Siena

Vespa Tour with Lunch&Chianti Winery from Siena

Badge of ExcellenceSiena, Italy
Siena Vespa Tour Including Lunch at a Chianti Winery

From $142.51

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 7 hours 30 minutes
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

See the hills of Tuscany in true Italian style with this action-packed day trip on a Vespa scooter from Siena. Set off on your scooter through the Tuscan countryside, your guide leading the way, as you and other scooter-riding participants make your way to a Chianti winery for lunch. Tour the vineyards and cellars, sample some wine and indulge in an antipasto lunch before heading back to Siena.
  • Full-day Siena Vespa tour to the Chianti hills of Tuscany
  • Choose to ride your scooter or hop on behind your tour escort
  • Ride along quiet Tuscan roads and pass through pretty medieval villages
  • Tour a Chianti winery and sample Tuscan wines during a tasting session
  • Enjoy an antipasto lunch at the winery and relax at leisure before returning to Siena
  • Travel in a convoy under the watchful guidance of your guide and tour escorts

What's Included

  • Professional tour escorts and guide
  • Use of helmet
  • Winery tour with Wine tasting
  • Light Lunch made with typical fresh dishes
  • Gratuities
  • Pick-up and drop off on request with an extra charge

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Via della Resistenza, 95
    Via della Resistenza, 95, 53035 Badesse SI, Italy

    If you have not selected the pick up and drop-off option, please meet our staff in Badesse.

Pickup point

  • Hotel Minerva
    Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 72 Right Inside the Walls, Before the Limited Traffic Zone, 53100, Siena Italy

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

If you select the option with pick up service, please note that the pick up point is in front of Hotel Minerva, in Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 72, 53100, SI

What To Expect

After meeting up with your guide and tour escorts at you hotel in the center of Siena, strap on your helmut and get ready to travel, Italian style. Hop on your Vespa scooter, get a brief safety lecture, and follow your guide as you ride out of Siena. Alternatively, hop on a scooter with a tour escort if you prefer not to drive a scooter yourself. 

As you ride through the Tuscan countryside, take in the amazing views of the low-rolling hills, some clad with vineyards and olive groves, other topped by a rustic terra cotta-roofed villa. Pass by the village of Monteriggioni, a hill town dominated by the medieval walls that encircle it. Then ride into lush Chianti, cruising down tranquil country roads and passing ancient villages. If you've opted to share the scooter with a traveling companion, there will be ample breaks so you can switch drivers or stretch your legs. 

About halfway through the tour, hop off the Vespa at a wintery in Chianti to indulge in a traditional Tuscan lunch of prosciutto, salami, locally made cheese, thick country bread and olives. Sip some of local wine, including the famed Chianti Classico, Gallo Nero and even Super Tuscan. Take some time here to relax and enjoy the bucolic surroundings of the Chianti countryside. 

When the time comes, hop back on your Vespa for the ride back to Siena where the tour concludes.

Rocca di Castellina

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Castello di Radda (Pass By)

Casale dello Sparviero Winetour (Pass By)

Cantinetta di Monteriggioni - Montechiaro Organic Wine Experience

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Vegetarian menu is available for lunch upon request
  • Minimum ages: 18 years to drive and 13 to be a passenger
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • An international driver's license is required. A valid credit card is required in order to do the tour as a driver.
  • Please note that if you sign up for the tour as a driver consider that previous experience driving a scooter is required. The tour leader reserves the right at his or her absolute discretion to terminate the participation of any rider who is unable to drive the Vespa safely and no refund will be issued if this happen.
  • Should you choose to participate in the wine tasting, we recommend that you spit the wines out, rather than swallowing them. This is common practice at wine-tasting sessions, so you should feel comfortable doing this. By offering this tour through this website, Viator and its affiliates do not condone driving after alcohol consumption
  • Near public transportation
  • If special circumstances arise due to weather conditions, we may be forced to modify the planned route with an alternative one, possibly maintaining the duration and quality of service.
  • The tour take place rain or shine. In case the weather does not allow us to attend the tour due to heavy rain or wind, clients will be offered an alternative or a full refund. In case a storm occur during the tour and the guide decide that for security reasons is better not to continue with the tour you will be escorted back to the departure place but if this happen no refund will be issued as this is beyond our control
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • At the time of the rental a pre-authorization on credit card will be made as a guarantee for any damage, which will be canceled upon return from the tour if there has been no material damage to the vehicle.
  • For the exclusivity of the vehicle, it is necessary to book for the "driver option". If you book the sharing option, the vehicle will be shared with another passenger.
  • Please note that any damage made to the vespa during the tour, need to be paid by the customer
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


