Maui "Loop" Road To Hana Audio Driving Tour

Maui, USA
Maui Loop Road To Hana Driving Tour
  • 10 to 12 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Maui’s Road to Hana is Hawaii’s most well-known scenic drive, and that’s saying something. With this audio tour, you’ll hop in the car for a guided road trip like none other, as your guide narrates the route between hidden waterfalls, scenic vistas, and more. Start when you like, pause when you like—this epic road trip is all yours.
  • Download the tour via your smartphone to start when you're ready
  • Hit the stops you like—skip the ones you don't
  • Using GPS, your guide narrates your route, playing music between stops
  • Get the story behind 30+ stops, including Twin Falls, Ke‘anae Point, and more

What's Included

  • Interesting stories and history and turn-by-turn audio navigation
  • Freedom to explore at your own pace and your purchase will NEVER expires
  • Tours work offline
  • Tour highlights in the app with restaurant and activity recommendations
  • Parking fees
  • Attraction entrance fees
  • Meals
  • Car rental

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • Kahului, HI, USA

    Start the tour in Kahului near the airport.

Start time

Opening hours

  • 1/2/2019 - 3/17/2025

    Monday - Friday : 05:00 AM - 04:00 PM

    Saturday - Sunday : 07:00 AM - 11:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Paia Town Public Parking

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Ho'okipa Beach Park

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Peahi Road

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Twin Falls Maui

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Waikamoi Ridge Trail

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Puohokamoa Falls

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Kaumahina State Wayside Park

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free


30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Ke‘anae Point

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Halfway to Hana

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Wailua Valley State Wayside Park

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Pua'a Ka'a State Park

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Upper Waikani Falls

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Kahanu Garden

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Makapipi Falls

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Nahiku Viewpoint

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Nahiku Marketplace

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Hana Bay Beach Park

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Hana Lava Tube

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Wai'anapanapa State Park

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Koki Beach

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Red Sand Beach - Kaihalulu Beach

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Hasegawa's General Store

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Hamoa Beach

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Wailua Falls

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Ohe'o Gulch

1 hour Admission Ticket Not Included

Pipiwai Trail

2 hours Admission Ticket Not Included

Venus Pool (Waioka Pond)

