Half-Day Puerto Morelos Snorkeling Experience with Lunch

Badge of ExcellenceCancun, Mexico
Half Day Puerto Morelos Snorkeling Experience with Lunch

From $49.00

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 4 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


The less visited a destination, the more vibrant its reef. Which makes Puerto Morelos, a charming fishing town that's growing in popularity as a resort area, an excellent choice for a snorkel excursion. Enjoy uncrowded reef, colorful corals and a wealth of marine life, from butterflyfish and parrotfish to clownfish and lionfish, then eat a delicious light lunch on the beach. Upgrade to add door-to-door transfers; package excludes dock fees.
  • Snorkel the pristine reef of laid-back Puerto Morelos
  • Beat the crowds to some of the Yucatan's best coral and marine life
  • Choose between morning and afternoon tours to suit your schedule
  • Enjoy lunch on the beach and free time to explore the town as well

What's Included

  • Use of Snorkeling equipment
  • Lunch
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off from most centrally located hotels (Only if purchased)
  • Reef Preservation and Dock Fee of US$ 12 per person
  • Food and beverages not listed as inclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off if you select the meeting point option

Meeting and Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Chedraui
    Rafael E. Melgar 44, CP, 77580 Puerto Morelos, Q.R., Mexico

    Meet the tour outside of Chedrahui Selecto, in front of Fish Market restaurant. You will confirm your exact check in time at the meeting point with the local tour operator.

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

You will confirm your exact pickup time with the local tour operator. Please be ready and waiting at the lobby of your hotel 10 minutes prior the scheduled time.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more