highly recommend the vespa tour, a lot of fun and the guide always alert to our safety through traffic
Reviews by Viator travelers. We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
116 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 116 reviews
A bucket list item to check off!
Jeffrey_J, Oct 2023
What an excellent way to see Chianti I on a Vespa! Fredricho was an excellent guide leading us and stopping @ 3 towns allowing plenty of time to sightsee, shop, and experience the local atmosphere. Stopping @ Casale Dello Sparviero Winery was amazing! Jada was an inviting and knowledgeable host and the light lunch and tasting was perfect!
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing the feedback of your experience with us. We are glad to know that you had a good time and enjoyed the tour. Thank you for appreciating our guide's work. Appreciate your good words and your positive opinion. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Best day ever
TRACEY_P, Oct 2023
Best day ever riding Vespas through the scenic hills of Tuscany. Nice stops at a few little towns and lovely vineyard for wine tasting and a light lunch
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Happy to know that you enjoyed the tour and had a good time at each destination. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Rent one and tour the countryside yourself without paying the money for this excursion
rskarns, Sep 2023
Riding behind my husband on the Vespa was a fun experience. He has experience of driving a motorcycle so he adapted well. Another guest who said they drove Vespas previously was denied driving one on the excursion due to safety concerns. We only stopped in 2 villages and 1/2 the ride was on beautiful country roads and the last 1/2 of the tour was in industrial areas. Wine tasting was not worth the stop. Two glasses were given to taste, both reds, and no tour of the winery itself. If it wasn't for the idea of getting lost, it makes more sense to rent a Vespa and tour the countryside by yourself as the guides weren't really necessary.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for the feedback and sharing your experience with us. Glad that you had a fun experience overall. As per the other guest that was denied, he didn't pass the driving test and for our customer's safety we couldn't approve the tour in this case. Wineries are the result of our searching for the best place for our customers to enjoy wine, and we're sorry that you didn't like it. We are sorry to hear that you haven't liked our guide's work, our guide has many years that do this kind of tour and knows very well how to manage the tour itself and each situation. The safety that you get from the guided tour, is not the same as the one when you drive by yourself. Although the customers might be very good at the Vespa driving, there is always the need of an expert. Thank you for your understanding. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Don’t choice this vendor
Kim_M, Sep 2023
They didn’t show up even though I had a confirmation with our hotel as pick up point and didn’t refund our 600.00!
Don’t book this tour
Chiara_F, Aug 2023
The worst experience ever. Suppose to be a guided tour and only thing he did was ride his Vespa in front of not a word spoken. When we returned the Vespa we were told that we damaged it and demanded payment. This company is run by thieves. Please beware very unscrupulous and not worth the money!!!
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We feel really sorry to know that you didn't have the experience you expected on the tour with our teamThe service for this tour was provided from our company and the tour took place as usual. As per the Vespa we always make sure to notify the customer before booking this reservation that for driving a Vespa is required to sign the rental contract and a pre-authorization on a credit card will be made as a guarantee for any damage, which will be canceled upon return from the tour if there has been no material damage to the vehicle. Also, this information is noted to the additional information on our tour site too. Sorry to hear those words for our guide, as it is one of the best employees on our staff and knows very well how to manage the tour. Thank you for your understanding and again we are sorry to know your unsatisfaction of the tour. Our company always provides the best service we can for our customers, as they are a priority for us. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Vespa fun!
Ankita_N, Jul 2023
Our tour guide was great! We were a tad disappointed with the winery because they didn’t provide a full wine tasting. They only provided 2 glasses and it was not of the most famous Chianti bottles. Other than that the winery was beautiful and the light snack they provided was good.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour. It's one of our priorities to make customers happy. Looking forward to see you again in our tours. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Total Scam Vespa Tour
Dolores_G, Jul 2023
