Auschwitz-Birkenau Tour from Krakow with Hotel Pickup

Kraków, Poland
Auschwitz and Birkenau Guided tour from Krakow

From $35.28

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 6 to 7 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Offered in: English


Avoid the hassle of organizing car rental and instead, get between Krakow and Auschwitz-Memorial and Museum with ease on this day tour. After a Krakow hotel pickup, set off on a drive directly to the UNESCO World Heritage Site dedicated to the victims who lost their lives in Nazi-occupied Poland. Upon arrival, either go on a guided tour or an independent walk around, depending on your chosen preferences.
  • Spend a day visiting Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial and Museum
  • The trip includes pickup from hotels in Krakow’s city center
  • Travel in a vehicle that’s equipped with air-conditioning
  • No need to wait to purchase tickets: Admission is included

What's Included

  • Tour leader and tour guide (optional)
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • All Fees and Taxes
  • E-book in English for each participant ("The Stories of Auschwitz")
  • Food and drinks
  • Guidebook of Auschwitz and Birkenau (possible to buy in local bookstore)

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

Select your preferred tour option to see hours.
View tour option

End points

This activity ends in a different location. See details below:
Type to search

Pickup details

Pickups are arranged from your hotel between 7 am and 1 pm. The approximate pickup time can be verified by contacting the local service provider. All pickups are arranged only from places with availability to stop, within a 2km radius from the Krakow city centre. If your pickup location is in an area beyond this or in an area with limited traffic, then we will pick you up from the nearest possible pickup place.

What To Expect

Panstwowe Muzeum Auschwitz-Birkenau

3 hours Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infant seats available
  • Stroller accessible
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Tickets for children (3-12) includes entrance ticket without the receivers and headphones in Auschwitz. If you want your child to visit with headset please book "Youth tickets"
  • Youth tickets discount is only with valid student ID card, in the day of the tour. Please ensure to take student ID card with you, otherwise you will need to pay an extra fee for an adult ticket
  • Please note that the maximum size of bags and backpacks allowed on the museum grounds is 30 x 20 x 10 centimeters (roughly 12 x 8 x 4 inches). You can always leave your belongings inside the vehicle, or in the luguage store in Auschwitz.
  • Regarding Terms of Use at the Auschwitz & Birkenau Museum, it is mandatory to provide full names of all participants of the tour.
  • It highly recommend reserving a whole day for the tour as the start time may change following the rules of Auschwitz.
  • A uniquely personalized English ebook is valid for each participant of the tour.
  • The duration of the tour includes the travel time
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more