27 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews
Good trip
Marie_S, Apr 2024
Pick up from moon palace was 8am, Travelled to Puerto Maleres, snorkelling for just over an hour, tequila tasting, tacos for lunch and then hour to visit shops. Back at hotel for 3pm. Good trip.
Highlight of our trip
Tim_C, Mar 2024
Amazing trip with amazing guides! This was the highlight of our trip to the area. After the briefing about snorkeling and caring for the reef we went out on a quick 5 min boat ride to the reef. We snorkeled for about an hour and saw endless tropical fish and coral along with a sea turtle, eagle ray, yellow stingray, barracuda, moray eel, and so much more! Obviously we got lucky and I’m not sure everyone will see that much. The guides were fun and knowledgeable. After snorkeling we put in our orders for tacos then went back to the main location where we started across the street from the beach where the boat is located. Then they did an education and tasting of tequila. We don’t drink, so this wasn’t entertaining or interesting to us at all, but the others in the group seemed to like it. Then we got tacos that were just ok, but still fun to sit on a balcony overlooking the ocean to eat. While eating, the photographer (Mario - our favorite) came to show us the pictures from snorkeling on his iPad. The pictures were amazing and we spent the $1050 pesos for him to send them to our phones. Pro tip, after tacos we had almost two hours of wait time until our van came. We rented a moped from the shop Nextdoor for $25 and explored this amazing town.
Best experience!
Spencer_D, Jan 2024
Such a fun day! There was a guide in the water with you to show the cool stuff, everyone was super kind, and we had the best time. These guys will treat you well!
Great tour guides!...
Allison_F, Dec 2023
Great tour guides! MiguelAngel (Mike) was great from start to finish always making sure we knew what to expect and where to go. His tequila knowledge is great as well :) Thanks for an awesome excursion!
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Dear Allison_F, Thank you for sharing your experience with our "Half-Day Puerto Morelos Snorkeling Experience with Lunch." We appreciate your positive feedback and are thrilled to hear that our tour guides, especially Miguel Angel, made your excursion awesome from start to finish. It's wonderful to know that Mike ensured you knew what to expect and where to go, enhancing your overall experience. We're also pleased that his tequila knowledge added an extra dimension to your tour. Your satisfaction is our priority, and we hope to have the pleasure of providing you with more memorable experiences in the future. The Cancun Travel Experience Team
Great trip!
KrystalCarson, Sep 2023
Loved the tour so much. Loved how they care about the reef and keeping it safe. Guides were fantastic!
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear KrystalCarson Thank you for reviewing our Puerto Morelos Snorkel Experience, your feedback is truly appreciated! The Caribbean Sea is home to the second largest reef barrier in the world, it is a complex ecosystem and thus, requires special attention and care form all of us. We are happy you loved it as much as us! Hasta Pronto! The Cancun Travel Experience Team
Bad services. Everyone asking Tip tip!
Cathe_B, Jun 2023
What a bad service! The people here are likely want to take all of your money. Firstly the driver picked up us at 8:50, then asking for the tip directly in the car. When we reached the destination, the assistant guide us some thing before snorkeling. Remember guide, they DO NOT allow us bring the camera or phone during snorkeling. But during snorkeling, the tour guide has the camera and took photos for us, then he charged $49 for all photos. I said no for this charge! Other than that, before going to snorkeling, we need to lock our stuffs in the drawer. The assistant gave us the lock and requested 200 pesos for deposit. We were alright for that. However, when we returned the lock back and took back the deposit, the tour guide keep holding our money and asked: "how much will you tip for me today?". Wth is this service? We are only tip for the service which we are satisfied, not forcing to tip then. The snorkeling was so so, not much corals and fishes. The lunch included but just 3 small tacos, not enough for a lunch. We had to go to the super store near by to buy more things to eat. When we returned back, the driver asked for tip again 🙃 Never recommend!
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear Cathe_B Thank you for reviewing our Puerto Morelos Snorkel Experience, we appreciate your feedback. We are sorry that this experience did not meet your expectations, our aim is to provide a great experience but it seems we missed the mark. Gratuities are always optional, our team knows this and they work everyday to provide a service that motivates our valued guests to reward our staff. They are aware that gratuities are earned, not owed. We will take a closed look into the comments you shared with us and will make the necessary adjustments. We hope you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful destination. The Cancun Travel Experience Team
Great vibes
Caroline_L, Jun 2023
It’s a very fun activity to do. They will bring you to a boat and take you to the reef. It took me a few minutes to get to used to it since I haven’t snorkeled before but once I got the hang of it, it was beautiful! You can’t take your phone in the water but they will take pictures and offer it to you for $. The lunch part will be after snorkeling even if you choose the afternoon slot so you will have “lunch” at around 4pm. It was tacos on the beach and they were delicious. Great vibes.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear Caroline_L Thank you for reviewing our Puerto Morelos Snorkel Tour, we really appreciate your feedback! We aim to provide a fun and exciting experience for all, the reef and all its inhabitants make for such beautiful sights! After excercising in the Caribbean, lunch is a must so we take care of you with some hearty options. Hasta Pronto! The Cancun Travel Experience Team
Great trip and nice lunch/shopping afterward!
Douglas_W, Jun 2023
We had a wonderful afternoon trip. Our guide pointed out several interesting things in the reef that we would have overlooked with out him. The tacos afterward were delicious and we ate on a deck overlooking the sea. Beautiful!
