Cancun

Isla Contoy Eco Adventure

Badge of ExcellenceCancun, Mexico
Contoy Eco Adventure
Special Offer

From $126.00

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 8 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Visit the island of Contoy on a sailing and snorkeling tour from the mainland. Sail along the Mexican Caribbean to reach the ecological reserve and discover its stunning flora and fauna. Strap on your provided snorkel gear to explore the Ixlache reef, refuel with an included lunch and open bar on the island, and enjoy free time to shop in downtown Isla Mujeres.
  • Take a sailing and snorkel tour to Contoy Island
  • Discover the island’s beautiful flora and fauna
  • Enjoy a delicious lunch and open bar at a local spot
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off included from Cancun and Playa del Carmen

What's Included

  • Roundtrip ground transportation from most hotels in Cancun and Playa del Carmen
  • Light breakfast and sterilized snorkeling gear
  • 2 Snorkeling spots - Ixlache Reef and Contoy Island beach
  • Tour of the island with certified guide
  • Domestic open bar (water, soft drinks, beer and cocktails)
  • Lunch at Contoy and free time
  • Playa Norte beach in Isla Mujeres visit
  • 20 USD per person dock fee and Marine Park Federal Tax
  • Round-trip transportation from Tulum +$15 USD pp extra cost

Meeting and Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Contoy Adventures
    Carretera Punta Sam Km. 4.1 Smz 86 Mz 9 Lote 4, 77400 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico

    Departure Point: Our own private marina is conveniently located in Punta Sam right next to the Isla Mujeres ferry terminal and the Villa del Palmar hotel Return point: Tour ends when our vans take you back to your hotel.

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

We will confirm your exact pickup time and location on the day before the activity. For travelers staying in Tulum, pickup is provided from the Hacienda Doña Isabel hotel, located within the Gran Bahía Principe resort.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Dress code is casual and please do not forget your swimsuit!
  • The tour is operated by a multi-lingual guide and crew.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Isla Contoy is a protected area with certain restrictions aimed at the conservation of the environment.
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • No service animals allowed in Contoy Island.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Dora_R
Highly recommend the tour. I was a little worried when booking given some reviews but I had the best experience. We were picked up and returned to our hotel in professional and punctual manner. The tour was AMAZING! Isla Muerejes was a great 1:20h stop where you can go to the North beach and swim in crystal clear water. Next you will go towards Isla Contoy (1:30h away), halfway there you stop at the reef for snorkeling. Snorkeling was beautiful, guides were excellent and felt very safe at all times! Isla Contoy is amazing and a must sea, I’ve been to many ‘paradise’ places but this color I’ve never seen. It’s so preserved and beautiful. We had about 2:30h here with a nice lunch. Ride back was also excellent the crew is so FUN! They’re making drinks, in a good mood, dancing and singing with the passengers. Loved them!

