Maui

Best of Maui Haleakala, Iao Valley & Central Maui

Maui, USA
Haleakala Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour
  • 9 hours 30 minutes
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

From the lunar summit of Haleakala Crater to the viewpoint for Iao Needle, explore the best of Central Maui on this informative, guided day tour. Hotel pickup is conveniently provided, and the tour also visits historic Wailuku—a funky, yet up-and-coming hot spot. Learn the island’s agricultural history and hear its legends and stories, and experience some of the island’s best scenery from its valleys right up to its peak.
  • Full-day trip to Haleakala, Iao Valley and central Maui
  • See a dormant volcano in Haleakala National Park
  • Enjoy scenic drives past Maui's flower farms and sugar cane farms
  • Admire the Iao Needle in Iao Valley State Park
  • Professionally narrated tour
  • Pickup and drop-off at Maui hotels

What's Included

  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Haleakala National Park admission
  • Pick-up and drop-off at specific Maui hotels
  • Tour narration by a professional driver/guide
  • Lunch
  • Port pickup and drop-off
  • Gratuities

Meeting and Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

06:00 AM

Pickup details

IMPORTANT: Access is restricted to Lahaina on the west side of Maui. The tour times provided reflect the start and end of the tour, but not your exact pickup and drop off time. Whether or not you've provided your hotel/lodging at the time of booking, you are required to contact the tour provider no less than (2) days prior to your tour date to receive your exact pickup time and location. The tour provider will advise you of the specific area at the hotel/lodging you should wait; for example "at the front entrance." Please be there at least 5 minutes before your pickup time. If your hotel/lodging is not included on our pickup schedule, you'll be advised to meet at nearby location. Please note that we are prohibited by certain properties to pickup non-hotel guests and we do not pick-up at private properties such as AirBnB's and residential areas.

What To Expect

Your Central Maui day trip begins with a hotel pickup, where a knowledgeable, informative, and professional guide will help introduce you to the island. You’ll explore both State and National Parks while hearing the island’s history, and even get a glimpse of historic Wailuku—the County seat of government.

On the tour’s first stop, wind your way through Maui’s Upcountry before reaching Haleakala Crater—one of the island’s most dramatically scenic and popular spots to visit. This 10,000 ft. (3,007m) volcano has been dormant since 1790, and covers 33,000 acres of cinder cones and remote, tropical forest.

After descending the mountain and stopping for lunch (own expense), drive past fields of waving sugar to the famous Iao Needle, where King Kamehameha fiercely battled to place Maui under his control. A short hike leads to the viewpoint for the pointy, forested needle, which rises 1,200 feet (366m) from the valley floor against a verdant backdrop of cliffs. Later on, at the top of Wailuku, visit historic Ka’ahumanu Church—which is backed by Iao Valley—and hear the history of this picturesque church built in 1876.

On the final journey back to your hotel, drive through Wailuku past farms and fields before returning by mid-afternoon, allowing enough time to make plans for the night—if you have energy after the day tour.

Haleakala National Park

1 hour 15 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Haleakala Crater (Pass By)

Haleakala Visitor Center

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Historic Makawao Town

1 hour 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Wailuku (Pass By)

Kaahumanu Church (Pass By)

Iao Valley

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please contact the tour provider at minimum of 7 days prior to the tour date for ADA and all special requests.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Haleakala is known for rapidly changing weather conditions and dense clouds and rain are common. As a result, clear viewing of the sunrise is not guaranteed, and the tour operates rain or shine. Refunds will be granted only when the tour is cancelled for safety reasons.
  • The high altitude at the summit area may complicate health conditions and breathing difficulties. Elderly visitors, pregnant women, young children, and those with respiratory or heart conditions should consult their doctor prior to touring. Walk slowly and drink water to avoid dehydration. If you have gone scuba diving, you should wait at least 72 hours before going on this tour.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Reviews