65 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 65 reviews
Awesome, checklist for everyone
matthew_c, Jan 2024
Amazing and also harrowing, hard to describe. Notes Must have ID similar to getting on a plane, eat something before you go, it is at a fairly fast pace, information is also amazing and harrowing by amazing guides
Response from Host, Feb 2024
We are proud to know that we could help you have this moving experience. Thank you very much for your advice to our next customers. Kind regards Andrew AT Cracow
Not hotel pick up as booked
Joanne_H, Jan 2024
The trip was interesting, I’m not sure you could call it good given what you are, hear and think about but very thought provoking. Sadly the guide we had appeared uninterested and it was quite rushed with very little time to actually read info or take in what you were seeing. Despite being advertised as hotel pick up, it wasn’t and we were dropped off in the town centre and not near the hotel.
Rita_B, Dec 2023
NO hotel pick-up 🤔 and couldn't find the meeting point, so missed the bus. NO alternative offered, very disappointed
Deceptive. Full Day Tour is only really a rushed Half Day, and no hotel pickup.
Launie_K, Nov 2023
I booked this tour because it advertised hotel pickup and I did not want to hassle with finding a pickup location the morning of the tour. The afternoon before, they messaged a different pickup location over 20 minutes from our hotel and at 7:10 in the morning. After calling them, they gave us a new location a little closer, but it still was 15 minutes walking, and even earlier. Added to this, the tour is advertised as 6-7 hours. Well that included driving. We got 1.5 hours in Auschwitz 1 and only an hour in the massive Auschwitz 2. We were rushed around both areas and had no time to even read any signs. No time for reflection. The tour guide walked at such a fast pace that if we dawdled at all (say to stop and really absorb the amount of shoes in the shoe room) we would exit the building and find he was around the corner and halfway down the block already. A few times we was so far away that my headset was losing signal of him. And being behind can't be helped because the halls and stairs were crowed with other tours so you are just shuffling through tight walkways trying to get in or out. It was like herding cattle in shoots. Ridiculous! I spent the whole morning just trying to keep up and not having any time to really absorb the monstrosity of the site. The guide was very knowledgeable but very robotic. Like he has done this tour a thousand times and seen it all and it is just something to get through quickly at this point. The tour company also put people who purchased the Salt Mine tour in our group, so we had to cut Auschwitz at half a day so they could continue to the Salt mines after we were dropped off. So we paid for and expected a day trip, but we got half a day. We arrived Auschwitz 1 around 9:00 and left Auschwitz 2 around 12:30. We got only 15 minutes to eat, use the bathroom, and peruse the bookstore in between stops. The bathroom lines took most of that time. Utter disappointment. I only give a star to the driver and one for the organization of getting group tours into the museums. I would recommend going self guided, or find a tour company that will spend an actual full day there. This is not it.
Rushed through because our tour bus got behind schedule
suzanne_k, Nov 2023
This was a trip i was really looking forward to but unfortunately this tour bus was not very good. First, we had a last minute pick up change, but that was not too big of a deal. The bus was filled and we were off the concentration camp. When we got to the second part of the tour, Birkenau, i overheard our tour bus driver tell our guide at Birkenau that they were behind schedule, apparently the tour bus we came on was also taking a group to the salt mines! and they rushed us through so fast we did not get to experience Birkenau the way other tour groups were doing, we never even saw the memorial. Very disappointed, i am not sure if it was because the bus hit unexpected traffic or what, but i would not recommend this tour. I do recommend everyone vist the concentration camp, it is life changing, but pick another tour company.
Disappointing to say the least….
Hannah_D, Nov 2023
Rather disappointing the evening before our trip our pick up time was changed from 10am to 6.40am. Picking up of guests was very disorganised- we spent an hour picking people up before even departing from krakow centre! At the memorial/ first camp we spent about 2 hours here our tour guide was great, very informative and gave us a great insight into this first camp. We then continued onto the second camp which is where is all went down hill our tour guide informed us we would need an hour minimum at this camp in order to see everything however we only spent 20 minutes max at this camp which meant we looked in one barrack and then returned back to the bus so other guests could continue their travels onto the salt mines! This was extremely disappointing and needs to be organised better- wouldn’t recommend this company very disorganised which is such a same as the tour guide was great!
Sad but well spoken
eleanor_B, Nov 2023
Michel was just lovely and explained with a heartfelt understanding that let us understand about this atrocity Thank you for an educational experience
Response from Host, Nov 2023
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the trip and found it very educational. Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Andrew AT Cracow
Not well organised
Sarah_D, Nov 2023
The bus arrived late, we were late arriving at Auschwitz and had to wait outside for a further 30 minutes. The people on our coach got split into 3 groups, our group was late coming out of Auschwitz 1 which meant the other 2 groups and the coach had already left for Auschwitz 2 so more waiting around for the bus to return for us. We got to Auschwitz 2 and had to rush around so the bus didn’t leave late. We were unable to get any food or even take a look in the gift shop. Very disappointing
Well worth a visit
Gwendoline_C, Oct 2023
After reading a true story about Auschwicz many years ago I had the opportunity to see it for myself on my visit to Krakow. It was a somber, thought provoking experience. The guide was very knowledgeable but the tour felt rushed. My husband and Daughter in law who I travelled with have medical conditions which result in a slower pace of walking. Many times we missed information as the guide did not wait for the group to come together. We would have also liked more time at Birchenau as that was more interesting in my opinion but we missed a lot of information for the above reasons due to being rushed and not being able to hear the guide. Having said that we are pleased that we visited the sites for all the right reasons