Reviews

4.5
166 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 166 reviews
Awesome Day
Karen_R, Apr 2024
Great day! We enjoyed our full day of Snorkeling, Isla Mujeres and Isla Contoy. Boat was great. Not over crowded at all. Crew was fabulous. While a long day from pick up to drop off, it was well worth it (we were in Playa Del Carmen).
Response from Host, Apr 2024
Dear Visitor, Thank you so much for your review, we are happy that our tour exceeded your expectations! We hope to see you soon again in another adventure with us. Best regards Contoy Adventures
Brilliant trip and excellent crew!
Polina_Z, Dec 2023
Brilliant trip to Isla Cantoy, stopping off for snorkelling and Isla Mujeres. As we travelled in the winter it was quite rough seas but the crew made us all feel really comfortable! They looked after us, serving drinks, playing good music and even dancing with us at the end! We loved our experience!
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Dear Visitor, Thank you for your kind review, we are always working on exceeding our customer's expectations. Please, contact us again if you come back, to take you on another experience. Best regards Contoy Adventures
We felt that we didn’t...
CATHERINE_H, Dec 2023
We felt that we didn’t get much value for what we paid. It’s a long boat ride from Isla mujeres to Isla contoy, 1 1/2 hours. The snorkelling wasn’t that great. We couldn’t snorkel from the island for some reason and had to stop for a short snorkeling on our way out but not a lot to see. Once at the island, the meal was good but very small dessert and no coffee or tea served. The nature hike was less than 30 minutes. We thought there would be more information about the flora and fauna. We only saw two species of birds, some iguanas and some hermit crabs. The beach however, was very nice. Another 1 1/2 hours back to the port. Lots of booze served on board if that’s your thing.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Dear Visitor, Thank you for your comments, we are always willing to hear our customers recommendations, to get better day by day. The ride from Isla Mujeres to the Ixlache Reef, which is the snorkeling stop before arriving to Contoy, is 45 minutes, and from there to Contoy 15 more minutes, maybe you felt it was more because of this snorkeling stop. Contoy is a nature's paradise, but unfortunately sometimes you can see 2 or 3 species, or sometimes you can see tens of different species, mother nature is a factor we can't control. Alcohol on board is for whoever wants to drink, we don't think that this is something worth mentioning, of you like to drink or not, it is your choice, we serve for whoever wants. Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to see you soon, in another adventure with us! Best regards Contoy Adventures
Staffing are attentive...
Nipaporn_R, Sep 2023
Staffing are attentive and friendly. But, we did not get to see many birds or wildlife as expecting.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Visitor, Mother Nature is unpredictable, we have been going to Contoy Island for over 8 years, and some days we can find hundreds of birds, and the next one very few, but this is the beauty of this kind of tours, you were one of the lucky 150 people that are allowed in this ecological reserve and natural park each day to enjoy not only it's fauna, but also it's beautiful landscapes and incredible beach! We hope that you have the chance of coming back soon to take you once again in this unique and exclusive adventure! Best regards Roberto del Castillo Contoy Adventures
Experience to die for.
Justin_A, Apr 2023
The dwhole trip was amazing. The boat ride was a little rocky but nothing you can do about it either. The captain mini missed the rocking excellent. Food and drink both ways all you can drink alcohol. The snorkeling was amazing but the two hour on the private island was breath taking. Sea life everywhere, and I mean huge starfish. No crowds. Social media posters dream location. Lunch on a private beach was also a nice treat. Would highly recommend this trip. Just realize it is a whole day excursion. Try to arrange you own transportation. We were in a van for 2 hours each way because we had to stop at so many hotels. Otherwise an amazing trip
Great tour-clear blue water sea and fun guides!
Dora_R, Mar 2023
Highly recommend the tour. I was a little worried when booking given some reviews but I had the best experience. We were picked up and returned to our hotel in professional and punctual manner. The tour was AMAZING! Isla Muerejes was a great 1:20h stop where you can go to the North beach and swim in crystal clear water. Next you will go towards Isla Contoy (1:30h away), halfway there you stop at the reef for snorkeling. Snorkeling was beautiful, guides were excellent and felt very safe at all times! Isla Contoy is amazing and a must sea, I’ve been to many ‘paradise’ places but this color I’ve never seen. It’s so preserved and beautiful. We had about 2:30h here with a nice lunch. Ride back was also excellent the crew is so FUN! They’re making drinks, in a good mood, dancing and singing with the passengers. Loved them!
Staff were friendly,...
Brian_M, Feb 2023
Staff were friendly, helpful and entertaining. We were impressed by the whole operation. We would highly recommend
Isle Contoy is special