4.0
171 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 171 reviews
Don’t book they will just cancel on you
Alex_A, Jan 2024
Canceled by tour provider and it was perfect weather don’t book they will just cancel on you rent fa car and drive the island
Response from Host, Jan 2024
We are sorry that your tour was cancelled - due to safety concerns. Atop Haleakala at high elevations where the tour visits, wind conditions were of concern due to recent storm conditions. Thank you for posting a review.
Sightseeing on Maui
Kenneth_M, Dec 2023
We really enjoyed our tour with Uncle Mitch. We were a small group of eight so had a lot of chances to ask questions and learn about Maui and the sights we were visiting. The only negative was being dropped off at the mall for lunch. A local restaurant or food truck would have been better but not a dying mall.
Breathtaking views and...
Charles_B, Sep 2023
Breathtaking views and wonderfully contrasting scenery, knowledgeable tour guide made the whole thing come together
Volcano Tour Is A Thumbs Up
Dale_B, Jul 2023
Our trip to the volcano and sites along the way was amazing. We enjoyed the history and culture that our tour guide Henry presented to us. We also asked lots of questions,which he answered . Polynesian Adventures was fantastic.
Awesome
Phalandis_B, Jun 2023
This was a great tour. We learned some of Maui’s history saw breathtaking sites. This is a great tour.
Cool parks and town. Frustrating long dat!
Clifton_A, Jun 2023
We enjoyed the views on top of Haleakala. Iao Needle area was so lush and green. The hills and mountains looked like something out of a Jurassic Park movie. The town we ate in had cute little boutiques and shops. We ate at Freshies which lived up to its name. We had fresh tacos and the burrito. So good! Unfortunately our driver was 25 minutes late. I was trying to get a hold of anybody to let me know if the tour was still on or cancelled. Very stressful! We made many stops to pick up people. The tour never really started until after 8 am. We were to be picked up at 620. So, it started out very late. We had more bathroom breaks than I have ever had on a tour. So, although the dormant volcano, Iao Needle, and the small boutique town were cool, other parts of this tour made for a very long boring trip. I would not recommend Polynesian tours.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
We are sorry to hear that your expectations for the tour were not met. Your feedback has been shared with our management team. Hope you had a nice time in the islands! Mahalo.
Nice road tour
Sharon_F, May 2023
The tour guide, Alfredo, was very knowledgeable and entertaining about the areas we visited. The van was comfortable. We were picked up and dropped off right at our hotel.
Views from the top are amazing
Jay_A, Apr 2023
Dino our tour guide and driver was very friendly and informative. Had a great view from the top! Really glad we took this tour and not drove ourselves as the road is very curvy and the fog and cloud cover move in quickly.
Sales was fabulous. So...
John_R, May 2022
Sales was fabulous. So knowledgeable and humorous. He took very good care of us, assured our comfort and safety. He had to deal with a couple of glitches with transportation and managed it well. The volcano was spectacular, and the trip up to it was amazing.
Enjoyed it
Anne_H, Apr 2022
Watching clouds clear over the crater, revealing a spectacular sight. But for the most part, this tour was spent sitting on a bus. Better to do it on your own so you can hike down into the crater.
Must do tour!!
Erica_E, Mar 2022
Excellent tour! Cousin Mitch was our tour guide! He was so friendly and knowledgeable about Haleakala and Iao Valley! He gave us enough time at each stop.
Good tour, but definitely could have spent more time at Iao Valley!
Emily_B, Mar 2022
The drive to Haleakala is definitely not something I would try driving on my own. But honestly, you don’t need a tour guide for Iao Valley. You can definitely drive there yourself if you have your own car. I wish were able to spend more time at Iao Valley. It was absolutely breathtaking but it felt super rushed and I know there were more areas to explore there. We will most likely go back to Iao Valley on our own so we can get the full experience!
Very informative
Linda_K, Mar 2022
Seeing the crater and the rainforest and all of the interesting information and history cousin Mitchell provided.
Great day exploring Haleakala
Cheryl_B, Oct 2021
My husband and I enjoyed the entire day. We saw a large part of the island while going to Haleakala. The views for Iao Valley are amazing. The driver/ tour guide Mitch is one of the best!
Out of this world views.
Samantha_J, Oct 2021
We had an amazing time, the views are out of this world and the stories about the island make it that much better. Lots to see and learn. Would recommend 👌
Memorable Bus Tour
MALUISA_M, Sep 2021
We are MaLu & George. It was fascinating & memorable tour on my (MaLu) birthday on August 25, 2021 with Mitzel being friendly & well-informed guide. First we would like to use this platform to reconnect with Zylou, the 2-year old boy & his wonderful mom Jakie. Please call us at 360-606-7888. We miss them both. We were awed by the view on top of Haleakala looking down at the dormant volcano crater & the lush green beauty of Iao Valley. This experience was highlighted by allowing us to enjoy Zylou with his mom Jakie. Zylou was so fond with George that he kept on calling his name (George) in & out of the bus where all the passengers sang with Zylou. He played & cuddled with George where the mom thanked us for she had a time for herself while we took care & enjoyed with Zylou. It made our day complete.
Go for it
Traveller, Aug 2021
Very good tour. Certainly worth it. Would absolutely recommend it. Ur tour guide S’ale was fantastic
Best tour guide ever
RANDI_A, Jun 2021
We had the best guide. He was knowledgeable and made a point to know all of our names. So glad we did this!
Haleakala
Candice_F, May 2021
Punctual pick up and drop. Our guide Wayne was awesome. Lots of information! Beautiful photo opportunities! We had a great day!
From the volcano to the valley
Rita_H, Apr 2021
Our guide was the best we’ve had. So knowledgeable about history and the plants. Our tour was part of the slow startup since Covid and opening up Maui again under strict regulations - so lunch stop was not able to happen. However, extra stops made up for it and we were given opportunities to grab snacks, etc at other places. We are so glad we took this tour!
...
Likely to Sell Out

From $171.39

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Best of Maui Haleakala, Iao Valley & Central Maui

171

9 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$171.39
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Haleakala Sunrise Maui Tour with Breakfast

1,507

10 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$235.60
No Photo
Best Haleakala Downhill Self-Guided Bike Tour with Maui Sunriders

363

4 to 5 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$129.00
No Photo
Haleakala National Park with Breakfast SOUTH SIDE Pickup

50

8 to 9 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$240.78

Explore Similar Things to Do