When our group of 9 arrived there weren’t enough scooters for everyone! They charged $260 more, then had each of us “take a test drive” for 4 minutes only to tell us NO you cannot ride. What a scam! Lunch was at a low rate winery. NOTHING was as it said when I booked this tour What a waste of money, time, and day!
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear Customer, We feel really sorry to know that you didn't have the experience you expected on the tour with our team. In this instance, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and for letting us know what happened, so we can have the possibility to improve our services. It is not true at all that we kept $260, cause we gave back to you $130, as the group later was not able to drive the Vespa.We tried our best to find the best solution in this case, but we could not do anything else as you wern't able to drive the Vespa. We always make sure to notify the customer before booking this reservation that they should be equipped with a driver license in order to drive the Vespa. Also, this information is noted to the additional information on our tour site too. The customers who take part in this tour should be drivers with experience of driving Vespa. As for the restaurant, we always choose the best places for our customers, in order they can have a good service there. Sorry to hear that you haven't enjoyed your time there. Please contact us on our email address customercare@mytours.it for any further information or details of the issues that has disturbed you during this trip. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
dangerous and poorly executed
Amy_B, Jun 2023
do not do this tour unless you are an experienced vespa rider!!!! i have ridden one before - they give you a test in a small parking lot with parked cars and vespas and i u fortunately crashed because there was no room to turn- my group of 15 people all failed the test and it took them(2 young men- 21 years old) over an hour to figure out an alternative plan. It was not there fault, as it was the owner to have a poorly planned and advertised trip. They had the audacity to charge me 250 dollars for scratching the vespa, which i will dispute with the credit card company .
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Dear customer, We feel really sorry to know that you didn't have the experience you expected on the tour with our team. In this instance, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and for letting us know what happened, so we can have the possibility to improve our services. We always make sure to notify the customer before booking this reservation that they should be equipped with a driver license in order to drive the Vespa. Also, this information is noted to the additional information on our tour site too. The customers who take part in this tour should be expert drivers. At the time, the driving test was given to you, and you were told to make a turn; you didn't manage the situation and you crashed. If you were really an experienced driver and had driven a Vespa many times before taking part in this tour, you should know how to manage the situation perfectly and make a turn at this point without damaging the Vespa. So we are saying that making the turn at the narrow place was part of the driving test, which seems that you could not pass it. As for the damage to the vehicle, at the time of the rental a pre-authorization on credit card will be made as a guarantee for any damage, which will be canceled upon return from the tour if there has been no material damage to the vehicle. Please, you can contact us at our email address customercare@mytours.it for any further information or giving details about your experience during the trip. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Family Vespa Day
Rebecca_M, Jun 2023
It was great fun for our kids and us! Super way to see the country side. Lunch was very light just a meat and cheese board. Very young guides.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Dear Rebecca, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're glad to hear that you and your family really enjoyed our Vespa tour. Our main goal is to show travellers the natural and authentic side of Tuscany, through its hilly roads and its enogastronomic tradition. We hope to be able to see you back again in Italy also in the future. Best regards, myTour in Italy
Great Tour but beware of Viator poor customer service
Rick_K, Jun 2023
This tour was fantastic, and our guide, Mathilde, was awesome and made the day great. The only problem we had was that Mathilde discouraged us from taking 4 vespers like we had reserved and instead going as couples on 2 vespers. The cost of which is significantly lower. I had to pursue a refund thru Viator customer service. They gave me the runaround and their answers were so generic that it suggested they never took our request seriously and just found ways to refuse to refund our money. I’d recommend this tour operator but would be very careful with Viator.
Just the fun of riding...
Alexander_L, May 2023