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Dear Douglas_W, Thank you for taking the time of sharing your experience on the Half-Day Puerto Morelos Snorkeling Experience with Lunch. Sea fauna variety is one of the most amazing things in Cancún and it is great your guide pointed this interesting this to you so you had an even better experience. The delicious tacos and astonishing landscape sound like a great way to wrap the day up. See you soon! The Cancun Travel Experience Team
Misleading title, Refused refund
Thomas_S, Dec 2022
Beware the fine print! tre title reads "Half-day snorking ecper. with lunch" ( and the reviews refer to a morning trip ) we thought we were signing up for a morning snorkeling trip. Obviously, lunch is not served until after snorkeling, right? So how could the serve lunch for a 2 pm trip? (we didn't notice that down below it says "choose between morning or afternoon."...our bad for not reading all the fine print!) We only realized we were assigned to an 2 pm. Snorkel trip when we received the email confirmation at 3:30 p.m. the day before. --- 1.5 hours after the deadline for cancellation was passed. Given the misleading title, and the past-deadline confirmation, I thought requesting a refund was reasonable. Nope, they adamantly refused and when I tried to explain stopped responding. So we lost $78, but we easily found a different morning snorkeling trip, on short notice, via a local referral (from an ex-pat)-- not a travel agency like Viator -- and enjoyed some good snorkling with a terrific guide.....for far less $. If you are in PM, just walk onto the pier and ask for Joachim. Note to self: read the fine print and don't assume goodwill from a travel agency.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Dear Thomas_S Thank you for sharing your feedback about our Half-Day Puerto Morelos Snorkeling Experience with Lunch, we appreciate the honesty. Upon review of your booking as a whole, let me share the following details: The "fine print" you mention is actually a green square which is very easy to spot, it appears right after confirming your desired date fo travel and the number of guests. One square appears for each of the different times this activity operates. Additonally, when the purchased is finalized, the e-ticket will have the specific time booked, that way you can be extra sure of the purchase you just made and can make amendments if needed. This booking was made on December 12 and was orignally scheduled for the 26th. The day before, you were sent the check-in details and along with them, the specific check-in time. Your resonse came 20 minutes after asking us to reschedule your booking due to possible bad weather in the area, we promply agreed and rescheduled your service for the 28th. No mention was made on your end about the time on the booking. Once more, on the 27th, exactly as you mention, you were sent the specific details for your rescheduled service, we received your response until 9:40 PM that night, unfortunately we were unable to make any additonal changes at this time. To recap, since it's creation on Dec 12, this reservation had a 2 PM Start Time, and it was not until the last day the schedule selected was noticed. We work every day to make sure our guests have a great time with us in their activities, and we go above and beyond to make it as pleasant and easy as possible for everyone. Unfortunately, cases such as this, we are hand-tied due to human error at the time of purchase. We are happy you were able to enjoy yourself during your stay, we hope you visit us again soon. Warm regards, The Travel Experience Group
Well worth the price!
Robert_S, Oct 2022
We were picked up from our hotel right on time by their shuttle. The tour started with a 45 minute snorkel, which was only a few minutes boat ride. The crew got in the water with us and pointed out sea creatures they found near us. They had a photographer swimming with us and taking photos of everyone, as well as the surroundings. The photos were decently priced compared to most excursions. Afterwards we did a tequila tasting, which was somewhat of a sales pitch, but there was no pressure. Next we walked across the street to a beach front restaurant and ate tacos. Lastly we did a small amount of shopping in the surrounding shops. This excursion was well worth the price we paid.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Robert_S, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind review! We appreciatte it! We are so glad to hear that you had an amazing experience! Thank you so much for your preference! Hope to see you back again soon! The Travel Experience Team.
Fun trip
Thomas_S, Oct 2022
The trip was great but we were told the wrong meeting place. Thank goodness for someone familiar with the tour being close and pointing us in the right directions
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Thomas_S, We appreciate very much the time you took to leave a review on your Half-Day Puerto Morelos Snorkeling Experience with Lunch. We are glad to know that the trip was great and we apologize for any misunderstanding on your meeting point location, we are glad to know it all worked out. We hope to see you again in the near future, Hasta la proxima! The Cancun Travel Experience Team
Good trip, and inexpensive for the value
Janice_S, Oct 2022
Quality equipment, safety protocols in place and overall a good snorkel. My only complaint is our tour was scheduled for 10, then changed to 9:20 and one of our party could not accommodate the change. Waiting to see if a refund will be granted
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Dear Janice, You have put a smile on the face of our entire team with your kind words on: Puerto Morelos Half Day Snorkeling Experience with Lunch Thank you very much for sharing this with us We are grateful to have had the opportunity to serve you Your friends from The Travel Experience Group
Great reef! Awesome guides! Fun times
Paul_S, Jul 2022
Wonderful experience with my family of five! Freida is a great ambassador of the beautiful reef. Freida is very knowledgeable of the type of fish and coral. The tacos were delicious. Book this affordable trip and do not hesitate. This was a highlight of our vacation in Cancun
