point. (Note: no one will meet you at the start. This tour is self-guided). • The audio will begin automatically at the starting point. If you face audio issues, visit the FAQ. • Stick to the tour route & speed limit for the best experience.
  • Amazing savings: • Driving Tours: Save money by purchasing a single tour for the entire vehicle, avoiding individual fees per person like on a bus tour. Connect your phone to the car speakers to share the audio.
  • Flexibility and Convenience: • Use the tour app anytime, on any day, and over multiple days. There's no expiration, making it perfect for revisiting on future trips. • Start and pause the tour at your leisure, accommodating breaks and side excursions without the pressure of keeping up with a group.
  • Comprehensive Tour Experience: •The app provides a full itinerary, travel tips, narrated audio stories, scripts, images, videos, and recommendations for additional activities. • Enjoy a private experience without the crowds, ideal for personalized stops and photo opportunities.
  • Ease of Use and Accessibility: • The app is hands-free and activates stories via GPS, offering support through call, chat, or email. • There is no need for a continuous cell or Wi-Fi connection as the GPS map works offline.
  • Memorable Keepsakes: • Utilize the app’s images to create a photo book or share on social media, ensuring you have high-quality, crowd-free memories from your trip.
  • Preparation: • After booking, download the app and the tour using a strong Wi-Fi connection. • Review the tour at home before your trip for a better experience.
  • Starting the Tour: • Open the app upon arrival at your destination. • Select the appropriate tour based on your starting point. • Head to the starting location; the audio will begin automatically. • Follow the suggested route and adhere to the speed limit for an optimal experience. • By following these instructions and taking advantage of the app's features, users can enjoy a personalized, flexible, and in-depth exploration of their destination at their own pace and convenience.
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more