Just the fun of riding through the countryside. Gelato too! I would recommend that the tour operator put up a sign ( even temporary) to help find the location. They are in an industrial area and we had no idea we were in the right location until we saw them roll out the Vespas out of a warehouse. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.
Cool but over priced, also beware of Vespa
Cassie_O, May 2023
The Vespa ride through the country side was pretty cool. They dropped us off in some towns and didn’t show us around. Also did not explain further. Not much of a tour in that regards. **** Only sign up for Vespa ride if you have experience and only sign up for 2 people on a Vespa if you have experience carrying someone else. It is very dangerous. I think it was too pricey for what you get.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Cassie, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're glad that you enjoyed the Vespa ride! The itinerary we suggest is meant to show you the beautiful countryside of Tuscany, so we're very happy to know that you had appreciated it. Concerning the fact that the tour was not that much guided, we're very sorry and surprised to hear that. Our travellers opinions and feedbacks are surely fundamental for us, so thank you for information, we can surely work on it to make it even more enjoyable. Our travellers' safety is our number one priority, as you can also read on the tour page on Viator, so thank you also for giving your suggestion for future travellers. Concerning the price, we always make sure to guarantee the best price-quality ratio, as it includes a tour leader, lunch with wine tasting, rent of the Vespa and fuel. We're really grateful that you took the time to share with us your experience and it would be a pleasure for us to see you back again also in the future. Best regards, myTour in Italy
Excellent but bit drawn out.
Michelle_o, May 2023
This tour was great but could be much shorter. All elements were excellent but only needed half hour in village rather than 1.5 hour. Winery was great but again too long time spent there. We loved it all but could be condensed into a half day tour. Then it would be perfecto! Guides were very informative and lovely to engage with.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Michelle, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We always want to ensure that travellers can enjoy the tour itinerary and have enough time to explore the lovely small town of the Chianti region. Most of the people wish to have enough break time in the winery after the ride, that is why we planned more time for the stop to the winery. We really appreciate your suggestions, as we really do care about travellers' feedback. We hope to be able to see you again in the future. Best regards, myTour in Italy
Fun day in the Chianti countryside
scaputo3030, May 2023
We had Matilde and Francesco and our day was fantastic! The equipment was fairly new and in good working order. We started with a stop for gelato, then off to a town. We actually stopped in 4 towns with free time to walk around in each. Matilde described each of the areas with a bit of history. Both guides kept an eye on us while riding and spoke with us throughout the day. Very fun folks. The wine tasting was an appetizer lunch with meats,cheeses,bread spreads to be paired with the tasting. The winery tour was very interesting. There were 2 tastings (probably because we had to get back on the vespas). You could ask for a few more tastings if you purchased wine. We had a great time and would recommend it to others as long as you are comfortable with a scooter. The scooters were east to drive.
Fun on two wheels.
Scott_D, May 2023
Vespa was a terrific experience as we met wonderful people and had an excellent host, Georgo. The food was very good as well.
Fantastic way to take in all of the beauty of the Tuscan countryside.
Rick_B, Apr 2023
Driving the vintage Vespa on the roads through the rolling Tuscan Countryside. The lunch and wine tasting were a highlight as well. Visiting the small Tuscan towns in the Chianti region was quite interesting.
Tour guides were...
Beth_N, Apr 2023
Tour guides were fantastic! So much fun! The views were amazing! It was a cold day but we made the best of it!
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Beth, Thank you for joining our Vespa tour in Chianti! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the activity - our guides always work hard to ensure the best of it! It would be a pleasure for us to have you back again in the future. Best regards, myTour in Italy
Fun activity but could be improved
Tanya_R, Apr 2023