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Charles Lindbergh's Grave

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Laulima Farm

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Alelele Falls

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Kaupo Gap Trail

8 hours Admission Ticket Free

Manawainui Gulch

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Kula Botanical Gardens

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Ulupalakua Scenic Overlook

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more


34 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 34 reviews
Very informative!
James_H, Feb 2023
The tour was great and informative. We did stop at Hana and return as we were in a rental SUV. The app was somewhat troublesome until I figured out it did not work in Android auto. It would have been easier to use and for all to hear if that function was available.
Need better support and app that works
Staci_p, Jan 2023
We could not get it to download on the phone. We called for support and left a message for a return call and never received a call back.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
We're sorry to hear you were not able to enjoy your Shaka Guide tour. For tours purchased through Viator, the next steps after booking are listed in the Viator ticket under the Before You Go Section. We apologize we were not able to connect with you. May we know which number you called when you called for support? Also, kindly forward us a copy of your Viator ticket for your Shaka Guide tour purchase at so we can help you get a refund on your purchase.
Awesome audio tour on Road to Hana
Felicia_T, Dec 2022
The audio was awesome I loved the guide and his tips. Only suggestion is to have a return audio from Amy point on the tour. We went all the way past the seven pools and then turned around and there wasn’t any audio coming back. Other than that I highly recommend this audio tour it was awesome and had great information. I will use Shaka again in the future.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Aloha! Thank you for posting your review and sharing your feedback. We've taken note of your suggestion and will be including it in our review for future updates. Mahalo and hope to see you again on another Shaka Guide tour!
Best part of my whole trip to Hawaii
Coleen_R, Sep 2022
I cannot pick only one moment. The whole experience was so memorable. The guide was perfect. Very easy to understand, loved the music and fun facts, great directions.
anupam_l, Jul 2022
Highly recommended as it gives you lot of information and hence you would not miss anything Let’s you know about local culture
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Mahalo for your review! Don't forget to tell all your friends about it and follow us on social media @shakaguide to share your Shaka Guide experience 🤙😍🤙
wish we had wifi
Janice_C, Jun 2022
no wi-fi most of trip, so this did not work past stop 7. first few stops were great with the turtles, after that could not use much. waste of money. so sad
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Aloha Janice! We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience. Our Road to Hana tours recently encountered some technical difficulties. We are working on getting the app and all the tours fixed as soon as possible. Kindly email us at and attach a copy of your TripAdvisor/Viator booking confirmation so we can help you get a refund. We sincerely thank you for your patience and understanding. Should you have other questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to let us know. Mahalo! Shaka Guide
Great way to travel the Road to Hana
Denise_B, Apr 2022
When we got to Maui we were expecting to just drive on our own but found the Shaka Maui app and were delighted with it. We were able to plan our road trip according to what we wanted to see and loved the commentary and stories provided by the app. We did use the Shaka Kauai app to explore the island of Kauai also.
You need WiFi which is not available it’s useless
Jeff_D, Apr 2022
No WiFi means this is useless, How could this possibly be a helpful tool if WiFi is required to use it and there is no WiFi on the entire loop. It was a waste of money.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
We're sorry to hear there's been some confusion. All of our Shaka Guide tours work 100% offline once downloaded to your phone. The only time you'll need an internet connection is when you download the app and the tours. Once you have the app and tours on your phone, our Shaka Guide tours will use your phone's GPS to locate you and navigate you around the island while telling you stories and local info as well as play amazing Hawaiian music. Wish you would have contacted us if you were not sure about how Shaka Guide works. Kindly email us at if you have questions or need further assistance.
Road to Hana
John_P, Apr 2022
Once we were able to finally get it going it was fun except it kept cutting out. The information was great but the overall technical experience was very frustrating. Hoping the one we have for Oahu works better
Response from Host, Apr 2022
We're sorry to hear you've had some difficulty with your tour. For these types of issues, deleting and installing the latest version of the app on the App Store or Play Store usually does the trick. Wish you would have contacted us at the time so we could have helped you set up the app and tours properly. Kindly email us at so we can help you get a refund.
Beautiful scenery!...
Cory_M, Mar 2022
Beautiful scenery! Gorgeous coastlines and waterfalls! Worth the day drive around that portion of the island. If nervous about driving it, go to Hana and round around. Roads get tighter after Hana!
Fully Recommend, excellent.
Dolan_P, Dec 2021
Excellent, I recommend, it is so worth it. we were able to see things like if we were a local. No need to stress, allowed us for great planning of our time.
Arlan_S, Sep 2021
When trying to download app by airport. The app said scheduled for the 3rd. And would not work. Total rip off
Response from Host, Sep 2021
Hi Arian! Shaka Guide tours purchased through Viator/TripAdvisor are assigned a personal download link that you MUST use to correctly download our Shaka Guide app and redeem your tours. You'll find this link in your booking confirmation and you MUST use this link in your phone's browser to correctly download the Shaka Guide app and redeem the tour or tours. Wish you would have contacted us at that time for assistance. Kindly email us at so we can assist you in getting a refund.
Hana w shakkas 🤙🤙🤙
Yaron_T, Jul 2021
The amazing Hana waterfalls in all there glory were ahhh inspiring. The audio guide was great full of Aloha and very informative with history & legendary tales. Also with kid and wifey frothing in such a remote place was good to know where the good rest and food spots were ahead of time. Now simma down! LOL 🤙🤙
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Mahalo for your review! Don't forget to tell all your friends about it and follow us on social media @shakaguide to share your Shaka Guide experience 🤙😍🤙
Mike_M, Jul 2021
We enjoyed all of the waterfalls, the cave and the instructions from the guide - it was so informative. Don’t be afraid to pass things up for what is later in the tour!
Response from Host, Jul 2021
Mahalo for your review and recommendation. Hope to see you and your family again on more Shaka Guide adventures on the islands! 🤙😍🤙

From $19.99

per group (up to 15)

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Maui "Loop" Road To Hana Audio Driving Tour


12 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Road To Hana: Audio Driving Tour


8 to 16 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Maui "Reverse" Road To Hana Audio Driving Tour


10 to 12 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do