Reviews

4.5
55 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews
Good experience, but long scary ride
Evelyn_T, Apr 2024
The audio guide was nice. It took us to different sites. My favorite was the lava tube. There were a lot of amazing waterfalls and beautiful views. The drive is for a skilled driver, as it is on a very narrow road on a hill. There are very few bathrooms along the way. You will lose cell service. Most importantly, there is no Finale. The road to Hana ends at a cute historical park- nothing amazing to see. Then (when we went) the road was closed off. We had to turn around and ride the WHOLE road back.
Response from Host, Apr 2024
Thank you for the feedback, Evelyn! I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed my Road to Hana Audio Tour. If you are planning to explore more of Hawaii, be sure to check out our Ultimate Hawaii Audio Guide. Have a safe journey, and I hope to join you on your next adventure!
Awesome way to explore on a budget
Jennie_D, Apr 2024
Awesome experience. All worked well. Easy download. Easy to use. Rental car was inexpensive. Great way to explore on a budget
Response from Host, Apr 2024
It's so great that you enjoyed the Driving Audio Tour of Road to Hana, Jennie! If you're planning more adventures in Hawaii, check out our Ultimate Hawaii Audio Guide, featuring 10+ self-guided audio tours. Safe travels and I hope to be part of your future adventures!
NOT WHAT THEY SAY
Eduardo_G, Apr 2024
I was under the impression that I could use it anytime more than once. In reality I was not able to use it when I wanted. There was a time from 7-11:30am that was only to be used. It didn’t state that at all what so ever. It ruined my vacation because it didn’t allow me to do the audio tour.
Response from Host, Apr 2024
Eduardo, I’m genuinely sorry for any confusion and inconvenience you experienced with the timing of your Road to Hana tour. We always intend to offer flexibility and enhance your vacation, not hinder it. The tour is indeed designed to be used at any time to fit your schedule, though we always recommend adhering to local travel guidelines for the best experience. I will refund you! Alternatively, if you’re still interested in exploring, I’d be happy to provide access to any of my other 100+ self-guided tours across the US at no extra cost. Your satisfaction is crucial to us, so please let me know how you’d like to proceed.
Wonderful app!
Linda_W, Apr 2024
We loved hearing about the history of Hawaii, and this app was really easy to use. It made the long drive so much more enjoyable. The advanced notice for parking areas was especially helpful
Response from Host, Apr 2024
Linda, I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed the journey to Hana with our app by your side! The blend of historical insights and practical tips really enhanced your drive. Since you've got a taste of what our tours offer, you might love to know about our Ultimate Hawaii: Maui, Kauai, Oahu, Big Island Audio Guide. It's a collection that includes tours across the Hawaii Island (Big Island), Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Oahu, and more, offering over 10 unique self-guided audio tours for you to explore at your leisure. Whenever you're ready to dive into more Hawaiian adventures, you know where to find us!
Need to have a note that says the road dead ends you have to turn around an go back the way you came
Cathy_M, Mar 2024
Was nice information, saw several waterfalls, ate banana bread. Nice beaches. Road is very narrow with several one lane bridges
Response from Host, Mar 2024
I'm glad you enjoyed the Road to Hana tour, Cathy! Thanks for the feedback - we'll consider adding a note about the road conditions and layout. If you're looking to dive deeper into Hawaii, our All Hawaii, Self-Guided Driving Tours Bundle offers a rich exploration of the islands, including over ten unique audio tours from the volcanoes of the Big Island to the stunning Na Pali coast of Kauai. You can easily find this bundle where you booked your Road to Hana tour—excited for your next Hawaiian adventure!
Road to Hana
Evanna_E, Mar 2024
Overall, we enjoyed the Road to Hana. The drive wasn’t as bad as people were making it out to be. It would’ve been nice to know before had, in the description somewhere, that reservations are required for the black sand beach (Waiʻānapanapa State Park) as we were not aware until we saw the signs up there. At that point, it was too late because there was no service again until we reached Hana Bay Beach. We went on a Sunday so a lot of the food places/stands were closed. If you’re doing the Hana Lava Tube, it’s now $15- audio states $12. Pretty cool experience. Lastly, our tour stopped at Haleakalā National Park. The main reason we did the tour was for the black sand beach so it was disappointing to not be able to go. We also wanted to go to the winery, but weren’t able to do so because the roads on the other side were collapsing. Something about the rain and water, which is why ours ended at the National Park. So unfortunately, we had to go down the same way we went up, which took 2 hours. It was a very long day. 10 hours, so make sure you don’t have anything else planned for the day. We got some good pics and enjoyed the beauty of it. The good thing is, it’s a one time buy so I’d do it again if I’m ever back in Maui. Hopefully I’ll be able to do what I wasn’t this time around.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
I appreciate your detailed review, Evanna! Sorry to hear about the missed black sand beach and winery - we aim to provide all necessary info upfront, and we'll look into making it even more straightforward. Nature can be unpredictable, but we're glad you still found beauty in the journey. Remember, your purchase is valid for a year, so you can pick up where you left off next time in Maui. Hopefully, your next trip will allow you to explore everything you missed. Thanks for sticking with us, and we hope to accompany you again soon!
Love it. Must buy
Sairahul_M, Feb 2024
Definitely a buy, nice audio tour and map is given. There wont be amy signal so Definitely take it. Worth it
Response from Host, Feb 2024
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed my Road to Hana Audio Tour. If you're interested, I recommend checking out my All Hawaii Self-Guided Driving Tours Bundle. This bundle includes over eight comprehensive audio tours across the islands, which are designed to provide you with fascinating insights and enrich your adventures. Thank you for your positive feedback, and I hope my tours will continue to enhance your travels in Hawaii!
Scary driving, fun experience
Becky_D, Jan 2024
The black sand beach, climbing on the big black volcano rocks. Great day to experience The Road to Hana and see different beaches from Florida.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Becky, I'm delighted to hear you had a fun and exhilarating experience on the Road to Hana, especially enjoying the unique beauty of the black sand beach and the volcanic rocks! Thanks for sharing your adventure with us. If you're keen on more exploration, don’t forget to check out my Action+ Tour Bundle for over 100 more self-guided tours.
The stories and audio...
Melissa_S, Jan 2024
The stories and audio were great. Definitely download before you start the journey for best reception.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Melissa, I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed the stories and audio on my Road to Hana Audio Tour! Great tip on downloading the tour beforehand for the best reception. If you're bitten by the travel bug and looking for more adventures, don’t forget to check out my Action+ Tour Bundle for over 100 more self-guided tours.
Meh….
Amy_O, Dec 2023