Northern Ireland couple
Paul_J, Oct 2023
Excellent communication when I booked. Both guides one on the bus and at the camp were excellent. First class!!!
Response from Host, Oct 2023
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the trip. Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Andrew AT Cracow
Excellent and thought provoking
Ben_H, Jun 2023
Very well run tour with excellent guides. A must visit if you are in Krakow. Worth the early start we had.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Hello We're delighted to hear that you had a great experience on our tour and that it was worth the early start Thank you for choosing our tour, and we hope to have the opportunity to see you again in the future. Kind regards Andrew AT Cracow
Amazing, and makes you think.
Kaye_H, Jun 2023
What an amazing tour, very sad but a must do. Our guide was also great and very knowledgeable. Would only recommend it once, but a school trip would be great for the kids.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear Kaye, Thank you for your feedback. Visiting the Auschwitz Museum is not recommended before the age of 14 due to the drastic and very difficult to understand historical facts. Kind regards, Kinga AT Cracow
Sad event in history
Sharon_L, Jun 2023
Very interesting and heart wrenching Glad I went a must visit for anyone visiting Poland and to understand the horrible things these people were subjected to 🇵🇱🇵🇱😕😕
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear Sharon, Thank you for sharing your thoughts and emotions, and we hope that the visit has provided you with a deeper understanding of this dark chapter in history. Kind regards, Andrew AT Cracow
I will never forget this whole day ……….
Richard_R, May 2023
As much of a really horrible place to visit I think you must visit this place ! If you don’t have any empathy for these poor souls then you are not human . This tour was well organised and professional under the circumstances . The bus guy was clear and concise and also the driver was efficient also . The guide who took us through Auschwitz was really well spoken and empathetic .. I would recommend this tour group to anyone . Thank you
Response from Host, Jun 2023
We understand the emotional impact of visiting Auschwitz and appreciate your recommendation. We're pleased to hear that you found the tour well-organized and professional. Thank you for acknowledging our guide and driver. Your empathy is valued. Kind regards, Kinga AT Cracow
Informative trip!
Stuart_M, Apr 2023
Really informative tour. Great pick up and drop off. Well organised by Justina our group leader and Marcin our guide. Very much recommend!
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Stuart, We appreciate your opinion and we are very happy that we were able to make this a satisfying and meaningful experience for you. Kind regards, Kinga
robert_m, Mar 2023
The tour itself was amazing. Learnt so much more than anticipated, but I wouldn’t book anything with Viator again. It is very misleading. Was supposed to be picked up from hotel but wasn’t . Was told to travel to a different hotel in order to be collected. As I’m disabled I was very very disappointed .
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Robert, The hotel where you stayed is 6 km from the city center. The offer clearly states: "All pickups are arranged only from places with availability to stop, within a 2km radius from the Krakow city centre. If your pickup location is in an area beyond this or in an area with limited traffic, then we will pick you up from the nearest possible pickup place." Thank you for the opinion. Kind regards, Kinga
The guide in the bus was...
Emilie_K, Mar 2023
The guide in the bus was so informative and nice. The guide in auschwitz and birkenau gave us so mutch information!
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Emilie, Thank you very much for your opinion. We are glad that you are satisfied with your trip with us. Such opinions encourage us to work even more. Kind regards, Kinga AT Cracow
We booked an English...
Isabel_W, Mar 2023
We booked an English guided tour. But on arrival were just dumped and left to wander alone. Guide just told us what time to be back at the coach
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Dear Isabel, Everything has been done on our part, according to the option you selected in your booking: "This is a self-guided experience." I have carefully checked your reservation and I don't see legitimacy this review in relation to your booking. We also offer a tour with an official guide-educator from the museum, but you did not choose this option when making your reservation. Kind regards Kinga AT Cracow
Auschwitz visit
James_B, Feb 2023
An experience that should be seen by all people as a reminder of the atrocities committed at these camps. The visit was well organised by Charles who was a good guide on our journey. Margaret was a knowledgeable guide inside both camps.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
We couldn't agree more that it is important for everyone to understand the atrocities committed at these camps and to never forget the victims. We are glad to hear that you found our tour well-organized and informative, and we will be sure to pass your compliments along to Charles and Margaret. We appreciate your support.
Do not recommend
Georgina_B, Dec 2022
We were picked up from the airport and taken to Auschwitz-Birkenau where the driver left us. We were then told that we had to go into Auschwitz first and then go back to that part later on as we didn’t have any tickets. After waiting for the driver to return we were then driven to the correct place and left again. We were then told that we had no tickets or tour guide. After an hour on the phone back and fourth, we found out that our driver had our tickets and needed to take us in, again after waiting for him we managed to get inside but still without a tour guide.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Auschwitz-Birkenau Tour from Krakow with Hotel Pickup


7 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Auschwitz-Birkenau Guided Tour with Pickup from Krakow


7 hours
Free Cancellation
Special Offer
No Photo
SALT MINE Wieliczka guided tour with Hotel Pickup


4 to 5 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do