Overall this was a fun way to see the Tuscan countryside but there were many things that could have been done better by this tour operator. 1) The day began with rain and as described in the tour conditions, it's a "rain or shine" contract. Given that riding on wet roads is dangerous, I believe they should provide the option to reschedule or ride in an alternate form of transport like the Fiat 500. The weather improved for us but it was a concern. 2) The meeting point is 15 minutes outside of Siena. We had a car so this wasn't problem, but other guests said that the operator was going to charge 100 euro per person to provide pick up and drop off which is ridiculous. 3) When we arrived, we were barely greeted by the tour "guides" and I didn't even learn their names (Matilde and Sveva) until I asked at our first stop. They did not try to engage with their guests and make it a personal, fun experience. They were all about the paperwork, making sure you knew how to ride the scooter, and were basically a tour escort, personal GPS, vs a tour guide. I love doing tours to meet locals and have fun with others and they were not friendly and didn't seem to like their jobs. 4) The equipment was not in great condition which given the 2023 season just started is shocking. One of the scooters kept stalling and couldn't be used, one was missing a mirror and others had trim pieces that were loose. Additionally, and this isn't listed in the tour info, they were providing guests that were not comfortable driving a vespa the option of driving a Fiat 500, however, the cars didn't end up working so the guests left. We were surprised the tour guides were the only ones on site and there was no mechanic or help to ensure the equipment was in top shape. 5) We ended up stopping in 3 towns for 45 minutes plus the wine tasting stop. While enjoyable, I believe the stops are unnecessary and don't add a lot to the tour, especially since the tour guides don't have much to say about them. Speaking with the other guests, most of us chose the tour because of wanting to ride a vespa, see the beautiful countryside and have a wine tasting lunch. We also said we almost didn't choose the tour because it was an all-day event. It doesn't need to be and I would recommend that different tour options be offered. A tour starting at 9 and finishing at 1 would be ideal. Our tour was supposed to start at 9:30 and finish at 5 p.m. We didn't leave until 10:45, stopped 3 times for 45 minutes, lunch for an hour or more, and finished at 4. So 5 hours and 15 minutes of tour and 3 1/2 hours of it were not on the vespa. I would like more time on the vespa, quick stops for pictures, and time for lunch. 6) The wine tasting lunch was nice but there was no tour of the winery as described. Also, it should be noted that the driveway to the winery is steep so they have you park at the bottom and walk up. This took 15 minutes and might be a challenge for some people and not expected on a vespa tour. The great parts? The vespa, the countryside and the lunch. Given that this wasn't really a guided tour, I believe renting a vespa and using a navigation system would be cheaper and more efficient. We had a fun time but did not get value out of the tour as currently operated.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Tanya, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We always appreciate the suggestions and thoughts travellers tell us so that we can improve our tours and activities! Thank you also for sharing your concerns regarding the weather conditions, the vespas and the equipment, it's in our interest to ensure both safety and fun during the trip. We're sincerely sorry to hear that the tour lacked enthusiasm from our guides, surely we can work on that. As for the pickup and drop-off service you mentioned, since our main business in focused on offering tours and activities, the only transfer service is an extra for us-this necessarily requires the exclusive use of our means of transportation. We will take into account your suggestions on how we could improve our itinerary and the visit to the winery, so that the tour becomes even more enjoyable! Thank you for giving us 4/5 stars in spite of everything and for choosing us. Best regards, myTour in Italy
Fun in beautiful Tuscan country.
Gordon_T, Nov 2022
Our guide, Matilde, cared much for our safety. Since we had no experience riding a Vespa, she suggested we drive a Fiat 500. This was so charming and the flip top was perfect for Tuscan weather. Lovely views, lovely food, lovely wines.
Diego made the Day
Paul_K, Nov 2022
My daughter and I were slightly apprehensive (although excited also very excited) because neither of us had any experience with a Vespa. It made matters worse when our taxi dropped us off in an unpromising industrial park, far from the centre of Siena city. But the moment when we met our tour guide, the Vespa tour turned into the highlight of this Italian vacation! Diego gave us much more than anybody could ever expect from a tour guide. He provided not only confidence and advice, but also detailed information and historical context -- all in Excellent English (although all the other customers were Italian). Our only regret was that he couldn't join us for lunch!
...

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Vespa Tour with Lunch&Chianti Winery from Siena

116

7 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$142.51
No Photo
Vespa Tour in Chianti Small Group from Florence

43

6 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$142.51
No Photo
Vintage Fiat 500 Tour from Siena: Tuscan Hills and Winery Lunch

49

7 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$165.71

Explore Similar Things to Do