The tour was fine. It had a hard time keeping up with us with poor cell service. Not sure I would buy it again.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Amy, thanks for sharing your experience with the Audio Tour of Road to Hana. Just so you know, once the tour is downloaded, you can switch it to offline mode by turning off cellular data and WiFi, which should keep things running smoothly. Since the product never expires, you can try it again anytime, or, if you prefer, reach out via the app, and I'd be happy to exchange it for one of the other 100+ self-guided audio tours available. I hope this helps improve your experience, and I appreciate your feedback!
Good but spotty delivery
tedandstephanieluehr, Dec 2023
Good info but tour repeatedly lost it's place and went back4 or 5 places. Got a little frustrating as we got behind on actuy looking at area being described
Response from Host, Dec 2023
I'm sorry about the issues you experienced with the app during your Audio Tour of Road to Hana. It's unusual for the tour to lose its place and jump back like that, and I'd love to get more details to understand what went wrong. Could you please reach out to us through the app? I'm here to help and ensure you have a smooth experience. Also, remember that the tour never expires so you can revisit it anytime for a seamless journey.
Fun trip along the Road to Hana!
Tina_C, Oct 2023
We drove the Road to Hana in Maui. It was interesting to listen to the history of the area along the way. We enjoyed the Hawaiin music in between and definitely got great tips of where to stop that we would otherwise have missed.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Tina! I'm stoked that my Road to Hana Audio Tour added some color to your journey with a splash of history and those Hawaiian tunes. Whenever wanderlust hits again, remember there's a whole world in my Action+ Tour Bundle just waiting for you. Keep cruising and feeling the rhythm!
Frustrating
shaneqwa_m, Oct 2023
The app didn't work as it was supposed to. The map never came up, and neither did the map list, so it was hard to follow. The audio worked once we hit a location we were supposed to be at. We ended up touring around right after the red sand beach because we didn't have any directions. We were very frustrated and disappointed. Maybe y'all should consider adding verbal instructions along with the map to prevent this from happening to others.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Oh, Shaneqwa, that doesn't sound like the smooth sailing I aim for. After the audio plays out, the app is designed to switch to the map section automatically, and the map & stop list should be in the top right corner. Your feedback about adding verbal instructions is already in the tour. On the bright side, your purchase doesn't expire, so holler if you're ever in the mood to revisit the tour or even explore a different one. I've got a stack of 100+ tours waiting for you. Here's to smoother travels next time!
Easy to use
Miriam_B, Sep 2023
The Road to Hana audio tour was informative and the voice easy to listen to -- however, we only made it halfway on the Road to Hana -- winding, narrow road is not for the faint of heart. Also -- hard to find public restrooms except for the park stops (some tolerable, some horrors).
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Miriam. I'm glad you found my Road to Hana Audio Tour easy to use and informative. The journey along that winding path can be challenging for some travelers, and I appreciate your feedback on the facilities. Knowing what to expect can make all the difference, and your insights are invaluable. Should your travels take you to other destinations, consider diving into my Action+ Tour Bundle, which features over 100 self-guided tours that you might find interesting. I wish you many more enriching adventures ahead!
Awesome vacation
MARY_S, Sep 2023
Great app very easy to follow narration of the sites spot on very informative will definitely use again
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Mary, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with my Road to Hana Audio Tour. I'm delighted to hear that the app enhanced your journey through the breathtaking landscape of Maui. Your feedback is invaluable, and I appreciate your suggestion; rest assured, I'll look into ways to improve the tour. As you continue to explore the beauty of our world, consider the diverse offerings in my Action+ Tour Bundle, which includes over 100 self-guided tours. May your future travels be filled with wonder and aloha spirit!
Great experience.
Kay_G, Jul 2023
Loved hearing the history of the road & islands as went did our trip. We had trouble with the map connections but the audio was perfect.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Thank you so much Kay! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour of Maui! It sounds like it really enhanced your visit. If you're planning to travel more in the future, you might want to consider my Action+ Tour Bundle. It includes over 100 self-guided tours and could be a great resource for you. Thank you for your support!
Hicking by the waterfall,...
Kunle_A, Jul 2023
Hicking by the waterfall, trip limited to time constraints , and no access to the park, all booked by the time of reservation
Response from Host, Jul 2023
It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time in Maui with my tour. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be taken into consideration to ensure an even better experience for future travelers. If you're planning on traveling more, you might be interested in my Action+ Tour Bundle which includes over 100 self-guided tours. Thank you for choosing my tour!
Waterfalls. Botanical...
Benjamin_C, Jun 2023
Waterfalls. Botanical garden. black sand beach. The guide was informative. Enjoyed the whole experience.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Thank you so much, Benjamin! I’m so thrilled you had a great time at Maui with my tour and added so much value to your visit. If you plan to travel more, you may like my Action+ Tour Bundle (it has all of my self-guided tours, over 100). Thanks again!
Great story telling along the road…
Jerlena_N, Jun 2023
Loved the story telling about the history of Hawaii along the journey. The one lane bridges were exciting! I’d definitely use this app again to learn more about the road to Hana. I didn’t pay close enough attention and missed a couple falls as there was no parking available at the time we went. There was plenty more to see.. I was NOT disappointed! !
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Thank you so much Jerlena! It's wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic time on the Maui tour and found it to be a valuable addition to your trip. I'm glad you utilized the app to learn about Hana. Have you considered my Action+ Tour Bundle? It includes over 100 self-guided tours.
Great!!!
Vincent_Z, Apr 2023
Saved a lot and enjoyed driving with great turn by turn informational audio. Highly recommended!!!!!!
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Thanks Vincent! I worked hard to ensure the tour was fun & engaging, and it’s wonderful to know when that’s appreciated! If you plan to travel more, you may like my Action+ Tour Bundle (it has all of my self-guided tours, over 100). Thanks again!

From $16.99

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Ultimate Self-Driving Audio Tour of Road to Hana, Maui

55

4 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$16.99
No Photo
Road To Hana: Audio Driving Tour

33

8 to 16 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$14.99
No Photo
Maui "Loop" Road To Hana Audio Driving Tour

34

10 to 12 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$19.99
No Photo
Maui "Reverse" Road To Hana Audio Driving Tour

12

10 to 12 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$19.99

Explore Similar Things to Do