Jeff_c, Jan 2023
Isle Contoy was beautiful. Boat Captain, crew and lunch were great as well. Only 1 hour on Isle Mujeres is not enough time to do much and would have appreciated the suggestion to immediately rent a golf cart and drive around for the hour which we didn't do but in hindsight should have. Highly recommend.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Dear Visitor, Thank you very much for taking the time of writing your review, the Isla Mujeres visit is just a 1 hour stop, the main event on this tour is Contoy, next time we can take you on our Isla Mujeres all-inclusive tour so you can explore the whole island! Best regards Roberto del Castillo Contoy Adventures
Not a good way to explore Contoy Island
Vadim_B, Jan 2023
The crew made this trip enjoyable, but the trip itself was not worth it. Snorkeling is a bad joke, Contoy Island turns out to be out of reach apart from the small area near landing. There is an extra $15US per person "port fee".
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Hello and thank you for your kind words about the crew, about the snorkeling, we go to Ixlache reef and we are subject to Mother Nature's will, sometimes we found thousands of fish and sometimes we don´t, Contoy Island is a national park and ecological reserve, that is why you are not allowed into the whole island, it is meant to be an ecological friendly tour and we respect that, the $15 USD per person, yes it is the dock fee that all boat tours have to pay. Best regards Roberto del Castillo Contoy Adventures
Avoid Viator
Paolo_B, Dec 2022
We were unable to make the tour as planned due to the misleading information provided by Viator, which then refused to refund us. The information provided is misleading in that Viator advertise that the tour lasts approximately 8 hours and it starts at 8:30am. The day before the tour, when the guy who was supposed to pick us up contacted us (and when it was already impossible to get a refund based on viator policy), we found out that the tour did not start until 9:45am. He told us that we would not be back at the deck before 6pm and that they would leave us at the hotel at 7:30pm. We had other commitments and this was too late for us. We asked to be refunded and Viator denied our request. This is very unprofessional, given that it was the misleading information provided by Viator that caused a damage to us. We chose Viator's tour precisely for the timing, as the GetYourGuide tour says "approximately 9hours". I recommend everybody to avoid Viator.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Hello Paolo, Sorry to hear about your experience, but rating our tour with 1 star without even taking it is totally out of place. We also think that booking a whole day tour, the day you are leaving as you explained to us, (you had to be at the airport at 6 pm that day) is rather irresponsible, you should have joined us a day before. We are sorry about your situation with Viator but we all have our policies, we hope that, whenever you come back, you join us in the tour so you can rate it with knowledge o what it is all about. Best regards Roberto del Castillo Contoy Adventures
Unforgettable experience
Karine_G, Sep 2022
This was the most amazing day trip!! The whole day felt surreal and is an experience that we will never forget! The guides and all the people on the boat were amazing and so knowledgeable and made the whole experience brilliant! We first went to Isla Mujeres where we could walk around and look in the shops, we only spent an hour here but I think that's plenty of time. We had a meeting point inside a jewellery store where they gave us free tequila shots (we had to stop ourselves, cause they kept trying to give us more and more) and the island was very pretty. We then got taken out into the reef for snorkelling which was brilliant! Our guide provided the best information and made sure we had a great experience. He kept us safe and it was such an amazing snorkelling experience. They provided life jackets, flippers and snorkel gear for everyone. Our final stop was Isla Contoy which was breathtaking!! The pictures we took don't look real and it was an actual paradise. We had the most amazing time on the beach and in the crystal blue waters. We had an added bonus of one of the guides giving us a walking tour of the island which was absolutely beautiful. The food was great and the drinks (alcoholic) didn't stop flowing on the boat. The staff and guides made it the best experience and were partying with us on the boat ride back to the port. Worth every penny and more and we would 100% recommend this trip.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
First of all, let me thank you for taking the time on writing this very detailed review, in Contoy Adventures we are constantly working on giving the best service to all of our customers. Isla Contoy is truly a nature's paradise and we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit, we hope to see you soon on this or any other adventure with us! Best regards Roberto del Castillo Contoy Adventures
Isla Contoy
Veronica_S, Jul 2022
Very attentive crew. Enthusiastic and informative trip. The lunch was good and plentiful. Isla Contoy is beautiful. Do wear bug repellent for an enjoyable visit on the island. I was so happy I booked this excursion.