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Paul, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to leave us an opinion on: Puerto Morelos Half Day Snorkeling Experience with Lunch We are glad to know that with us you have lived the highlights of your visit to Cancun, thank you very much for inviting others to live this beautiful experience Do not forget to contact us when you visit this charming destination again to continue living wonderful experiences Sincerely The Travel Experience Group
Great tour
Michael_L, Jul 2022
We enjoyed snorkel adventure . Saw pretty fish. Mike,Fredia, Hoyl we’re great ! Tacos delicious. Would recommend
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Michael, Thank you very much for investing your valuable time to leave us an opinion on Half-Day Puerto Morelos Snorkeling Experience with Lunch We are glad to know that you enjoyed the snorkeling adventure We hope to serve you again in the not too distant future ¡Hasta pronto! The Cancun Travel Experience Team
Tour guide was excellent...
madhu_k, Jun 2022
Tour guide was excellent during snorkeling. Whole trip was excellent. He showed us the coral reef and all the different fish and made sure nobody got lost
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Madhu, Thank you very much for your excellent opinion on: Puerto Morelos Half Day Snorkeling Experience with Lunch We like to know that our team is striving to offer only the best. Let us know the next time you come back to this paradise to continue enjoying amazing experiences. The Travel Experience Group
Good snorkeling and staff but not so good scheduling
Shaobo_J, Nov 2021
The snorkeling was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. But the timeline was very off. We booked the 9 AM to 1 PM tour. When we got to the shop at 9 AM, we were told the tour wouldn’t start at 10 AM, so we walked around for an hour. When the tour was done, first we were told driver would pick us up between 1 PM - 1:30 PM, then we were told it would be between 1:30 PM - 2 PM. At 2 PM, driver was not there. We had to ask the staff again, because we needed to check out the hotel at 3 PM. One of the staff members offered to drive us out of town to meet up with the driver. We got back to hotel at 2:40 PM instead of scheduled 1:30 PM-ish.
Nice 1/2 day trip!
Katilynne_S, Sep 2021
My kids loved this! Sting rays, barracudas, so many tropical fish and beautiful reefs! The instructor was knowledgeable and kind.
Response from Host, Sep 2021
Dear Katilynne, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to know you had a pleasant and enjoyable experience. Mother nature provides us with great opportunities to spot and admire the beautiful marine life on these coasts and our team do their to keep our valued customers happy and pleased. We really hope to have you back again with us in the near future. Vuelva pronto! The Cancun Travel Experience Team
Whole lot of snorkeling
Nikelma_N, Sep 2021
We wanted straight up snorkeling and that's exactly what we got. My whole family enjoyed it. The driver and tour rep picked us up in a private van (5 of us) right on-time, drove us to Morelos (abt 30 mins from Cancún Zona Hotelera, and right away after we got there, the boat was waiting for us, guide and gear all set. We were in the water for about an hour and saw so much beauty, the reefs and fish varieties were amazing. We tried other tours before which include drinking and lunch, and shopping, but very little and crowded snorkeling in Isla Mujeres, we wanted to try a tour that gave us just snorkeling and we got just that. We had a private van, private boat, and a whole lot of coral reef to explore. The lunch part is not true, they just offer a water per person, 1 bag of chips, some cookies and some juices, but we didn't mind nor were hungry. For the price, we would definitely do it again. Our group has ages from 9 to 65 and we all had a blast. Happy customers.
Response from Host, Sep 2021
Dear Nikelme, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comprehensive review. We truly believe feedback is the only way to know what we are doing well and most important, what we can improve. We are glad to know you and your family really enjoyed our Puerto Morelos snorkeling experience. It is indeed a great way to explore the vast ocean life that mother nature provides us on this particular location, Puerto Morelos is one of the best places to snorkel. Thank you very much for your understanding regarding lunch, with the current pandemic we have had to adapt several things within our services in order to provide our valued customers with a safe experience. We are very much looking forward to have you back with us anytime in the near future, it would be our pleasure to host you again. Hasta la proxima! The Cancun Travel Experience Team
Wonderful for families.
Tiffanie_K, Jun 2021
Wonderful personalities, cautious and helpful with family and kids. Very knowledgeable about cultural environment and while providing a great time.
Response from Host, Jun 2021
Dear Tiffanie, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate your comments and above all we are glad to know the experience was enjoyable. We are very much looking forward to have you back in the near future. Hasta pronto! The Cancun Travel Experience Team
Definitely worth it.
Matt_O, May 2021
Excellent staff, very friendly and knowledgeable. Would absolutely take this tour again and recommend it to others. The fish tacos at lunch are the best!
Response from Host, May 2021
Dear Matt, We really appreciate your review, we are glad to know you enjoyed the Puerto Morelos Snorkel experience, the staff loves to have each one of our valued customers happy and entertained. We are very much looking forward to have you back soon, we would be delighted to host you again. Hasta la próxima! The Cancun Travel Experience Team

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Half-Day Puerto Morelos Snorkeling Experience with Lunch


4 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Snorkeling in Puerto Morelos


1 hour 45 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Half Day Guided Snorkeling Adventure in Puerto Morelos


2 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Puerto Morelos Half-Day Snorkel Tour


5 hours
Free Cancellation

Customers Who Bought This Tour Also Bought

Explore Similar Things to Do