Good day-trip for drinking and shopping. Nature not so much.
Daniel_B, Feb 2022
The on board service with free drinks was good. Staff very friendly in general. The experience could have been better: unnecessary shopping stop in Isla Mujeres (1h is not enough to see anything other than their partner shopping site). Also, despite very good weather conditions we were not able to do the snorkeling experience - very disappointing! The island is very beautiful and nice! Yet, the accessible area is very small (must be the reason for the 100 pax limit).
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Dear Daniel, First of all let me thank you for taking the time for writing your review, we appreciate each and every opinion always to get better, we will pass your kind words to our crew. It is very important to mention 2 things, the first one is that the stop in Isla Mujeres is a mandatory stop, Contoy Island belongs to the municipality of Isla Mujeres, Contoy is a virgin island, therefore this stop represents a chance for the locals to sell their Contoy souvenirs and memories. The second thing is that you mentioned that there was no snorkeling despite good weather conditions, we understand your confussion, the issue here is not wether it's a sunny, cloudy or rainy day, the main factor is the wind, you can have a beautiful day but, the wind makes it unsafe to snorkel, the activity is canceled by the Port authorities, not us, sorry that this eas one of those days. We hope that you have a chance to return and we will be happy to take you in better wind conditions so you can enjoy the complete experience, once again thank you very much for your review. Best regards Roberto del Castillo Contoy Adventures
Amazing day
Igor_J, Dec 2021
Really good adventure for a day . Isla Contoy is amazing. Lots of wildlife. Beach with only few people around. Highly recommended 👌
Isla Contoy - a must see
Deanna_R, Oct 2021
Moses was a wonderful guide! There were four languages spoken on this trip and Moses and crew did a fabulous job of keeping everyone engaged. All parts were beautiful but our favorite was the tour on Isla Contoy. The frigate birds were glorious and such a treat to observe in their natural habitat. Moses was so knowledgeable about the history and biodiversity of the island. It was a magical experience. Easily the best part of our cancun vacation. If bird watching isn't your thing, the opportunity to spend time on an island that is not inhabited by humans is a really rare occurrence. Beautiful white sands, the varied blues of the ocean, very little human impact....a truly unique experience. 100% recommend and if we are able to return, we will.
Would not recommend
Katharine_V, Dec 2020
The staff were all wonderful. However, there was only one snorkeling component (not two like advertised), the water conditions were terrible (sandy, choppy, very crowded), and Contoy Island is mostly off limits save for a short trail and a small beach. You cannot explore much of the island and the museum leaves a lot to be desired. None of this is the staff’s fault, but I’d suggest management be more up front with communication to customers about the state of things like the snorkeling spots’ exposure to bad weather and restrictions on Contoy Island.
Response from Host, Jan 2021
Dear Visitor, First of all let us thank you for your review, in Contoy Adventures we take into consideration all comments always to get better! This been said, weather is unpredictable and totally put of our control, the wind conditions change by the minute and the snorkeling depends on this, we could not go to the other snorkeling spot for your own safety, which is our biggest concern. The agencies that sell our tour in all the different hotels are constantly been briefed on all of our tours, in fact all of the salesman have been in our tour so they know all the limitations, consider that this is a tour to a Virgin Island and Natural protected area, it is impossible that all areas are open to the public. Perhaps our Isla Mujeres tour could have been more suitable for you, Isla Mujeres is vibrant and a big island where we visit different spots, we hope you go with us in another adventures perhaps to Isla Mujeres on your next visit to Cancun! Best regards Roberto del Castillo Contoy Adventures
Amazing Experience
Nathan_T, Sep 2020
The Crew was absolutely amazing and they attended to all our needs. The knowledge about the Island was very interesting and Isla Contoy itself was so beautiful.
This trip is a must!
Aleksander_K, Nov 2018
Fantastic atmosphere. Professional and entertaining staff. Trip well organised. Delicious lunch and amazing snorkeling experience.
Sehr schöne Tour auf die...
Maik_F, Sep 2023
Sehr schöne Tour auf die einsame Insel von Contoy. Wunderbare Landschaft mit Krebsen und Fischen. Jedem zu empfehlen
Contoy inolvidable
alfredomiguel_m, Nov 2022
En realidad la experiencia completa es magnifica , la playa de isla contoy es más que hermosa , puedes hacer snorkel y nadar tranquilamente.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
Special Offer
No Photo
Isla Contoy Eco Adventure

166

8 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$126.00
No Photo
Full Day Tour to Isla Contoy from Cancun

3

8 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$189.00

Customers Who Bought This Tour Also Bought

Explore Similar Things to Do